Atlanta Supercross: Georgia Dome Preview

AMA SX, Round 8 Teaser

With the amount of talent competing in the 2011 AMA Supercross Series, it’s not suprising that only three points separate the top two riders: Monster Energy Kawasaki’s Ryan Villopoto and San Manuel Yamaha’s James Stewart.

Villopoto may have extended his lead if he didn’t suffer a first-lap crash at last Saturday’s race in San Diego. Villopoto went down, losing a few positions, but immediatly began picking off riders, eventually finishing seventh overall.

Stewart would finish third, behind the reigning Supercross Champion Ryan Dungey (Rockstar Makita Suzuki) and race-winner Chad Reed (Two-Two Motorsports Honda).

Reed got the holeshot in San Diego, and was followed by American Honda Trey Canard. Within a few laps, Canard took the lead, but went down, allowing Reed to regain the lead and Stewart take second.

But on lap 15, Stewart stalled his Yamaha YZ450F, allowing Dungey and Canard to pass. But by the end of the 20-lap race, Stewart would pass Canard and take third.

Chad Reed says: "This is incredible. I‘ve put so much work into this team to make it the best it can be. To win with your name on your chest makes everything so much better. This one is emotional. I just followed Trey because he was showing me some lines. When he went down, it became just about putting together 20 clean laps."

In the Western Regional Supercross Lites class, Geico Honda rider captured his first career win. He was joined on the podium by Kawasaki riders Tyla Rattray and Broc Tickle, respectively. But going into Georgia Dome, the Western Lites Class will break, and the Eastern Regional Supercross Lites will resume.

Geico Honda rider Justin Barcia currently leads the championship; he scored the first win of the season at Houston’s Reliant Stadium, beating rival Dean Wilson of the Monster Energy/Pro Circuit/Kawasaki team.

During last year’s Supercross race at Atlanta, Ryan Dungey took the win. The first supercross race ever held in Atlanta was March 5, 1977, and Bob Hannah won on a Yamaha. On February 22, 1986 Honda rider Keith Turpin won the first-ever Supercross Lites main event. Ricky Carmichael is first on the Supercross class’ all-time win list with five. Carmichael, Brian Swink and Christophe Pourcel share the Supercross Lites class’ all-time win record with two.

Tickets are available at the Georgia Dome Box Office,, participating Yamaha dealers, all Ticketmaster retail locations, charge by phone at (800) 745-3000, or online at Practice and qualifying begins at 12:30 p.m., and the main event begins at 7 p.m.

Club Level tickets are available for $50 Adult/Child; Gold Level $45 Adult/Child; Mid-Level $35 Adult/Child; Upper Deck $10 Adult/Child. Fans can also get into the Pits for FREE from 12:30 – 6 PM. Free pit passes are available at Atlanta area Subway locations beginning February 7th.

Atlanta Supercross TV Schedule

SPEED TV will air Atlanta Supercross at 7:30 p.m. Saturday, Feb. 26.

Supercross Class Season Standings
1. Ryan Villopoto, Poulsbo, Wash., Kawasaki – 146
2. James Stewart, Haines City, Fla., Yamaha – 143
3. Chad Reed, Dade City, Fla., Honda – 130
4. Trey Canard, Shawnee, Okla., Honda – 130
5. Ryan Dungey, Belle Plaine, Minn., Suzuki – 123
6. Andrew Short, Smithville, Texas, KTM – 95
7. Brett Metcalfe, Lake Elsinore, Calif., Suzuki – 93
8. Davi Millsaps, Carlsbad, Calif., Yamaha – 78
9. Justin Brayton, Cornelius, N.C, Yamaha – 76
10. Ivan Tedesco, Murrieta, Calif., Kawasaki – 66

Western Regional Supercross Lites Class Season Standings
1. Josh Hansen, Elbert, Colo., Kawasaki – 128
2. Broc Tickle, Holly, Mich., Kawasaki – 125
3. Eli Tomac, Cortez, Colo., Honda – 116
4. Ryan Morais, Murrieta, Calif., Suzuki – 96
5. Cole Seely, Corona, Calif., Honda – 88
6. Ken Roczen, Germany, KTM – 83
7. Tyla Rattray, Wildomar, Calif., Kawasaki – 80
8. Kyle Cunningham, Aledo, Texas, Yamaha – 71
9. Martin Davalos, Cairo, Ga., Suzuki – 69
10. Jimmy Decotis, Peabody, Mass., Honda – 67

Supercross Lites Class Eastern Regional Season Standings
1. Justin Barcia, Ochlocknee, Ga., Honda – 25
2. Dean Wilson, Menifee, Calif., Kawasaki – 22
3. Blake Baggett, Grand Terrace, Calif., Kawasaki – 20
4. Ryan Sipes, Ekron, Ky., Yamaha – 18
5. Ian Trettel, Lake Elsinore, Calif., Suzuki – 16
6. Blake Wharton, Aubrey, Texas, Honda – 15
7. Jason Anderson, Edgewood, N.M., Suzuki – 14
8. Lance Vincent, Youngsville, La., Honda – 13
9. Matt Lemoine, Collinsville, Texas, Kawasaki – 12
10. Alex Martin, Millville, Minn., Honda – 11