Motorcycle Racing News MotoAmerica 2015 Barber MotoAmerica Supersport Results | Beach Doubles

2015 Barber MotoAmerica Supersport Results | Beach Doubles

2015 Barber MotoAmerica Supersport Results

2015 Barber MotoAmerica Supersport Results | Beach Doubles
Yamaha’s JD Beach Leads

The story of Yamalube/Y.E.S./Graves Yamaha’s JD Beach continues – and this story is one of complete domination.

Beach doubled at round five of 2015 MotoAmerica Supersport at Barber Motorsports Park in Birmingham, Ala., becoming the first rider to earn four – then five – wins of the season.

But it wasn’t only Beach who was riding with a fervor during 2015 Barber MotoAmerica Supersport; Sunday’s race two was a carbon copy of Saturday’s race one. Wheels in Motion/ Motorsports’s Josh Herrin – an AMA SuperBike Champion – and Latus Motors Triumph’s Bobby Fong, respectively, joined Beach on the podium in both Supersport races.

In the opening race, Beach took the win by a mere 0.269 of a second over Herrin. In the second race, Beach took Herrin by 0.504 of a second.

2015 Barber MotoAmerica Supersport Results | Beach Doubles ahead of Herrin and Fong“I’m extremely excited,” Beach says. “All of these guys have been riding so hard. I think we took it up another level from last year and to get five wins is amazing and I’ve had a little bit of luck on my side as well. You can tell by the races that it could go either way.

“At every single race there has been a pack battling every time. I just worked really hard this winter and my team definitely did their part and it just makes it easier for me to spend the days outside on my bicycle when it’s 80 or 90 degrees out. I’ve just been working extremely hard and to finally have all of this work starting to pay off is awesome.”

The tight racing action continued also in the Bazzaz Superstock 600 class. In Saturday’s race one, Wheels In Motion/ Motorsports Yamaha’s Joe Roberts beat his rival Richie Escalante (Yamaha) by a mere 0.284 of a second. Earning third in race one was yet another Yamaha YZF-R6 pilot Jason Aquilar.

In Sunday’s race two, Roberts did it again, earning his sixth win of the season. This time he had more of gap over the second-placed rider – Tuned Racing Yamaha’s Bryce Prince. Escalante earned another podium with third, allowing Yamaha YZF-R6 sportbikes to once again dominate the podium.

Roberts now leads Escalante by 20 points, 170-150. Travis Wyman is third with 133 points.

“I tried to be consistent in the low 29s,” Roberts said. “We were a bit off the qualifying pace, but it’s so hot out and the tires weren’t really hooking up as they were in the qualifying so low 29s I thought was a good pace. I just held out and brought it home for the victory.”

MotoAmerica now breaks for two weeks before heading to Miller Motorsports Park in Utah.

2015 Barber MotoAmerica Supersport Results | Joe Roberts in Supersport
Yamaha’s Joe Roberts leads

2015 Barber MotoAmerica Supersport Results, Race 1: 1. JD Beach (Yamaha); 2. Josh Herrin (Yamaha); 3. Bobby Fong (Triumph); 4. Garrett Gerloff (Yamaha); 5. Tomas Puerta (Yamaha); 6. David Anthony (Suzuki); 7. Cameron Petersen (Yamaha); 8. Ben Young (Yamaha); 9. Kaleb De Keyrel (Yamaha); 10. Hayden Gillim (MV Agusta).

2015 Barber MotoAmerica Supersport Results, Race 2: 1. JD Beach (Yamaha); 2. Josh Herrin (Yamaha); 3. Bobby Fong (Triumph); 4. Garrett Gerloff (Yamaha); 5. David Anthony (Suzuki); 6. Tomas Puerta (Yamaha); 7. Cameron Petersen (Yamaha); 8. Kyle Wyman (Yamaha); 9. Ben Young (Yamaha); 10. Hayden Gillim (MV Agusta).

Superstock 600, Race 1: 1. Joe Roberts (Yamaha); 2. Richie Escalante (Yamaha); 3. Jason Aguilar (Yamaha); 4. Wyatt Farris (Yamaha); 5. Nick McFadden (Suzuki); 6. Michael Gilbert (Yamaha); 7. Travis Wyman (Yamaha); 8. Curtis Murray (Suzuki); 9. Ryan Jones (Kawasaki); 10. Christian Crosslin (Yamaha).

Superstock 600, Race 2: 1. Joe Roberts (Yamaha); 2. Bryce Prince (Yamaha); 3. Richie Escalante (Yamaha); 4. Jason Aguilar (Yamaha); 5. Travis Wyman (Yamaha); 6. Michael Gilbert (Yamaha); 7. Curtis Murray (Suzuki); 8. Christian Crosslin (Yamaha); 9. Andy DiBrino (Yamaha); 10. Nick McFadden (Suzuki).

2021 BMW K 1600 GTL First Look (7 Fast Facts from European Sources)

The flagship of BMW tourers—the 2021 BMW K 1600 GTL—has a few deviations from last year. There’s nothing huge, though there are new colors,...

2021 Jack Daniel’s Limited Edition Indian Roadmaster Dark Horse [Debut]

The partnership between Jack Daniel Distillery and Indian Motorcycle continues with the 2021 Jack Daniel’s Limited Edition Roadmaster Dark Horse. As has been done...

Suzuki MX-Tuner 2.0 First Look: Aggressive, Smoother, Richer, and Leaner

Owners of late-model RM-Z motocrossers will rejoice the news of the all-new Suzuki MX-Tuner 2.0 tuning system for their motorcycles. The new system features...

2021 BMW S 1000 XR First Look (5 Fast Facts From Europe)

We just got through testing the BMW S 1000 XR, and now we’re looking at the 2021. Our European sources tell us that there...

Yamaha YDX-Moro and YDX-Moro Pro First Looks (13 Fast Facts)

Yamaha continues to expand its pedal-assist electric bicycle range with the new YDX-Moro and YDX-Moro Pro. Both are designed as off-road capable two-wheelers that...

MV Agusta and Akrapovič Partner: New Exhaust Systems Coming

Italy’s legendary MV Agusta and Slovenia’s celebrated Akrapovič are partnering to create new exhaust systems for MV Agusta motorcycles. Both MV Agusta and Akrapovič...