Motorcycle Racing News AMA Supercross/Motocross 2019 Las Vegas Supercross Results and Coverage (5 Fast Facts)

2019 Las Vegas Supercross Results and Coverage (5 Fast Facts)

2019 Las Vegas Supercross Results:
Webb Wins Championship; Tomac Wins Race

Everyone did what was expected at Sam Boyd Stadium in Las Vegas for the final round of the 2019 Monster Energy AMA Supercross Championship Series. Tomac needed to win to have a shot at the title, and he won. However, Cooper Webb only needed to finish in the top 20, and Webb ended the night on the podium behind Marvin Musquin. That was enough to give Webb the Supercross championship by 18 points over Tomac.

2019 Las Vegas Supercross Results and Coverage - Cooper Webb
2019 Monster Energy Supercross Champion Cooper Webb

  1. It was a boring Main Event, with few passes and a spread-out field. Tomac (Monster Energy Kawasaki) pulled a holeshot and checked out. Tomac didn’t bother to slow down the pace so he could let the field bunch up and engage with series leader Webb. Instead, Tomac managed a lead in the 10-second range for most of the race, ending the night over 12 seconds ahead of runner-up Musquin.

    2019 Las Vegas Supercross Results and Coverage - Eli Tomac
    Race winner Eli Tomac
  1. For Cooper Webb supporters, it was just a matter of holding their breaths. Webb (Red Bull KTM) sat in P3 the entire race, behind teammate Musquin. The top three never changed position and didn’t battle with each other. Webb simply had to finish in the top 20, though that wasn’t guaranteed until there were just two laps to go. Webb allowed Ken Roczen to get within shouting distance a few times during the race, including on the final lap. Still, Webb was not pressured during the race and was able to ride his own pace in comfort. Webb wins the 2019 Monster Energy Supercross Championship with seven wins and 13 podiums—more than any other rider.
  1. The only battle anywhere near the front was between Ken Roczen and Zach Osborne early in the Main Event. Osborne (Rockstar Energy Husqvarna Factory Racing) got a good start and was running up front in P4. Roczen (Team Honda HRC) started in P7, moved up to behind Osborne by the second lap. Roczen was clearly faster in the two whoops sections than Osborne, and was able to make the pass stick on lap 6 (of 22) coming out of the second whoops section. Roczen eventually finished more than 11 seconds ahead of Osborne. In the last five races of the season, Roczen did not podium and finished P4 in the 2019 Monster Energy Supercross Championship Series standings, 60 points behind Webb.

    2019 Las Vegas Supercross Results and Coverage - Ken Roczen and Zach Osborne
    Zach Osborne leads Ken Roczen early
  1. Tyler Bowers finished in P8, his best result of the year. Bowers (Triggr Racing/Blud Lubricants/Kawasaki) started in P8 and finished in P8—it was that kind of night of racing. Bowers did have some skirmishes with Justin Hill (JGRMX/Yoshimura/Suzuki Factory Racing) and Justin Bogle (Rocky Mountain ATV-MC/WPS/KTM, but eventually finished five seconds clear of Hill when the checkers flew.
  1. After trying all year to make the Main Event, Tevin Tapia final made it happen. Tapia (Trust Implants/Monarch Heavy Haul/Yamaha) had to go through the LCQ to get to the Main, and finished in P20, making Tapia the 48th rider to qualify for a 2019 Monster Energy Supercross Main Event. 

2019 Las Vegas Supercross Results, Sam Boyd Stadium

  1. Eli Tomac (Kawasaki)
  2. Marvin Musquin (KTM)
  3. Cooper Webb (KTM)
  4. Ken Roczen (Honda)
  5. Zach Osborne (Husqvarna)
  6. Cole Seely (Honda)
  7. Blake Baggett (KTM)
  8. Tyler Bowers (Kawasaki)
  9. Justin Hill (Suzuki)
  10. Justin Bogle (KTM)
  11. Justin Brayton (Honda)
  12. Ben Lamay (Honda)
  13. Kyle Chisholm (Suzuki)
  14. Ryan Breece (Yamaha)
  15. Alex Ray (Suzuki)
  16. Henry Miller (KTM)
  17. Carlen Gardner (Honda)
  18. Adam Enticknap (Suzuki)
  19. Charles Lefrancois (Suzuki)
  20. Tevin Tapia (Yamaha)
  21. Austin Politelli (Honda)
  22. Scott Champion (Yamaha)

