News KTM Dominates Power Line Park GNCC

KTM Dominates Power Line Park GNCC

2012 GNCC Series

Factory FMF/KTM riders Kailub Russell and Charlie Mullins topped the podium at the eleventh round of the GNCC Series held at Power Line Park finishing first and second respectively.

The overall win was a big boost for Russell who is now only four points behind Paul Whibley in the overall championship point standings.

Russell and Mullins both started the race inside the top three. By the end of the first lap both riders had passed Whibley and began to charge forward out front. After Whibley suffered a crash, it was just the two FMF/KTM teammates battling out front for the remainder of the three-hour endurance race.

On the final lap, Mullins was able to make a pass on Russell for the lead but made a mistake shortly after that allowed Russell to get back by. When the riders approached the finish line they were wheel to wheel. With a little extra gas, Russell was able to edge out his teammate to collect the win.

Antti Kallonen (FMF/KTM Team Manager) says: “We are very proud of both of our riders today. Mullins is still riding injured after hurting his shoulder at the ISDE and we are thrilled that he was able to give such an impressive performance today. Russell also rode strong all day and is very determined to keep his bike on the top step of the podium in the final two rounds. The points chase is very close and we expect it will come down to the wire.”

The Factory FMF/KTM Team had even more to celebrate this weekend after the reigning Women’s GNCC Champion, Maria Forsberg, won the women’s class but also took the overall in the morning class. This is the first time a female rider has won the overall in the morning class at a GNCC event.

Maria Forsberg says: “It feels great to get the overall win. It has been our goal since the beginning of the year and we have come so close a few times but finally got it today. It is always a good feeling to win your class but to lead the overall is an accomplishment I am very proud of.”

Next Event: Crawfordsville, IN – October 20-21, 2012

Power Line GNCC Overall Results XC1 Class:

  1. Kailub Russell – KTM
  2. Charlie Mullins – KTM
  3. Paul Whibley
  4. Thad Duvall
  5. Rory Mead – KTM
  6. Takeshi Koikeda – KTM
  7. Garrett Edmisten
  8. Jordan Ashburn
  9. Jimmy Jarrett
  10. Nathan Kanney

Power Line GNCC Overall Results XC2 Class:

  1. Jason Thomas – KTM
  2. Aaron Plessinger
  3. Andrew Delong
  4. Scott Grills
  5. Steward Baylor – KTM
  6. Jedediah Haines
  7. Christopher Douglas – KTM
  8. Zach Nolan – KTM
  9. AJ Stewart
  10. Ryan Lojak

Power Line GNCC Overall Results Women’s Class:

  1. Maria Forsberg – KTM
  2. Becca Sheets
  3. Samantha Steiner – KTM
  4. Sarah Baldwin – KTM
  5. Leann Bange

Overall Point Standings XC1 Class:

  1. Paul Whibley – 274
  2. Kailub Russell – 270
  3. Rory Mead – 205

Overall Point Standings XC2 Class:

  1. Jason Thomas – 241
  2. Steward Baylor – 237
  3. Andrew Delong – 229

Overall Point Standings Women’s Class:

  1. Maria Forsberg – 180 *Champion
  2. Hannah Otto – 153
  3. Becca Sheets – 146

Ron Lieback
Ron Lieback
One of the few moto journalists based on the East Coast, Ron Lieback joined the motorcycle industry as a freelancer in 2007, and is currently Online Editor at Ultimate Motorcycling. He is also the author of "365 to Vision: Modern Writer's Guide (How to Produce More Quality Writing in Less Time).

Breitling Top Time Deus Limited Edition Watch First Look

“Bikers, boarders, surfers, digital nomads,” Breitling CEO George Kerns observes, “this is a timepiece for dynamic people of action, purpose, and style. Our versatile...

86 Gear Motorcycles Yamaha XT630 Supermoto: Restomod Special

Sometimes the route to a custom build is a short one. An idea pops into a builder's head, and the process begins. Other times,...

Honda, KTM, Piaggio, and Yamaha Sign E-Motorcycle Battery Agreement

Get ready for the Swappable Batteries Consortium for Motorcycles and Light Electric Vehicles made up of Honda, KTM, Piaggio, and Yamaha. The goal is...

Laurin & Klement Slavia B – The Birth of Škoda Motorsports 120 Years Ago

Czechs Václav Laurin and Václav Klement founded their bicycle manufacturing company in Mladá Boleslav, Bohemia, in 1895. The company, Laurin & Klement, started a...

2021 Daytona Fantasy Supercross Tips (16 Fast Facts)

The Daytona Supercross is the midway point in the 2021 Monster Energy Supercross Championship Series. There are eight rounds in the book, and there...

BMW Motorrad International GS Trophy Comes To Europe For 2022

For the first time since its 2008 debut, the BMW Motorrad International GS Trophy competition will be held in Europe. Located above the northeast...