2024 Indianapolis Supercross Fantasy Picks, Tips [10 Fast Facts]

2024 Indianapolis Supercross track map.

Last Saturday in Birmingham brought a bit of normality to the 2024 Monster Energy AMA Supercross Championship Series, at least from the prospect of playing fantasy supercross. For the first time this year, four of the top five were in the top five the week before—Eli Tomac being out and Justin Cooper in was the only exception. So, with that in mind, let’s turn our RMFantasySX.com attention to Lucas Oil Stadium for our 2024 Indianapolis Supercross Fantasy Picks.

  1. It’s a Triple Crown round, but that’s not a determining factor. At A2, the previous Triple Crown round this year, there was only one outlier performance—Jett Lawrence in P6. Don’t count on that happening again.
2024 Indianapolis Supercross Fantasy Picks: Jett Lawrence
Jett Lawrence.
  1. Jett Lawrence has established himself as the rock-solid favorite for Indianapolis. He has two wins in a row—Daytona and Birmingham—and is looking unbeatable. Lawrence struggled at the A2 Triple Crown, but he’s a better and smarter rider now. You never know what will happen, but picking anyone but Lawrence to win at Lucas Oil Stadium is risky.
  1. Cooper Webb, Chase Sexton, Ken Roczen, and Eli Tomac will fight it out for the rest of the podium. That will, of course, spill into the top-five picks, so let’s get to it.
2024 Indianapolis Supercross Fantasy Picks: Cooper Webb
Cooper Webb.
  1. Webb is doing the best of the four over the last three rounds, going 1-4-2. Additionally, Webb took the Anaheim 2 Triple Crown. With that in mind, Webb gets the nod for the P2 slot.
2024 Indianapolis Supercross Fantasy Picks: Ken Roczen
Ken Roczen.
  1. Roczen is on a charge, scoring 8-5-3 in the last three rounds, and he has Indy history. That sounds good, and it is a reminder of his 12-7-3-1 run that preceded that. Also, Roczen has won four of the last five Indianapolis Supercross races, with three coming in 2021. Still, the previous Triple Crown ended with Roczen in P7. Put it all together, and Roczen is the P3 man.
    Eli Tomac.

    6. Tomac is the Mystery Man. After a P10 in Detroit, Tomac went 4-2-2 before dropping to P7 last week in Birmingham. Tomac is a feast-or-famine pick. Four of his five top-fives this year have been P2 finishes. Tomac has had three bad races—A1 (P9), San Diego (P9), and Detroit (P10). He came out storming after each one, taking P2 in San Francisco and Anaheim 2, and P4 in Glendale. So, Tomac goes Beast Mode after poor performances. Tomac also has two Indy wins—2017 and 2022. Finally, Tomac is the King of Triple Crowns, and that accounted for one of his P2 finishes. That’s enough to put him in P4—his finishing position in Glendale.

