2016 San Diego 2 Supercross Results | Dungey Scores 4th Win

Ryan Dungey at San Diego 2 Supercross
Ryan Dungey - SD2 Winner

Dungey Dominates SD2

Red Bull KTM’s Ryan Dungey claimed his fourth win of 2016 at Round 6 of the Monster Energy AMA Supercross season at Petco Park in San Diego, California. The track was slippery, with the racers taking care on the many flat corners. The whoops were toned down from previous weeks.

Ryan Dungey at San Diego 2 Supercross
Ryan Dungey - SD2 Winner

Dungey jumped out to an early lead in the 450SX Class Main, grabbing the SupercrossLive.com Holeshot Award. The defending Supercross Champion rode out front unchallenged for 20 laps to take the victory in a generally processional race. Earlier Dungey won his Heat race handily.

Team Honda HRC’s Cole Seely came around the first corner in second place and remained there for the duration of the race. Seely’s podium was his first since a 2nd place at SD1 (round 2).

Rounding out the podium was RCH/Jimmy John’s/Suzuki Factory Racing’s Ken Roczen, who grabbed a 4th place start. After passing Team Honda HRC’s Trey Canard—back in the Main for the first time since A2—Roczen was able to secure 3rd for the night, his fourth consecutive podium finish. Although Roczen holds onto 2nd in the Monster Energy Supercross series standings, he is now 26 points behind leader Dungey—more than a full race.

As has been his habit in this Supercross season, Rockstar Energy Racing Husqvarna Factory Racing’s Jason Anderson suffered from a mid-pack start. Anderson performed according to his usual script, methodically passing riders, finally overtaking Canard for 4th place on Lap 17. Other than Dungey, Anderson is the only rider to finish in the top 5 in all six Monster Energy Supercross Mains this year. His consistency has him sitting 3rd in the season points.

One of the few battles anywhere near the front involved Canard, Anderson, and Monster Energy Kawasaki’s Eli Tomac—a three-way battle for 4th. Though there weren’t many passes, they did ride in close formation on Military Appreciation Night.

Ryan Dungey, Cole Seely and Ken Roczen on SD2 Podium
SD2 450SX Podium

Returning from hand and groin injuries, Canard was 3rd at the start, eventually being passed by Roczen and Anderson to round out the top five for the night. Canard was dogged most of the race by Tomac, though Canard was able to stay in front of Tomac every lap. As Canard and Tomac fought it out, Anderson was able to pull away.

Monster Energy Kawasaki’s Eli Tomac, Red Bull KTM’s Marvin Musquin, Monster Energy Yamaha Factory Racing’s Chad Reed, Autotrader/Monster Energy Yamaha’s Weston Peick, and BTO Sports KTM’s Justin Brayton rounded out the top 10, in that order.

Also coming back from injuries were BTO Sports KTM’s Andrew Short, GEICO Honda’s Justin Bogle, and Yoshimura Suzuki Factory Racing’s Blake Baggett.

Short, in his first race of 2016, went down hard in his Heat. However, Short qualified out the semi and went on to finish 14th.

Injured in Round 2, Bogle was back at SD2, also qualifying out of his Semi and finishing right behind Short, in 15th.

Baggett started the season on the injury list, and had a one-race return at Round 4 in Oakland before being injured in a crash. At SD2, Baggett struggled. He went down in his Heat, tangled with Tommy Hahn in the Semi and finished 6th, and had a terrible start in the LCQ where he again finished 6th, failing to qualify for the Main.

Photography by Simon Cudby


Monster Energy AMA Supercross Results – Round 6 – San Diego

  1. Ryan Dungey – KTM 450 SX-F
  2. Cole Seely – Honda CRF450R
  3. Ken Roczen – Suzuki RM-Z450
  4. Jason Anderson – Husqvarna FC 450
  5. Trey Canard – Honda CRF450R
  6. Eli Tomac – Kawasaki KX450F
  7. Marvin Musquin – KTM 450 SX-F
  8. Chad Reed – Yamaha YZ450F
  9. Weston Peick – Yamaha YZ450F
  10. Justin Brayton – KTM 450 SX-F
  11. Davi Millsaps – KTM 450 SX-F
  12. Jake Weimer – Suzuki RM-Z450
  13. Wil Hahn – Kawasaki KX450F
  14. Andrew Short – KTM 450 SX-F
  15. Justin Bogle – Honda CRF450R
  16. Vince Friese – Honda CRF450R
  17. Christophe Pourcel – Husqvarna FC 450
  18. Phil Nicoletti – Yamaha YZ450F
  19. Mike Alessi - Honda CRF450R
  20. Nick Schmidt – Suzuki RM-Z450
  21. Jeff Alessi – Suzuki RM-Z450
  22. Tommy Hahn – Yamaha YZ450F

Monster Energy AMA Supercross Standings (after 6 of 16 rounds)

  1. Ryan Dungey, 144 points (4 wins)
  2. Ken Roczen, 118 (1 win)
  3. Jason Anderson, 111 (1 win)
  4. Cole Seely, 105
  5. Chad Reed, 103
  6. Eli Tomac, 103
  7. Marvin Musquin, 77
  8. Justin Brayton, 72
  9. Davi Millsaps, 71
  10. Jake Weimer, 62
  11. Wil Hahn, 49
  12. Trey Canard, 45
  13. Weston Peick, 39
  14. Christophe Pourcel, 39
  15. Mike Alessi, 35
  16. Vince Friese, 22
  17. Dean Wilson, 18
  18. Broc Tickle, 17
  19. Justin Barcia, 16
  20. Tommy Hahn, 16

Next Monster Energy AMA Supercross Round:
February 20, 2016 at AT&T Stadium, Arlington, Texas.
TV Schedule


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.