Corsi Charges to Aragon Moto2 Pole

2012-corsi-charges-to-aragon-moto2-pole (1)

2012 Moto2 Championship

It was Came IodaRacing Project’s Simone Corsi who charged to his first ever Moto2 pole position for tomorrow’s Gran Premio Iveco de Aragón after putting in a terrific performance ahead of Pol Espargaró and Andrea Iannone.

Corsi stunned the Spanish crowd by stealing pole position in the dying seconds from Pons 40 HP Tuenti’s Espargaró with a time of 1.54’343, which was just over two tenths quicker than the Spaniard. Third place went to Speed Master’s Andrea Iannone, with the Italian hoping to carry this pace over into tomorrow’s race to claw back some vital championship points.

It was a qualifying session for the Italians at the Spanish circuit, as Italtrans Racing Team’s Claudio Corti fought his way into fourth position, cementing the good form he has shown in the sessions before. Mapfre Aspar Team Moto2’s Jordi Torres, who is very familiar with the Aragón circuit from his time here in the Spanish Moto2 championship, was on the pace throughout, ultimately qualifying in fifth despite a crash at the end, in front of his teammate Nico Terol.

Team CatalunyaCaixa Repsol’s Marc Márquez had a very subdued session for his standards as he qualified first on the third row in seventh. The Spaniard did well to save a near crash on his final hot lap, and will be looking for a marked improvement in form tomorrow. Márquez’s time did however push back Tech 3 Racing’s Bradley Smith into eighth, after the Brit wrestled his bike up the order in the closing minutes. Marc VDS Racing Team’s Scott Redding completed the third row in ninth, while the wet-pace man, JiR Moto2’s Johann Zarco, rounded out the top ten.

In cool conditions many of the riders struggled for grip, with NGM Mobile Forward Racing’s Alex de Angelis and Thai Honda PTT Gresini Moto2’s Ratthapark Wilairot both crashing twice in the session. Additional fallers included S/Master Speed Up’s Alessandro Andreozzi, Technomag-CIP’s Tomoyoshi Koyama and Targo Bank CNS Motorsport’s wildcard Alex Mariñelarena. All riders fortunately escaped serious injury.

2012 Aragon Moto2 Qualifying Results:

Pos.Num.RiderNationTeamBikeKm/hTimeGap 1st/Prev.
1.3Simone CORSIITACame IodaRacing ProjectFTR278.31’54.343
2.40Pol ESPARGAROSPAPons 40 HP TuentiKalex280.91’54.5340.191 / 0.191
3.29Andrea IANNONEITASpeed MasterSpeed Up280.51’54.6180.275 / 0.084
4.71Claudio CORTIITAItaltrans Racing TeamKalex275.71’54.7120.369 / 0.094
5.81Jordi TORRESSPAMapfre Aspar Team Moto2Suter277.81’54.7870.444 / 0.075
6.18Nicolas TEROLSPAMapfre Aspar Team Moto2Suter278.61’54.8280.485 / 0.041
7.93Marc MARQUEZSPATeam CatalunyaCaixa RepsolSuter280.81’54.8770.534 / 0.049
8.38Bradley SMITHGBRTech 3 RacingTech 3274.51’54.8990.556 / 0.022
9.45Scott REDDINGGBRMarc VDS Racing TeamKalex275.31’54.9250.582 / 0.026
10.5Johann ZARCOFRAJIR Moto2Motobi274.21’54.9930.650 / 0.068
11.80Esteve RABATSPAPons 40 HP TuentiKalex281.21’55.0740.731 / 0.081
12.36Mika KALLIOFINMarc VDS Racing TeamKalex283.81’55.2240.881 / 0.150
13.30Takaaki NAKAGAMIJPNItaltrans Racing TeamKalex286.01’55.2350.892 / 0.011
14.49Axel PONSSPAPons 40 HP TuentiKalex274.71’55.2750.932 / 0.040
15.19Xavier SIMEONBELTech 3 RacingTech 3269.51’55.4451.102 / 0.170
16.72Yuki TAKAHASHIJPNNGM Mobile Forward RacingFTR278.71’55.4451.102
17.63Mike DI MEGLIOFRAKiefer RacingKalex278.71’55.4731.130 / 0.028
18.15Alex DE ANGELISRSMNGM Mobile Forward RacingFTR276.71’55.5101.167 / 0.037
19.12Thomas LUTHISWIInterwetten-PaddockSuter277.11’55.6171.274 / 0.107
20.95Anthony WESTAUSQMMF Racing TeamSpeed Up278.31’55.8751.532 / 0.258
21.60Julian SIMONSPABlusens AvintiaSuter278.11’55.9511.608 / 0.076
22.8Gino REAGBRFederal Oil Gresini Moto2Suter273.91’56.1121.769 / 0.161
23.77Dominique AEGERTERSWITechnomag-CIPSuter276.81’56.1291.786 / 0.017
24.92Alex MARIÑELARENASPAMotorsportSuter270.91’56.6612.318 / 0.532
25.23Marcel SCHROTTERGERDesguaces La Torre SAGBimota274.81’56.6952.352 / 0.034
26.14Ratthapark WILAIROTTHAThai Honda PTT Gresini Moto2Suter275.31’57.1582.815 / 0.463
27.84Steven ODENDAALRSAArguiñano Racing TeamAJR273.21’57.2992.956 / 0.141
28.75Tomoyoshi KOYAMAJPNTechnomag-CIPSuter277.71’57.3703.027 / 0.071
29.57Eric GRANADOBRAJIR Moto2Motobi270.61’57.4623.119 / 0.092
30.22Alessandro ANDREOZZIITAS/Master Speed UpSpeed Up278.21’57.9253.582 / 0.463
31.82Elena ROSELLSPAQMMF Racing TeamSpeed Up280.21’58.3674.024 / 0.442
32.20Jesko RAFFINSWIGP Team SwitzerlandKalex273.51’59.1774.834 / 0.810
33.10Marco COLANDREASWISAG TeamFTR276.11’59.4775.134 / 0.300