2016 Detroit Supercross Results | Christmas In March For Anderson

Jason Anderson wins Detroit Supercross

2016 Supercross Detroit Results | Dungey Penalized, Anderson Wins
Jason Anderson wins Detroit Supercross

It was a normal day at the Monster Energy AMA 450SX Supercross office in Detroit's Ford Field for Red Bull/KTM’s Ryan Dungey, as he won his Heat race, nailed the holeshot in the Main, and then took the lead for good from teammate Marvin Musquin on the second lap. The night didn’t end as defending Supercross Champion Dungey expect, as he was called into human resources after the race and told he would be penalized two positions by the race officials for jumping on a red cross flag.

Ryan Dungey - Detroit Supercross

Dungey’s penalty gave the win to Rockstar Energy/Husqvarna Factory Racing’s Jason Anderson, who was undoubtedly the luckiest man at Ford Field. Anderson got off to a strong start, quickly slotting into 4th behind Dungey, Musquin, and BTO Sport/KTM’s Justin Brayton. Anderson took over 3rd on Lap 5 and the podium looked fairly set on a slick, hard, rocky and choppy track that offered few passes.

After 18 laps, it was still Dungey, Musquin, and Anderson with Musquin pulling away from Anderson on the previous two laps. However, Musquin went down softly on Lap 19, giving Anderson 2nd place on the track. Dungey's penalty moved Anderson up another position, giving him his second win of the 2016 Monster Energy Supercross series. Musquin was promoted to 2nd, and the penalty dropped Dungey to 3rd, extending Dungey’s record-setting consecutive podium streak to 27.

Dungey’s nearest rival in the Monster Energy Supercross 450SX standing, Soaring Eagle/Jimmy John’s/Suzuki Factory Racing’s Ken Roczen, slipped farther behind Dungey, finishing a disappointing 6th after winning last week in Toronto.

Roczen got off to a poor start on the difficult first left turn, and found himself buried in 12th place. Roczen was never competitive with the leaders, as his lap times hovered in the 48-49 second range, and Dungey, Anderson, and Musquin were typically a second faster.

Roczen now trails Dungey by 39 points with six rounds remaining. Roczen’s lead in the standings over Anderson has been cut to 14 points.

Ryan Dungey and Eli Tomac at Detroit SX

The Detroit Supercross could have been worse for Roczen, who finished less than one second ahead of Autotrader/Monster Energy/Yamaha’s Weston Peick, who was just 1.5 seconds clear of Team Honda HRC’s Trey Canard, who took 8th. Earlier, Canard had tangled with Yoshimura/Factory Suzuki’s Blake Baggett on Lap 12 and hit the Tuff Blocks, taking Canard down.

Monster Energy/Factory Yamaha’s Chad Reed and Monster Energy/Kawasaki’s Eli Tomac put in strong top five rides. Reed was 5th from the start when he was gifted 4th by Brayton’s flat tire, while Tomac turned around a 9th place start to finish a lonely 5th, well ahead of 6th place Roczen, but no threat to Reed.

Flat tires ruined two strong rides on Lap 14, as the two riders went into the pits with Brayton in 4th and Baggett in 7th. Emerging with new wheels, Brayton finished the night in 18th with Baggett right behind him.

Smartop/MotoConcepts’ Mike Alessi, who ran in 6th for the three opening laps, faded as the night wore on, but still scored his first top 10 of 2016 in 9th. Justin Bogle, who crashed out the previous week in Toronto while leading, took the final top 10 position, making the best of a 16th place start.

Yankton Motorsports’ Cody Gilmore (17th) and K1 Speed’s Kyle White (20th) qualified for the Main Event for the first time in the 2016 Monster Energy Supercross season.

Next race: April 2, 2016. Levi's Stadium, Santa Clara, California
TV schedule: April 2, Fox Sports 1, 7p EDT.

Photography by Simon Cudby

2016 Supercross Results, Ford Field, Detroit

  1. Jason Anderson (Husqvarna FC 450)
  2. Marvin Musquin (KTM 450 SX-F Factory Edition)
  3. Ryan Dungey (KTM 450 SX-F Factory Edition)
  4. Chad Reed (Yamaha YZ450F)
  5. Eli Tomac (Kawasaki KX450F)
  6. Ken Roczen (Suzuki RM-Z450)
  7. Weston Peick (Yamaha YZ450F)
  8. Trey Canard (Honda CRF450R)
  9. Mike Alessi (Honda CRF450R)
  10. Justin Bogle (Honda CRF450R)
  11. Cole Seely (Honda CRF450R)
  12. Josh Grant (Kawasaki KX450F)
  13. Vince Friese (Honda CRF450R)
  14. Phil Nicoletti (Yamaha YZ450F)
  15. Nick Wey (Kawasaki KX450F)
  16. Nick Schmidt (Suzuki RM-Z450)
  17. Cody Gilmore (Kawasaki KX450F)
  18. Justin Brayton (KTM 450 SX-F Factory Edition)
  19. Blake Baggett (Suzuki RM-Z450)
  20. Kyle White (Honda CRF450R)
  21. Jeff Alessi (Honda CRF450R)
  22. Jake Weimer (Suzuki RM-Z450)

2016 Monster Energy AMA Supercross Standings (after 11 of 17 rounds)

  1. Ryan Dungey, 253 points (5 wins)
  2. Ken Roczen, 214 (3 wins)
  3. Jason Anderson, 200 (2 wins)
  4. Eli Tomac, 186 (1 win)
  5. Marvin Musquin, 178
  6. Cole Seely, 173
  7. Chad Reed, 160
  8. Justin Brayton, 128
  9. Davi Millsaps, 105
  10. Trey Canard, 104
  11. Jake Weimer, 93
  12. Weston Peick, 79
  13. Christophe Pourcel, 77
  14. Mike Alessi, 73
  15. Vince Friese, 56
  16. Wil Hahn, 56
  17. Justin Bogle, 53
  18. Blake Baggett, 26
  19. Nick Schmidt, 25
  20. Phil Nicoletti, 25

    2016 Detroit Supercross 450SX Gallery





Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.