Phillip Island Moto3 | KTM’s Salom Earns Pole

KTM Ajo's Luis Salom
KTM Ajo's Luis Salom
KTM Ajo’s Luis Salom

Phillip Island Moto3 Qualifying Results

Moto3 championship leader Luis Salom will start from pole position for the Tissot Australian Grand Prix at Phillip Island.

Joining the Red Bull KTM Ajo rider on the front row will be Jonas Folger and Efren Vazquez, with Salom’s championship rivals Maverick Viñales and Alex Rins fourth and fifth.

Pole for Salom is his fourth of the season and second in succession, ending of run of four different pole-sitters from the previous four events. It came in the form of 1’36.890, serving as a huge confidence boost as the Mallorcan already carries a 14-point lead over Rins and a 26-point margin over Viñales.

Despite being injured in a highside crash in the San Marino Grand Prix in mid-September, Folger continues to deliver solid performances and the Mapfre Aspar Team Moto3 rider will be lining up on the front row for the fourth time in 2013, whereas Mahindra Racing’s Vazquez went third on his final lap, just as teammate Miguel Oliveira crashed out of the session. On Row 2, Viñales (Team Calvo) and Rins (Estrella Galicia 0,0) may be required to work together should they hope to overhaul Salom at the forefront of the race.

In fact, Rins is sandwiched by the Viñales name on the second row, as Maverick’s elder cousin Isaac (Ongetta-Centro Seta) will line up sixth. Celebrating a career-best qualifying result, Team Calvo’s Ana Carrasco achieved seventh position to make it six Spaniards in the top seven places, joined on Row 3 by the crashed Oliveira and Ajo’s Zulfahmi Khairuddin, who escaped both a fall and a lurid off-track moment on the exit of the final corner.

Leading Australian representative Jack Miller will start tenth for Caretta Technology – RTG, with compatriot Arthur Sissis 16th for Ajo.

2013 Phillip Island Moto3 Qualifying Results:

Pos.Num.RiderNationTeamBikeKm/hTimeGap 1st/Prev.
139Luis SALOMSPARed Bull KTM AjoKTM244.31’36.890
294Jonas FOLGERGERMapfre Aspar Team Moto3Kalex KTM239.81’37.2680.378 / 0.378
37Efren VAZQUEZSPAMahindra RacingMahindra242.71’37.2920.402 / 0.024
425Maverick VIÑALESSPATeam CalvoKTM243.21’37.3610.471 / 0.069
542Alex RINSSPAEstrella Galicia 0,0KTM245.31’37.3820.492 / 0.021
632Isaac VIÑALESSPAOngetta-Centro SetaFTR Honda235.71’37.5430.653 / 0.161
722Ana CARRASCOSPATeam CalvoKTM245.21’37.5440.654 / 0.001
844Miguel OLIVEIRAPORMahindra RacingMahindra243.91’37.5530.663 / 0.009
963Zulfahmi KHAIRUDDINMALRed Bull KTM AjoKTM242.01’37.6850.795 / 0.132
108Jack MILLERAUSCaretta Technology – RTGFTR Honda244.01’37.7470.857 / 0.062
1110Alexis MASBOUFRAOngetta-RivacoldFTR Honda242.41’37.7740.884 / 0.027
1223Niccolò ANTONELLIITAGO&FUN Gresini Moto3FTR Honda240.41’37.8470.957 / 0.073
1312Alex MARQUEZSPAEstrella Galicia 0,0KTM245.51’37.8750.985 / 0.028
1484Jakub KORNFEILCZERedox RW Racing GPKalex KTM237.91’38.0741.184 / 0.199
1541Brad BINDERRSAAmbrogio RacingMahindra239.41’38.0771.187 / 0.003
1661Arthur SISSISAUSRed Bull KTM AjoKTM244.71’38.1111.221 / 0.034
175Romano FENATIITASan Carlo Team ItaliaFTR Honda240.51’38.1241.234 / 0.013
1889Alan TECHERFRACIP Moto3TSR Honda238.71’38.1641.274 / 0.040
1917John MCPHEEGBRCaretta Technology – RTGFTR Honda242.31’38.1821.292 / 0.018
2065Philipp OETTLGERInterwetten Paddock Moto3Kalex KTM241.21’38.2581.368 / 0.076
2131Niklas AJOFINAvant TecnoKTM242.31’38.3721.482 / 0.114
224Francesco BAGNAIAITASan Carlo Team ItaliaFTR Honda242.81’38.4881.598 / 0.116
2311Livio LOIBELMarc VDS Racing TeamKalex KTM243.81’38.6371.747 / 0.149
243Matteo FERRARIITAOngetta-Centro SetaFTR Honda239.41’38.7011.811 / 0.064
2553Jasper IWEMANEDRW Racing GPKalex KTM239.61’38.7531.863 / 0.052
2657Eric GRANADOBRAMapfre Aspar Team Moto3Kalex KTM241.31’38.8021.912 / 0.049
2743Luca GRUENWALDGERKiefer RacingKalex KTM240.31’38.8131.923 / 0.011
2877Lorenzo BALDASSARRIITAGO&FUN Gresini Moto3FTR Honda234.21’38.8351.945 / 0.022
299Toni FINSTERBUSCHGERKiefer RacingKalex KTM245.11’38.8922.002 / 0.057
3021Luca AMATOGERAmbrogio RacingMahindra239.71’39.2282.338 / 0.336
3158Juanfran GUEVARASPACIP Moto3TSR Honda238.71’39.2772.387 / 0.049
3229Hyuga WATANABEJPNLa Fonte TascaracingFTR Honda237.41’39.3502.460 / 0.073
3380Hafiq AZMIMALLa Fonte TascaracingFTR Honda236.61’40.9454.055 / 1.595
3475Lachlan KAVNEYAUSBullet RacingBullet231.51’43.4216.531 / 2.476
47Callum BARKERAUSBarker – McVey RacingHonda218.61’45.9499.059 / 2.528