Macau GP: Rutter, 7th Win on Pirelli


2011 Macau Motorcycle Grand Prix

The prestigious Macau Grand Prix occurred Sunday, and by the race's end a name very familiar with the East Asian event entered the history books - Michael Rutter.

The Riders Ducati rider took his seventh Macau GP win, and his fourth consecutive using Pirelli tires; his previous three wins happened on Honda and Kawasaki motorcycles with Stuart Easton.

But it was the 2011 Macau Grand Prix that secured Rutter's name as the most prolific winner of the event, an honor previously held by Ron Haslam. Rutter's teammate this year was Martin Jessopp, who finished second.

Pirelli says heavy rain forced the race to be held a day later than planned and was run between the WTCC and Formula 3 races, therefore guaranteeing great exposure for motorcycling and all associated brands in the important Asian market.

Michael Rutter (Riders Ducati) says: "I'm over the moon to get this seventh win and I've got to say the tires were absolutely faultless throughout the race with consistent grip and great stability."

Martin Jessopp (Riders Ducati) says: "The tires were mint from lap one, no slides and they stayed consistent throughout with great handling stability."

Rutter and Jessopp utilized Pirelli Diablo Superbike (SC2 compound) front slicks from their standard customer range, paired with a rear from Pirelli's TT and ‘road racing' development programme. The two riders reigned supreme at the Armco lined circuit made all the more treacherous after the rain and oil from car race incidents. The race was shortened to 10 laps with a track temperature of 30C and ambient of 26C, Pirelli says.

Jason Griffiths (Pirelli UK Racing Manager) says: "Thanks to Michael, Martin and of course Phil Jessopp and the entire Riders Ducati team. A terrific result and Pirelli are proud to have helped Michael to this very special win. We're extremely pleased by the performance of our Diablo Superbike slicks here. The riders were confident in the performance of the material even with the limited track time they had for set up."

2011 Macau GP results:

  1. M. Rutter - PIRELLI
  2. M. Jessopp - PIRELLI
  3. I. Hutchinson
  4. J. Toye (USA)
  5. G. Johnson - PIRELLI

Fastest Lap - M. Rutter 2.25.456


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.