Motorcycle Types Motocross / Off-Road 38 AMA Amateur Motocross Champions Crowned at Loretta Lynn

38 AMA Amateur Motocross Champions Crowned at Loretta Lynn

AMA Amateur Motocross Champions 2015

38 AMA Amateur Motocross Champions Crowned at Loretta Lynn
2015 AMA Motocross Horizon Award winner Benny Bloss (credit: David Smith/

The Rocky Mountain ATV/MC AMA Amateur National Motocross Championship presented by AMSOIL, held July 26-Aug. 1, pitted hundreds of the country’s top riders against one another at the Loretta Lynn Ranch in Hurricane Mills, Tenn. When the dust cleared, 38 champions emerged.

Among them were four honored with special recognition from the AMA, including Yamaha rider Benny Bloss of Oak Grove, Mo., who captured the AMA Motocross Horizon Award.

“MX Sports always does an outstanding job of organizing this prestigious event, and this year the AMA Amateur National Motocross Championship was no exception,” said AMA Motocross Manager Kip Bigelow. “Additionally, the track builder for the event, Randy Poulter, did a great job, as it was very tough and demanding.

“The weather was extremely hot, with near 100-percent humidity, which tested the riders’ physical strength and endurance,” Bigelow said. “Riders ages 4 to 50-plus vied for national championships and top specialty awards from the AMA.”

The AMA Motocross Horizon Award, captured by Bloss, is given to the rider who shows the most promise heading into the professional ranks. Bloss won the Open Pro Sport class and finished third overall in the 450 A class.

“I definitely was not expecting it, but it feels amazing to be added to the list of names of people that have been given the award,” Bloss said. “It’s crazy to think that I’m on that list now.”

Bloss said the track conditions were the best he had ever seen and that he was able to have a great week by being consistent.

Bloss will immediately turn pro, competing at an upcoming round of the AMA Pro Motocross Championship.

“I’m feeling really, really excited,” Bloss said. “I will be riding for River Yamaha, and I think it will be a really fun experience.”

The AMA Motocross Amateur Rider of the Year Award was clinched by Austin Forkner of Richards, Mo., who claimed the 250 B and Schoolboy 2 (13-16) B/C championships on his Kawasaki. The award recognizes an outstanding non-A-class rider at the event.

Forkner was signed to the Monster Energy/Pro Circuit/Kawasaki team following the event, although he will continue to race for Monster Energy Kawasaki Team Green until the start of the 2016 AMA Pro Motocross season.

The AMA Motocross Youth Rider of the Year Award was won by Jett Reynolds of Bakersfield, Calif., who swept all six motos in 85cc (9-11) and 85cc (9-11) Limited on his Kawasaki. The award is presented to a rider under 16 years old.

Sebastian Tortelli of La Jolla, Calif., won the AMA Motocross Vet/Senior Rider of the Year Award, based on his performance in the vet classes. Tortelli — a two-time FIM World Motocross Champion — took the Vet 35+ championship and took second in the Junior 25+ class aboard his Yamaha.

Another notable accomplishment came from last year’s AMA Motocross Amateur Rider of the Year, Tristan Charboneau, who set the fastest lap time of the week at 1:53.547.

Below are the 38 AMA National Champions crowned at the event:

Open Pro Sport: Benny Bloss

250 A: Mitchell Harrison

250 B Limited: Joey Crown

250 B: Austin Forkner

250 C Limited: Sam Franklin

250 C (12-16) Limited: Levi Newby

250 C: Sam Franklin

450 A: Bradley Taft

450 B Limited: Brandon Hartranft

450 B: Jon Ames

450 C: Dylan Gillespie

Two-Stroke (16+): Justin Cooper

College (16-24): Justin Cooper

Junior 25+: Ricky Renner

Vet 30+: Paul Perebijnos

Vet 35+: Sebastian Tortelli

Senior 40+: Douglas Flinner

Senior 45+: John Grewe

Masters 50+: Earl May

51cc (4-6) Special Limited: Emile Lacher

51cc (4-6) Shaft Drive Limited: Canyon Richards

51cc (4-6) Limited: William Canaguier III

51cc (5-7) Limited: Casey Cochran

65cc (7-9) Limited: Ryder Difrancesco

65cc (10-11) Limited: Maximus Vohland

65cc (7-11): Matthew LeBlanc

85cc (9-11) Limited: Jett Reynolds

85cc (9-11): Jett Reynolds

Mini Senior 1 (12-13): Carson Mumford

Mini Senior 2 (12-14): Pierce Brown

Super Mini 1 (12-15): Garret Marchbanks

Super Mini 2 (13-16): Garret Marchbanks

Schoolboy 1 (12-16) B/C: Marco Cannella

Schoolboy 2 (13-16) B/C: Austin Forkner

Girls Senior (12-16): Hannah Hodges

Girls Junior (9-13): Jazzmyn Canfield

Women (16+) All-Star: Mackenzie Tricker

Women (14+): Gracie Van Horn

Complete results from the 2015 AMA Amateur National Motocross Championship can be found at

For more information about the event, see For more information about AMA-sanctioned competition, see

2021 Houston 3 Fantasy Supercross Tips (11 Fast Facts)

The 2021 Monster Energy Supercross Championship Series is off to a mind-boggling start. The playing field is so level that the bubble is right...

2021 Harley-Davidson Street Bob 114 First Look (6 Fast Facts)

When the Softail Standard was released last year and functionally the same motorcycle as the Street Bob, we knew something had to be afoot...

2021 Harley-Davidson Road King Special First Look: Hot Rod Bagger

The 2021 Harley-Davidson Road King Special is a Touring model that The Motor Company puts in a sub-category—Hot Rod Bagger. To earn that title,...

2021 Honda CRF300L and CRF300L Rally Coming To America

We told you all about the new 2021 Honda CRF300L and CRF300L Rally last month. Although we fully expected the pair to be imported...

2021 Harley-Davidson Fat Boy 114 First Look (Specs, Photos, Prices)

The distinctive Harley-Davidson Fat Boy is back for 2021, with the Milwaukee-Eight 114 powerplant and machined solid cast aluminum Lakester wheels. We tested the...

2021 Husqvarna 701 Lineup First Look (6 Fast Facts + Photos)

There are two 2021 Husqvarna 701 motorcycles to choose from—the Enduro and the Supermoto. Although they are closely related, with the same frame and...