Motorcycle Racing News New Orleans AMA SportBike | Race 1 Results

New Orleans AMA SportBike | Race 1 Results

2012-new-orleans-ama-sportbike-race-one-results (1)2012 AMA Pro Pro GoPro Daytona SportBike

Spoiler Alert: 2012 AMA Pro GoPro Daytona SportBike results from NOLA Motorsports Park, New Orleans, listed below

It was a true showdown in AMA Pro GoPro Daytona SportBike. GEICO Suzuki’s Martin Cardenas clinched the title in Miami, but many times during the 2012 season he had to watch Cameron Beuabier, who had no title aspirations after an earlier injury, win races for Y.E.S /Graves/Yamaha. With the championship decided, both riders could go for it in New Orleans.

Beaubier came out on top as Cardenas crashed out in the waning laps while the duo fought for position at the front. It was the seventh win of the year for Beaubier, which ties him with Cardenas for the most victories on the season in GoPro Daytona SportBike.

Cardenas rode off into the lead twice, as the race was stopped by a red flag caused by an ugly crash that happened on lap three when Meen Motorsports’ Bobby Fong hit the rear of polesitter Jake Gagne’s RoadRace Factory/Red Bull Yamaha in turn one. After the race was restarted, Cardenas once again pulled away, only to have Beaubier charge through the pack and catch up with the Colombian. Cardenas had several near-crashes before relinquishing the point to Beaubier. The two-time Daytona SportBike Champion had just slipped back into the lead before crashing out of the final series of turns with two to go.

“I was trying to make my way up towards the front,” said Beaubier. “I put my head down and managed to catch up to Cardenas. He made a mistake and crashed. It’s not the way I wanted to win but my team gave me a great bike.”

Dane Westby finished second for M4 Suzuki, maintaining second place in the series points. He beat J.D. Beach on the RoadRace Factory/Red Bull Yamaha and Tommy Aquino on the Yamaha, who tangled in the final corners.

Jake Zemke earned a top five on the DucShop Ducati. Jason DiSalvo was sixth on his Latus Motors Racing-branded Triumph. David Gaviria earned seventh on his Yamaha.

