Vegas Concours d’Elegance: Show Winners


American Motorcycle Heritage Foundation

Classic, historic and gorgeous motorcycles were on full display at the Las Vegas’ Red Rock Casino, Resort and Spa Saturday, Nov. 19, when more than 100 bikes took center stage at the 2011 Motorcycle Hall of Fame Dave Mungenast Memorial Concours d’Elegance.

The event, organized by the American Motorcycle Heritage Foundation (AMHF), which raises funds for the Motorcycle Hall of Fame, welcomed some of the country’s most stunning restored and original motorcycles from nearly all eras and disciplines. The juried show recognized the most outstanding motorcycles in a number of categories.

Tom White (AMHF Board Member and Emcee) says: “The support that this show is receiving is growing every year, and we’re pleased to recognize so many wonderful motorcycles today. The setting here in Las Vegas, held in concert with the Motorcycle Hall of Fame’s annual induction ceremony, really makes this show special.”

Winning the Jim Davis Best in Show Award was Bob Mitchell, whose black and chrome 1947 Indian Chief amazed the crowd and judges with its attention to detail and the craftsmanship evident in the restoration.

Mitchell, who also attended the 2010 Motorcycle Hall of Fame Concours d’Elegance, said he was impressed by the show.

Bob Mitchell says: “You get really top quality bikes at this show. The people who are showing the bikes here are the ones that take bike restoration seriously, and it’s just a very nice group of people, too. I will definitely be back next year – probably with a surprise or two.”

The 2011 Motorcycle Hall of Fame Dave Mungenast Memorial Concours d’Elegance was sponsored by Allied Federal, Moto Armory, Meguiar’s, Auctions America, AmPro Racing, Bob Andersohn of St. Louis, The Early Years of Motocross Museum, S&S Cycle, SuperTrapp, Mike Howarth and The Owen Collection.

Other class winners are listed below:

American to 1953
Winner: 1947 Indian Chief, Bob Mitchell
Runner-up: 1932 Indian Four, Bob Mitchell

American 1954-1975
Winner: 1958 Harley-Davidson XLH Sportster, Loren Carpenter
Runner-up: 1967 Harley-Davidson FLHP-LAPD, Paul Wheeler
Third place: 1973 Harley-Davidson 125, Brad Boyle

British to 1964
Winner: 1961 Triumph TR5 AC, Danny Selman
Runner-up: 1936 Rudge Ulster, Bob Mitchell
Third place: 1959 BSA Spitfire Scrambler, Jerry Garrett

British 1965-1975
Winner: 1967 BSA Spitfire, Don Johnson
Runner-up: 1969 Triumph T120R Bonneville, Don Harrell
Third place: 1970 BSA Firebird SCR, Don Harrell

European to 1964
Winner: 1960 BMW R69S, Rick Huemmerich
Runner-up: 1951 BMW R68ISDT, Evan Bell

European 1965-1975
Winner: MV Augusta 500cc, Brad Boyle
Runner-up: 1965 BMW R60/2, Evan Bell
Third place: 1965 Ducati Mach-1, Joseph Edone

Japanese to 1970
Winner: 1966 Honda CA-77 Dream, Gary Briggs
Runner-up: 1966 Honda Scrambler, Brad Yuill
Third place: 1967 Honda Superhawk, Brad Yuill

Japanese 1971-1975
Winner: 1971 Kawasaki F-5 Bighorn, Al Lutino
Runner-up: 1975 Kawasaki H2 750, Dan Ambrect
Third place: 1975 Suzuki Rotary, Brad Boyle

Antique Competition to 1969
Winner: 1966 BSA Hornet, Don Harrell
Runner-up: 1946 Excelsior-Jap Speedway, Jerry Haworth
Third place: 1964 Rickman MK-3 Matchless, Roger Riddell/Mecum Auctions

Classic Competition 1970-1975
Winner: 1974 Honda Elsinore, Peter Palko
Runner-up: 1972 Harley-Davidson XR750, Brad Newell
Third place: 1971 Jawa CZ, Jim Beck

Specials and Customs to 1975
Winner: “Easy Rider” Billy Bike Replica, Paul Wheeler
Runner-up: 1969 Husqvarna Flink 250, Brad Boyle
Third place: 1970 Triumph TR 6, Don Johnson

Historic Racing
Winner: 1978 Yamaha OW-36, Eric and Lee Hale
Runner-up: 1980 Yamaha YZR-500, Joe Fenech
Third place: 1985 KTM GS300ED, Gary Briggs

Best Preservation
1953 AJS 185, Don Johnson

Kenny Roberts Award
1957 BSA Goldstar, Mike Iannuccilli

Early Years of Motocross Museum Award
1938 Victor-Martin Speedway, Brad Newell

Moto Armory Award
1965 Harley-Davidson Topper with Sidecar, Terry Gambel

John Penton Award
1967 Husqvarna MX250, Chris Carter

Owen Collection Award
1975 Yamaha TZ750, Ray Abrams

Dave Mungenast Award
1966 Triumph T120R, Tim Gilligan

Roger DeCoster Award
1949 AJS 185

Best of Show
1947 Indian Chief, Bob Mitchell