2015 Daytona Supercross Preview | KTM Riders Lead

2015 Daytona Supercross Preview | KTM Riders Lead
KTM's Ryan Dungey

The Monster Energy Supercross series heads farther south to Daytona Beach, Fla., for round 10 of the 17-round series. With the race being held at Daytona International Speedway, the track always features a unique design combining Supercross style jumps with an outdoor style layout.

Heading into 2015 Daytona Supercross, the Red Bull KTM teammates of Ryan Dungey and Marvin Musquin carry the momentum in the 450SX and 250SX classes, respectively. They each hold the points lead and red plates in their respective classes, and are each coming off of wins at last weekend’s Atlanta II SX.

Dungey finished third during last year’s race at Daytona behind Ken Roczen and Ryan Villopoto. Dungey will be looking to improve on last year’s result and further extend his points lead.

GEICO Honda’s Eli Tomac is fresh off a second-place performance at Atlanta II. The Colorado natives up and down season has been exploited with a win and several crashes. Tomac won the 250 Motocross championship in 2013, and is therefore no stranger to the outdoor style tracks by any means. Coming off a solid finish the previous weekend and utilizing his speed on the outdoor style tracks could propel him to his second 450SX victory of the 2015 season and his career.

Team Honda’s Trey Canard has been fairly consistent all year long with several podium finishes to his credit. It has paid off for him as he sits second place in the point standings.

However, the points deficit currently sits at 30 between himself and series leader, Dungey. Nonetheless, the factory Honda rider needs to get a win this weekend to gain some valuable points in the championship and further boost his confidence. Canard has the speed to win, but he will need a great start to get the job done, especially on a track as grueling as Daytona.

Another 450SX racer to watch out for in Daytona is Yoshimura Suzuki Factory Racing’s Blake Baggett. The 450SX class rookie is coming off a strong fifth place performance at Atlanta 2. On top of that, he won this race in the 250SX class last year and won the 2012 250MX championship. With an incredible amount of outdoor skill, speed, and momentum from the previous weekend, Baggett could be a dark horse to finish on the podium or perhaps take his first 450SX win of his young career at the inaugural Daytona race.

In the 250SX class, Yamalube/Star Racing/Yamaha’s Jeremy Martin comes into Daytona with a win at Atlanta I and a second place finish at Atlanta II. As the reigning 250MX champion, Martin is arguably the favorite to win in Daytona as the track features several outdoor style sections. He will be looking to take the win and close the seven point gap between himself and series leader, Marvin Musquin.

GEICO Honda’s Justin Bogle has yet to reach the top of the podium in the three rounds so far this season. However, the reigning champ has been consistent with a second place and two third-place finishes to his credit. However, he will need to start wracking up some wins as he sits a full 10 points behind Musquin in the point standings. Daytona may be the perfect race for him to card his first victory of the season.

2015 Daytona Supercross on TV:

Fox Sports 1 will broadcast 2015 Daytona Supercross at 7 p.m. ET Saturday, March 7.

2015 450SX Class Season Standings after nine of 18 rounds:

1. Ryan Dungey, Belle Plaine, MN, KTM, 199

2. Trey Canard, Edmond, OK, Honda, 169

3. Ken Roczen, Clermont, FL, Suzuki, 156

4. Eli Tomac, Cortez, CO, Honda, 137

5. Jason Anderson, Edgewood, NM, Husqvarna, 126

6. Chad Reed, Dade City, FL, Kawasaki, 124

7. Cole Seely, Laguna Beach, CA, Honda, 120

8. Blake Baggett, Grand Terrace, CA, Suzuki, 115

9. Andrew Short, Smithville, TX, KTM, 100

10. Broc Tickle, Holly, MI, Suzuki, 96

2015 250SX Class Season Standings after three of nine rounds:

1. Marvin Musquin, Corona, CA, KTM, 72

2. Jeremy Martin, Millville, MN, Yamaha, 65

3. Justin Bogle, Cushing, OK, Honda, 62

4. Joey Savatgy, Thomasville, GA, Kawasaki, 54

5. Martin Davalos, Corona, CA, Husqvarna, 45

6. Matt Lemoine, Pilot Point, TX, Kawasaki, 39

7. Vince Friese, Cape Girardeau, MO, Honda, 38

8. Arnaud Tonus, Aire-la-Ville, Switzerland, Kawasaki, 38

9. RJ Hampshire, Hudson, FL, Honda, Honda, 38

10. Anthony Rodriguez, Cairo, GA, Yamaha, 34