Suzuki’s James Stewart Captures Monster Energy Cup

Yoshimura Suzuki's James Stewart at 2013 Monster Energy Cup
Yoshimura Suzuki's James Stewart at 2013 Monster Energy Cup
Yoshimura Suzuki’s James Stewart at 2013 Monster Energy Cup

2013 Monster Energy Cup Results

With a 8-1-1 finish, Yoshimura Suzuki’s James Stewart captured the third annual Monster Energy Cup, a race where a $1 million can be earned if all three main events are won.

Due to injury in the last two years, the two-time AMA Supercross Champion was not able to participate. But at this year’s Monster Energy Cup, which was held before nearly 34,000 fans at Sam Boyd Stadium, the Floridian was able to regain his rhythm in the second and third races to capture the 2013 Monster Energy Cup title, and also $100,000.

Taking third overall following the action on the track designed by Ricky Carmichael was Red Bull KTM’s Ryan Dungey (6-3-2) and yet another Red Bull KTM rider Ken Roczen (4-4-4), respectively.

Following are recaps of each Monster Energy Cup race:

Main Event #1

Monster Energy Kawasaki’s Ryan Villopoto, who won the 2011 Monster Energy Cup after a 1-1-1 finish to earn $1 million, raced to the Toyota Holeshot Award in Main Event #1 edging out Dungey.

Monster Energy Kawasaki’s Jake Weimer and Dean Wilson followed in third and fourth respectively. Red Bull KTM’s Marvin Musquin moved into third place after moving past Wilson and Weimer. On Lap 9, Villopoto rode through the Joker Lane, a rugged sand section that the riders have to pass through at least once in each Main Event, and Dungey moved into the lead.

Heading into the final lap, Dungey failed to ride through the Joker Lane and was assessed a five-position penalty, which gave him sixth place. Villopoto earned the win with Musquin in second and Weimer in third.

Ryan Villopoto (Monster Energy Kawasaki KX-F 450) says: “It is definitely a chance (to win the $1 million). I still need to get two more good starts and it’s not going to be easy. “On the last lap, I thought he (Dungey) had already rode through the Joke Lane, but, apparently, he did not.”

Main Event #2

In Main Event #2, Stewart out-raced Villopoto through the Toyota Holeshot and set the stage for an epic 10-lap race. Dungey moved into the number-three position through turn one but was passed by defending Monster Energy Cup Champion Justin Barcia.

Red Bull KTM’s Ken Roczen passed Dungey on Lap 2 as the battle up front between Stewart and Villopoto ensued. On Laps 5 and 8, the two traded places. Stewart protected his lead and rode to his first-ever Main Event win at the Monster Energy Cup. Villopoto, who did not go through the Joker Lane, crashed on the last lap and was unable to finish the race. Barcia finished second and Dungey finished third.

Main Event #3

After finishing fourth in the first two Main Events, Roczen won the Toyota Holeshot in Main Event #3. Stewart made quick work of Dungey for the number-two position. On Lap 4, Stewart passed Roczen for the lead and rode to victory. Dungey finished second and GIECO Honda’s Eli Tomac finished third.

James Stewart (Yoshimura Suzuki RM-Z 450 Motocross) says: “You don’t understand how special this is for me. I am speechless right now; this is a huge win for me and I am pretty damn happy. I know we are making the right steps to get our program to where it needs to be.”

2013 Super Mini Class Recap

Austin Forkner rocketed to the Toyota Holeshot Award in the opening Main Event. Yamaha’s Casey Keast went through turn one in second place before being passed by KTM’s Mitchell Falk. Forkner won the race with Falk and Yamaha’s Chase Sexton finishing second and third respectively.

Coming into Main Event #2, Forkner once again earned the Toyota Holeshot as KTM’s Brock Papi followed closely in second. Yamaha’s Robbie Wageman moved into second place on the opening lap. Mosiman assumed the number-three position on Lap 2 and the following lap moved into second place. On the same lap, Sexton moved into third place, where he finished. Forkner won the Main Event and Mosiman finished third.

Austin Forkner says: “The triple was the toughest part of tonight’s track. Once again I had a great start and started to build a gap. This is a really cool race, and it was awesome to race in front of this huge crowd.”