    Chase Sexton.
  1. Sexton’s progress since his hand injury came to a halt in Birmingham, having gone 9-6-3-4. Sexton is still a podium threat, but Roczen’s run is difficult to ignore. A fully healthy Sexton should be a good P2 pick, but he doesn’t seem to entirely be there yet. It feels odd to put him in P5, though. However, Webb has beaten Sexton in three of the last four rounds, and we’ve already established why Webb is a P4 pick, so it’s P5 for Sexton.
  2. You have a couple of dark horse choices for the top five. Justin Cooper was in P5 last week, and is on a 11-7-6-5 streak. If you don’t have faith in Tomac and want to move Sexton up a spot, Cooper is an excellent replacement, though I wouldn’t put him higher than P5 just yet. Jason Anderson hasn’t looked good since round 6 in Glendale. However, his 10-9-6 run does tell you P5 is possible for Anderson in Indianapolis—again, he’s a reasonable top-five pick if you aren’t sold on Tomac. Aaron Plessinger has just two top-five finishes (both P3) in the last six rounds, so he’s a longshot top-five pick. Yes, Plessinger did well at the A2 Triple Crown, but that was a long time ago.Justin Barcia on a GasGas motorcycle.
  3. Those three riders I just mentioned are all in the mix for the P8 Wild Card. Of those three, Plessinger’s riding has been the least productive, so Plessinger is most likely for P8. However, there are challenges from behind. Justin Barcia has quietly gone 18-14-11-9 in the last four rounds, so P8 is a definite possibility. Malcolm Stewart has been in the P8 neighborhood over the previous four rounds, having gone 8-9-7-10. All three choices are compelling. Plessinger has finished in eight different positions in nine races, so he’s unlikely to repeat P8. Stewart is up and down, so you never know. With that, I’m going with Barcia’s return to competitiveness, so he’s my P8 pick.
  4. The racing at the Indianapolis Supercross starts at 7 p.m. Eastern Daylight Time. Race Day Live gets fired up at 1:30 p.m. EDT. Everything’s streamed live on Peacock, and you can listen to the race live on SiriusXM. Just to make sure you don’t miss any changes, check out our 2024 Supercross Television Schedule.

Photography by Align Media, BrownDogWilson, and Octopi Media

2024 Indianapolis Supercross Fantasy Picks

  1. Jett Lawrence
  2. Cooper Webb
  3. Ken Roczen
  4. Eli Tomac
  5. Chase SextonWild Card P8: Justin Barcia

2024 Monster Energy AMA Supercross Championship Series Standings (after 9 of 17 rounds)

  1. Jett Lawrence, Honda, 185 points (4W, 5P, 7 T5)
  2. Cooper Webb, Yamaha, 172 (2W, 4P, 6 T5)
  3. Chase Sexton, KTM, 165 (1W, 4P, 6 T5)
  4. Eli Tomac, Yamaha, 159 (4P, 5 T5)
  5. Ken Roczen, Suzuki, 153 (1W, 4P, 5 T5)
  6. Jason Anderson, Kawasaki, 147 (2P, 5 T5)
  7. Aaron Plessinger, KTM, 146 (1W, 3P, 5 T5)
  8. Justin Cooper, Yamaha, 108
  9. Dylan Ferrandis, Honda, 107 (1 T5)
  10. Justin Barcia, GasGas, 95 (1P, 1 T5)
  11. Malcolm Stewart, Husqvarna, 91
  12. Hunter Lawrence, 87 (2 T5)
  13. Shane McElrath, Suzuki, 75 (1 T5)
  14. Adam Cianciarulo, Kawasaki, 53
  15. Dean Wilson, Honda, 46
  16. Jorge Prado, GasGas, 45
  17. Benny Bloss, Beta, 41
  18. Christian Craig, Husqvarna, 39
  19. Kyle Chisholm, Suzuki, 32
  20. Justin Hill, KTM, 29
  21. Vince Friese, Honda, 26
  22. Derek Drake, Suzuki, 25
  23. Freddie Norén, Kawasaki, 20
  24. Mitchell Harrison, Kawasaki, 11
  25. Mitch Oldenburg, Honda, 10
  26. Cade Clason, Kawasaki, 10
  27. Colt Nichols, Beta, 9
  28. John Short, Kawasaki, 7
  29. Austin Politelli, GasGas, 7
  30. Ty Masterpool, Kawasaki, 6
  31. Anthony Bourdon, Suzuki, 6
  32. Jeremy Hand, Honda, 5
  33. Justin Rodbell, KTM, 5
  34. Ryan Breece, Yamaha, 4
  35. Tristan Lane, KTM, 3
  36. Carson Mumford, Honda, 3
  37. Aaron Tanti, Kawasaki, 3
  38. Grant Harlan, Yamaha, 2
  39. Jerry Robin, Yamaha, 2
  40. Robbie Wageman, Yamaha, 1
  41. Jason Clermont, Kawasaki, 1