2019 Monster Energy AMA Supercross Final Standings

  1. Cooper Webb, 379 points (7 wins)
  2. Eli Tomac, 361 (6 wins)
  3. Marvin Musquin, 350 (2 wins)
  4. Ken Roczen, 319
  5. Blake Baggett, 290 (1 win)
  6. Dean Wilson, 223
  7. Cole Seely, 211
  8. Joey Savatgy, 208
  9. Justin Bogle, 171
  10. Justin Brayton, 163
  11. Justin Hill, 162
  12. Tyler Bowers, 155
  13. Justin Barcia, 154 (1 win)
  14. Zach Osborne, 154
  15. Chad Reed, 151
  16. Aaron Plessinger, 123
  17. Kyle Chisholm, 119
  18. Ben Lamay, 113
  19. Alex Ray, 73
  20. Vince Friese, 65
  21. Carlen Gardner, 53
  22. Ryan Breece, 48
  23. Jason Anderson, 46
  24. Chris Blose, 42
  25. Mike Alessi, 37
  26. Josh Grant, 34
  27. Cole Martinez, 29
  28. Austin Politelli, 24
  29. Justin Starling, 18
  30. Malcolm Stewart, 17
  31. Adam Enticknap, 16
  32. Henry Miller, 14
  33. Cedric Soubeyras, 12
  34. Shane McElrath, 11
  35. Charles Lefrancois, 11
  36. Ronnie Stewart, 9
  37. Theodore Pauli, 8
  38. John Short, 6
  39. Cheyenne Harmon, 6
  40. Daniel Herrlein, 5
  41. Cade Autenrieth, 4
  42. Angelo Pellegrini, 4
  43. Tevin Tapia, 3
  44. Casey Brennan, 3
  45. AJ Catanzaro, 3
  46. Scott Champion, 3
  47. Jared Lesher, 2
  48. Heath Harrison, 1



Don Williams
Don Williams
With 45 years of riding experience, Don Williams is a fan of all kinds of motorcycles. He enjoys sport bikes, cruisers, dirt bikes, touring bikes, adventure bikes, dual sport bikes, and rideable customs. Ask Don what his favorite bike is and he will tell you, "Whatever bike I'm on."

2020 Triumph Street Triple RS Review (17 Fast Facts)

2020 Triumph Street Triple RS Review: Street and Track Tested It has been a few short years since the 765cc inline-three made its debut to...

2020 Suzuki Hayabusa Buyer’s Guide: Specs & Prices

Although it has fallen behind the times, the 2020 Suzuki Hayabusa remains a favorite of riders who want to go in a straight line and do it very quickly.

Ubuntu: One Woman’s Motorcycle Odyssey Across Africa (Rider’s Library)

In Ubuntu: One Woman’s Motorcycle Odyssey Across Africa, Heather Ellis tells the incredible, unexpected story of solo traveling in Africa. Here's a review.

Alex Lowes Joins Rea on Kawasaki Team for 2020 WorldSBK

Alex Lowes World Superbike News The Brit who rode for the factory Pata Yamaha Official WorldSBK team since 2016, Alex Lowes, will join the Kawasaki...

Suzuki Gixxer SF 250 MotoGP Edition Unveiled: First Look

During the third round of the Gixxer Cup Championship at Kari Motor Speedway in Coimbatore, India, Suzuki unveiled a new quarter-liter superbike - the Suzuki Gixxer SF 250 MotoGP edition.

2019 Yamaha Niken GT: Commuter Motorcycle Test

2019 Yamaha Niken GT: Commuter Test I ride a lot of different motorcycles to work, so it is always interesting to see which models spark...