2012 AMA SportBike Race 1 Results:

Pos No. Rider(s) Team Bike Interval Gap Best Lap Points
1. 6 Cameron Beaubier Yamaha Extended Service, Graves, Yamaha Yamaha YZF-R6 18 Laps WINNER 1:42.779 0
2. 5 Dane Westby M4 Suzuki Suzuki GSX-R600 4.782 4.782 1:43.806 0
3. 95 JD Beach Road Race Factory/Red Bull Yamaha YZF-R6 7.635 2.853 1:43.769 0
4. 124 Tommy Aquino Crown Industries Yamaha YZF-R6 12.437 4.802 1:43.658 0
5. 98 Jake Zemke Ducshop Racing Ducati 848 22.001 9.563 1:44.176 0
6. 40 Jason DiSalvo Team Latus Motors Racing Triumph Daytona 675 24.869 2.868 1:44.746 0
7. 175 David Gaviria Crown Industries Yamaha YZF-R6 25.428 0.559 1:45.014 0
8. 57 Cory West Riders Discount Vesrah Suzuki Suzuki GSX-R600 25.706 0.278 1:45.023 0
9. 56 Austin Dehaven Crown Industries Yamaha YZF-R6 26.046 0.339 1:44.923 0
10. 22 Tommy Hayden Yamaha Extended Service, Graves, Yamaha Yamaha YZF-R6 26.173 0.126 1:44.881 0
11. 38 Kris Turner Turner`s Cycle Racing Triumph Daytona 675 43.266 17.092 1:45.112 0
12. 86 Ben Young BYR/Fogi Racing Yamaha YZF-R6 47.759 4.492 1:46.153 0
13. 46 Shane Narbonne MOB Racing Yamaha YZF-R6 48.898 1.139 1:45.988 0
14. 52 Joey Pascarella Riders Discount Vesrah Suzuki Suzuki GSX-R600 48.903 0.004 1:45.836 0
15. 30 Danny Kelsey RPS Race Team Yamaha YZF-R6 1:06.477 17.573 1:46.896 0
16. 39 Nicollas Ferreira DMS Racing Yamaha YZF-R6 1:07.375 0.898 1:47.243 0
17. 7 Fernando Amantini Team Amantini Kawasaki ZX-6R 1:11.390 4.014 1:47.263 0
18. 24 Scott Ryan Stiles Racing Yamaha YZF-R6 1:11.466 0.076 1:47.595 0
19. 42 Kenny Riedmann Sturgess Cycle Triumph Triumph Daytona 675 1:38.300 26.834 1:46.001 0
20. 74 Josh Galster Gearzy/Josh Galster Racing Yamaha YZF-R6 1:39.100 0.799 1:48.403 0
21. 63 Jeff Wrobel Wrobel Racing Yamaha YZF-R6 1:41.890 2.789 1:49.265 0
22. 61 Michael Beck Team Beck Racing Yamaha YZF-R6 17 Laps 1 Lap 1:44.864 0
23. 72 Bryce Prince Rotobox/Nexx Yamaha YZF-R6 27.866 27.866 1:47.292 0
24. 36 Martin Cardenas GEICO Suzuki Suzuki GSX-R600 15 Laps 2 Laps 1:43.239 0
25. 111 Derek Wagnon HSBK Racing Ducati 848 11 Laps 4 Laps 1:47.517 0
26. 25 Chris Peris ADR Motorsports 2 Yamaha YZF-R6 2.207 2.207 1:47.439 0
27. 75 Huntley Nash LTD Racing Yamaha YZF-R6 9 Laps 2 Laps 1:46.904 0
28. 50 Bobby Fong Meen Motorsports Racing Yamaha YZF-R6 2 Laps 7 Laps 1:44.072 0
29. 132 Jake Gagne Road Race Factory/Red Bull Yamaha YZF-R6 0.162 0.162 1:43.910 0
30. 13 Melissa Paris MPH Racing Suzuki GSX-R600 15.583 15.421 1:50.188 0
31. 20 Benny Solis Crown Industries Yamaha YZF-R6 DNS DNS -no times- 0
32. 34 Michael Barnes Crown Industries Yamaha YZF-R6 DNS DNS -no times- 0
33. 80 Garrett Willis SGA Racing/Yamaha Champions Riding School Yamaha YZF-R6 DNS DNS -no times- 0

Ron Lieback
Ron Lieback
One of the few moto journalists based on the East Coast, Ron Lieback joined the motorcycle industry as a freelancer in 2007, and is currently Online Editor at Ultimate Motorcycling. He is also the author of "365 to Vision: Modern Writer's Guide (How to Produce More Quality Writing in Less Time).

2021 Indian Challenger Lineup First Look: Photos, Prices, and Colors

The performance-oriented Challenger bagger lineup from Indian returns for 2021, with three models to choose from. All three 2021 Indian Challenger models get the...

2021 GasGas Motocross Lineup First Look (Specs and Photos)

When under Spanish ownership, GasGas was never known as a motocross brand. However, under the guidance of Pierer Mobility AG and Bajaj Auto—the owners...

2021 Indian Chieftain Lineup First Look: 3 Big-Inch Baggers

There are three baggers in the 2021 Indian Chieftain lineup, with just a few changes to the motorcycles this year. There are new colors,...

2021 GasGas Trial Lineup First Look (8 Fast Facts: 3 TXT Racing Models)

The first GasGas motorcycles of the Pierer Mobility AG and Bajaj Auto era have arrived. Those who were expecting wholesale redesigns of the line...

Lieback’s Lounge: This Will All Pass [Thoughts on Simic and Motorcycles]

There is a menace in the air Of tragedies in the making. These lines are from "Late September," written by the American minimalist poet Charles Simic....

Racing Classic Motorcycles: First You Have to Finish by Andy Reynolds [Review]

Author Andy Reynolds’ new book, Racing Classic Motorcycles: First You Have to Finish, is about a man livin’ the classic motorcycle racing dream—with some...