Motorcycle Types Adventure / Dual-Sport 2013 Dakar Rally | KTM Video Highlights

2013 Dakar Rally | KTM Video Highlights

2013 Dakar Rally Video

By Tom Wera

Last weekend, the 2013 Dakar Rally, coined as the “world’s toughest race,” wrapped up.

And after 14 days and 5,000 miles of grueling conditions from Lima, Peru, to Santiago, Chile, Red Bull’s KTM Cyril Despres took the win. It would be his fifth Dakar title, adding to his others in 2005, 2007, 2010 and 2013.

The Frenchman Despres would take the win by almost 11 minutes ahead of his “water carrier” Ruben Faria (Portugal). Taking the final podium spot was yet another KTM rider, Chaleco Lopez.

And though one of KTM’s top riders was out due to injury – three-time Dakar winner Marc Coma – the Austrian manufacturer took the top-five overall positions.

KTM has been the dominate manufacturer at Dakar, winning the last 12 consecutive titles. Attached above is a video highlighting KTM’s performance at 2013 Dakar Rally.

2013 Dakar Rally Final Results after 14 stages and over 8,000 km from Lima, Peru to Santiago, Chile):

1. Despres KTM – wins fifth Dakar title; twelfth consecutive title for KTM

2. Faria KTM at 10.43

3. Chaleco Lopez, Chile, KTM at 18.48

4. Jakes, KTM at 23.54

5. Joan Pedrero, Spain, KTM at 55.29

Other KTM:

11 Jakub Przygonski, Poland, KTM at 1:33.59

13. Riaan Van Niekerk, South Africa KTM at 2:02.54

15. Ben Grabham, Australia, KTM at 2:45.14

16. Plan Anders Ullevalseter, Norway, KTM at 3:00.56

19. Henk Knuiman, Netherlands, KTM at 3:15.20

31. Caselli, KTM at 6:03.40

32. Curtis, KTM at 6:05.38

2021 Daytona Fantasy Supercross Tips (16 Fast Facts)

The Daytona Supercross is the midway point in the 2021 Monster Energy Supercross Championship Series. There are eight rounds in the book, and there...

BMW Motorrad International GS Trophy Comes To Europe For 2022

For the first time since its 2008 debut, the BMW Motorrad International GS Trophy competition will be held in Europe. Located above the northeast...

Ultimate Motorcycling Editor’s Letter, March 2021: Vive l’automatique!

Testing the 2021 Honda Rebel 1100 DCT for this issue reminded me of something fundamental—motorcycles need to be accessible to new riders. Although we’ve...

Lieback’s Lounge: FTR—The Savior From Winter Misery?

When I found myself cleaning the tire treads on my Multistrada 1200, I knew the winter madness had returned.

2022 Triumph Bonneville Speedmaster First Look: New Fork and More

The 2022 Triumph Bonneville Speedmaster gets a more responsive motor with additional midrange power from the vertical-twin 1200HT engine. The powerplant also meets Euro...

Avon Tyres + Blood Bikes = Motorcycles Saving Lives

We’ve all heard of blood banks, but this is the first time we have heard of blood bikes. Leicestershire & Rutland Blood Bikes is...