Motorcycle Racing News Homestead-Miami AMA SportBike | Race 2 Results

Homestead-Miami AMA SportBike | Race 2 Results


AMA Pro GoPro Daytona SportBike

Jake Gagne of the RoadRace Factory/Red Bull team won the AMA Pro GoPro Daytona SportBike race at Homestead-Miami Speedway on Sunday, a surprise win for the class rookie. Gagne showed fine form in a wet race to take his first AMA Pro victory. He topped Dane Westby of the M4 Suzuki team and Cameron Beaubier (Y.E.S./Graves/Yamaha) in a race delayed by weather issues. Martin Cardenas clinched the championship for M4 Suzuki in the race as he became a two-time class champion.

Westby earned the lead on the start and Gagne harried him for ten laps until he made the pass for the lead. The young rider eventually fomented a lead of over seven seconds as he dominated the second half of race.

“Right away, I knew how fast we’d go. I got in behind Dane, and we took off. I saw we had a couple of seconds. I tried to get by Dane and see what I could do and did a couple of laps to pull a gap. I was able to pull it home. I was hoping for a podium, but a win is even crazier. I can’t wait to get to NOLA and try it again.”

“I tried to be conservative and was a little more conservative than necessary. I had some tire left at the end,” said Westby. “That’s all there was to it.

“To tell the truth, I was riding a little tense and nervous,” said Beaubier.

Cardenas finished fourth, enough to ensure he’d win the 2012 title. The Colombian, who is the 2010 champ, earned seven wins on the way to clinching the crown this season.

“The championship was great for us. We took advantage of the points we had,” said Cardenas. “We came here to Miami with the mission to win the championship. I focused on trying to clinch it, and I’m very happy.”

David Gaviria ( Yamaha) earned his best GoPro Daytona SportBike finish yet in fifth, as did Kris Turner (Turner’s Cycle Racing). Huntley Nash (LTD Racing) equaled his best class finish in seventh.

2012 Homestead-Miami AMA SportBike Race 2 Results:

Pos No. Rider(s) Team Bike Interval Gap Best Lap Points
1. 132 Jake Gagne Road Race Factory/Red Bull Yamaha YZF-R6 23 Laps WINNER 1:31.986 0
2. 5 Dane Westby M4 Suzuki Suzuki GSX-R600 7.126 7.126 1:32.435 0
3. 6 Cameron Beaubier Yamaha Extended Service, Graves, Yamaha Yamaha YZF-R6 14.248 7.122 1:31.922 0
4. 36 Martin Cardenas GEICO Suzuki Suzuki GSX-R600 38.340 24.092 1:33.716 0
5. 175 David Gaviria Crown Industries Yamaha YZF-R6 42.804 4.463 1:33.588 0
6. 38 Kris Turner Turner`s Cycle Racing Triumph Daytona 675 58.386 15.582 1:33.899 0
7. 75 Huntley Nash LTD Racing Yamaha YZF-R6 1:02.987 4.601 1:34.378 0
8. 56 Austin Dehaven Crown Industries Yamaha YZF-R6 1:05.013 2.025 1:34.232 0
9. 95 JD Beach Road Race Factory/Red Bull Yamaha YZF-R6 1:14.111 9.097 1:33.491 0
10. 52 Joey Pascarella Riders Discount Vesrah Suzuki Suzuki GSX-R600 1:20.014 5.903 1:33.847 0
11. 29 Barrett Long Longevity Racing Ducati 848 1:24.051 4.037 1:35.236 0
12. 39 Nicollas Ferreira DMS Racing Yamaha YZF-R6 1:33.704 9.652 1:36.154 0
13. 46 Shane Narbonne MOB Racing Yamaha YZF-R6 22 Laps 1 Lap 1:36.442 0
14. 72 Bryce Prince Rotobox/Nexx Yamaha YZF-R6 3.044 3.044 1:36.415 0
15. 7 Fernando Amantini Team Amantini Kawasaki ZX-6R 29.460 26.416 1:37.774 0
16. 42 Kenny Riedmann Sturgess Cycle Triumph Triumph Daytona 675 40.587 11.127 1:37.402 0
17. 61 Michael Beck Team Beck Racing Yamaha YZF-R6 41.486 0.898 1:37.637 0
18. 40 Jason DiSalvo Team Latus Motors Racing Triumph Daytona 675 21 Laps 1 Lap 1:34.538 0
19. 124 Tommy Aquino Crown Industries Yamaha YZF-R6 20 Laps 1 Lap 1:34.865 0
20. 50 Bobby Fong Meen Motorsports Racing Yamaha YZF-R6 9 Laps 11 Laps 1:42.853 0
21. 13 Melissa Paris MPH Racing Suzuki GSX-R600 4 Laps 5 Laps 1:46.786 0
22. 57 Cory West Riders Discount Vesrah Suzuki Suzuki GSX-R600 1 Lap 3 Laps 2:04.796 0
23. 98 Jake Zemke Ducshop Racing Ducati 848 DNS DNS -no times- 0
24. 20 Benny Solis Crown Industries Yamaha YZF-R6 DNS DNS -no times- 0

Ron Lieback
Ron Lieback
One of the few moto journalists based on the East Coast, Ron Lieback joined the motorcycle industry as a freelancer in 2007, and is currently Online Editor at Ultimate Motorcycling. He is also the author of "365 to Vision: Modern Writer's Guide (How to Produce More Quality Writing in Less Time).

2022 Kawasaki KLR650 First Look (14 Fast Facts)

2018 was a dark year for Kawasaki KLR650 enthusiasts. It was the last year of the much-loved venerable big-bore dual-sport model that debuted in...

2022 Indian FTR Lineup First Look (8 Fast Facts)

It’s barely 2021, yet the 2022 Indian FTR lineup is here, and there are some significant changes to three of the four variants. In...

2021 Kawasaki KLX230R S First Look (8 Fast Facts)

Just a year after the debut of the Kawasaki KLX230R trail bike, we get our first look at the 2021 Kawasaki KLX230R S. While...

2021 Triumph Speed Triple 1200 RS First Look (19 Fast Facts)

Forget what you know about any previous Triumph Speed Triple. The 2021 Triumph Speed Triple 1200 RS is an all-new naked upright sportbike ready...

2021 Harley-Davidson CVO Limited First Look: Updates, Specs, Photos

The 2021 Harley-Davidson CVO Limited arrives with two new paint choices, plus a couple of updates in the dash area. There’s a new LED...

MP Magic 37.5 Tech Merino Wool Socks Review (All-Season Footwear)

I’m very picky when it comes to motorcycle socks. For dirt bikes, it’s easy. I always wear Fly Racing Knee Brace socks, as they...