Amatuer All-Stars Class Recap

R.J. Hampshire won the Toyota Holeshot Award in Main Event #1 of the Amateur All-Stars race with Honda’s Jace Owen on his back wheel through turn one. Honda’s Jordan Smith worked his way around Owen on Lap 2 and set chase to Hampshire. During Smith’s last-lap charge, he crashed with one turn to go and the checkered flag went to Hampshire. Yamaha’s Paul Coates finished second and Yamaha’s Keith Tucker finished third.

Kawasaki’s Darian Sanayei won the Toyota Holeshot Award to start the second Main Event. After starting in second place, Smith moved into the lead on Lap 2 and rode to his first win of the night. Sanayei finished second and Hampshire finished third.

R.J. Hampshire says: “I am stoked about this race. This race is on national television and to win in front of a huge fan base is a major accomplishment for me.”

The Dirt Shark Biggest Whip contest presented by Nuclear Cowboyz hosted a seven-rider prizefight for the $15,000 purse. After earning his spot in the Main Event through the afternoon qualifying session, Tom Parsons earned the lion’s share of the prize money, followed by Edgar Torronteras and Jarryd McNeil.

Monster Energy Cup Class Overall Results:
1. James Stewart, Haines City, Fla., Suzuki (8-1-1)
2. Ryan Dungey, Bell Plaine, Minn., KTM (6-3-2)
3. Ken Roczen, Murrieta, Calif., KTM (4-4-4)
4. Eli Tomac, Cortez, Colo., Honda (5-6-3)
5. Marvin Musquin, Corona, Calif., KTM (2-9-8)
6. Cole Seely, Murrieta, Calif., Honda (13-7-5)
7. Broc Tickle, Holly, Mich., Suzuki (10-8-9)
8. Justin Barcia, Pinetta, Fla., Honda (7-2-18)
9. Dean Wilson, Wesley Chapel, Fla., Kawasaki (20-5-6)
10. Josh Grant, Corona, Calif., Yamaha (15-10-7)

Amateur All-Stars Class Overall Results:
1. RJ Hampshire, Hudson, Fla., Honda (1-3)
2. Zachary Commans, Camarillo, Calif., Kawasaki (5-4)
3. Jordon Smith, Belmont, N.C., Honda (9-1)
4. Mark Worth, Queen Creek, Ariz., Kawasaki (6-6)
5. Jace Owen, Mattoon, Ill., Honda (2-10)
6. Darian Sanayei, Monroe, Wash., Kawasaki (11-2)
7. Ryan Surratt, Corona, Calif., Yamaha (7-8)
8. Thomas Covington, Murrieta, Calif., Kawasaki (8-9)
9. Paul Coates, Cairo, Ga., Yamaha (3-15)
10. Keith Tucker, Fuquay Varina, N.C., Yamaha (4-18)

Super Mini Class Overall Results:
1. Austin Forkner, Richards, Mo, Kawasaki (1-1)
2. Chase Sexton, La Moille, Ill., Yamaha (3-3)
3. Michael Moisman, Sebastopol, Calif., Suzuki (7-2)
4. Robbie Wageman, Newhall, Calif., Yamaha (6-4)
5. Brock Papi, Mc Murray, Pa., KTM (5-6)
6. Casey Keast, Kelowna, BC, Yamaha (4-12)
7. Cameron Cannon, Anderson, S.C., Yamaha (10-8)
8. Bas Vaessen, Temecula, Calif., KTM (9-9)
9. Carson Brown, Ravensdale, Wash., KTM (13-7)
10. Mitchell Falk, Costa Mesa, Calif., KTM (2-21)

KTM Junior Supercross Class Overall Results:
1. Matthew Leblanc, Breaux Bridge, La., KTM
2. Jordan Biese, Appleton, Wis., KTM
3. Liam Everts, Limburg, Belgium, KTM
4. Slade Varola, Simi Valley, Calif., KTM
5. Tyler Blankenship, Bakersfield, Calif., KTM
6. Gavin Towers, Venetia, Pa., KTM
7. Syrus Butts, Goshen, Utah, KTM
8. Hamden Hudson, Danville, Va., KTM
9. Justin Stalling, Newark, Ohio, KTM
10. Austin Driggs, Duncan Falls, Ohio, KTM