Motorcycle Types Adventure / Dual-Sport 2012 Minneapolis Arenacross | Results

2012 Minneapolis Arenacross | Results

2012-minneapolis-arenacross-results (1)

2012 AMA Arenacross Finale Results

The 12th and final round of the 2012 AMA Arenacross Series was a night of champions on Saturday as both Arenacross Class and Western Regional Arenacross Lites Class title winners were crowned inside the Target Center.

After claiming 12 main event wins this season, Babbitt’s Monster Energy/AMSOIL Kawasaki presented by Maxxis’ Tyler Bowers, of Danville, Ky., secured back-to-back premier class titles after a strong runner-up effort. For the second straight season, HOK Kawasaki’s Chad Cook, of Oklahoma City, Okla., took home the Western Regional Arenacross Lites Class crown following a podium finish of his own.

Babbitt’s Monster Energy/AMSOIL Kawasaki’s Chad Johnson, of Rhinelander, Wis., grabbed the holeshot in the 25-lap Arenacross Class Main Event, with Bella’s Cupcakes/Club MX Kawasaki’s Zach Ames, of Prospect, Ohio, and Bowers in tow. Not long after, Ames slipped past Johnson for the lead, which would prove to be the winning pass.

Johnson looked to keep Ames in his sights, but Bowers took over the runner-up spot in the whoops shortly thereafter. Once in second, Bowers pursued Ames relentlessly, maintaining a gap of less than a second throughout the entire main event. In the end, the eventual champion wasn’t able to make the pass, but still secured the title with his second-place finish.

Ames’ victory was his first of 2012 and also made him the fifth different winner in the Arenacross Class this season. Johnson followed Ames and Bowers across the finish to give Kawasaki a 1-2-3 sweep of the podium.

FMF Power/Poynt TUF Honda’s Jeff Gibson, of Blacklick, Ohio, entered the evening with a chance at stealing the Arenacross Class title from Bowers, but ultimately settled for a fifth-place finish.

For the third straight main event, BNTQ.Net/Tuf Honda Racing’s Kevin Markwardt, of Freeport, Ill., grabbed the early lead in the 18-lap Arenacoss Lites Class. He was followed by Reed and Reese KTM’s Michael McDade, of Edinburg, Pa., and Team Faith KTM’s Kevin Johnson, of Spring, Texas.

Coming into the evening, Markwardt sat just one point out of the championship lead, but it wouldn’t be long before Cook began his charge through the field. By Lap 5, Cook had moved into third and proceeded to move his way into second on the following lap.

With Markwardt in his sights, Cook pushed to close in on his rival, while McDade followed in third. At the halfway point, Markward experienced misfortune and dropped out of podium contention, ultimately losing the championship in the process. From there, Cook, Johnson, and McDade engaged in a heated battle for the win.

By the conclusion of the 18 laps, both Johnson and McDade had overcome Cook, who ultimately fell to third. Johnson held on to take his fifth Arenacross Lites Class win of the 2012 season.

With Markwardt falling to eighth by the end of the race, Cook secured the title by eight points.

In the final Dash for Cash of the season, Bowers helped cap off his championship-winning season with a victory in the four-lap sprint race, but it wasnt without some luck. On the final lap, Ames and Gibson came together while battling for the win, allowing Bowers to assume the lead after both riders wenr down.

2012 AMA Arenacross Class Results (Minneapolis)

  1. Zach Ames, Prospect, Ohio, Kawasaki
  2. Tyler Bowers, Danville, Ky., Kawasaki
  3. Chad Johnson, Rhinelander, Wis., Kawasaki
  4. Travis Sewell, Westville, Ind., KTM
  5. Jeff Gibson, Blacklick, Ohio, Honda
  6. Michael Willard, Newark, Ohio, KTM
  7. Nathan Skaggs, Chillicothe, Ohio, Honda
  8. Cory Green, Nowata, Okla., Suzuki
  9. Cole Siebler, Emmett, Idaho, Honda
  10. Michael McDade, Edinburg, Pa., KTM

2012 AMA Arenacross Lites Class Results (Minneapolis)

  1.  Kevin Johnson, Spring, Texas, KTM
  2.  Michael McDade, Edinburg, Pa, KTM
  3.  Chad Cook, Oklahoma City, Okla., Kawasaki
  4.  Scott Zont, Algonquin, Ill., Honda
  5.  Steven Mages, Sardinia, Ohio, Kawasaki
  6.  Maxx Malatia, Itasca, Ill., Honda
  7.  Tanner Moore, Auburn, Kan., KTM
  8.  Kevin Markwardt, Freeport, Ill., Honda
  9.  Kyle White, Freeport, Ill., Honda
  10.  Dave Ginolfi, Lake Hopatcong, N.J., KTM

2012 AMA Arenacross Class Points (After Race 19 of 19)

  1. Tyler Bowers, Danville, Ky., Kawasaki (12 wins) – 424
  2. Jeff Gibson, Blacklick, Ohio, Honda (3 wins) – 394
  3. Chad Johnson, Rhinelander, Wis., Kawasaki (2 wins) – 338
  4. Zach Ames, Prospect, Ohio, Kawasaki (1 win) – 297
  5. Kelly Smith, Ludington, Mich., KTM (1 win) – 285
  6. Nathan Skaggs, Chillicothe, Ohio, Honda – 259
  7. Willy Browning, Pleasantville, Ohio, KTM – 206
  8. Travis Sewell, Westville, Ind., KTM – 191
  9. Michael Willard, Newark, Ohio, KTM – 176
  10. Cory Green, Nowata, Okla., Suzuki – 152

2012 AMA Western Regional Arenacross Lites Class Points (After Race 9 of 9)

  1. Chad Cook, Oklahoma City, Okla., Kawasaki – 131
  2. Kevin Markwardt, Freeport, Ill., Honda – 123
  3. Tanner Moore, Auburn, Kan., KTM – 96
  4. Cody Church, Grand Junction, Colo., Kawasaki – 57
  5. Jake Locks, Dixon, Calif., KTM – 47
  6. Tiger Lacy, Beaverton, Ore., Kawasaki – 37
  7. Chris Proscelle, Dulzura, Calif., Honda – 36
  8. Patrick Massie, Washington Court House, Ohio, Honda – 35
  9. Brandon Marley, McEwen, Tenn., KTM – 31
  10. Nick Myers, Collinsville, Texas, Kawasaki – 22

For more information on the AMA Arenacross Series, log on to

Ron Lieback
Ron Lieback
One of the few moto journalists based on the East Coast, Ron Lieback joined the motorcycle industry as a freelancer in 2007, and is currently Online Editor at Ultimate Motorcycling. He is also the author of "365 to Vision: Modern Writer's Guide (How to Produce More Quality Writing in Less Time).

Avon Tyres + Blood Bikes = Motorcycles Saving Lives

We’ve all heard of blood banks, but this is the first time we have heard of blood bikes. Leicestershire & Rutland Blood Bikes is...

2021 Moto Guzzi V7 Stone 100th Anniversary First Look

Back in December, we gave you a first look at the new 2021 Moto Guzzi V7 lineup. The big news was an increase in...

2022 Triumph Bonneville Bobber First Look (11 Fast Facts)

The 2022 Triumph Bonneville Bobber enjoys a wide range of updates that include functional and aesthetic. The changes are, in part, to meet Euro...

2021 MV Agusta Dragster RR SCS RC First Look (9 Fast Facts)

The 2021 MV Agusta Dragster RR SCS RC is the new flagship of the urban-brawling Dragster lineup. The RC stands for Reparto Corse, and...

2022 Triumph Bonneville T100 First Look (9 Fast Facts)

The Triumph Bonneville T100 gets a more powerful and higher-revving motor for 2022,  along with a lighter chassis and upgraded suspension as the British...

2022 Triumph Street Twin First Look (7 Fast Facts)

The best-selling Triumph Street Twin is back with motor changes to meet Euro 5 standards, upgraded styling, and a classy new variant. Let’s take...