Motorcycle Types Adventure / Dual-Sport 2011 Loket FIM Motocross: MX1 Results

2011 Loket FIM Motocross: MX1 Results


2011 FIM Motocross

Rockstar Energy Suzuki World Motocross MX1’s Clement Desalle obtained his fourth GP win of the season Sunday, taking the Casino Bonver GP of the Czech Republic in Loket. This was his first overall win after he injured his shoulder in the Belgian Championship and his finger later on during a GP.

The Belgian has the same GP victories as Cairoli, but he is 48 points behind the Italian leader in 2011 FIM Motocross MX1.

Red Bull Teka KTM Factory Racing MX1’s Cairoli obtained the Lovemytime Holeshot Award in the first heat and managed to dominate it until the chequered MX1 flag. In the second one, he did not have that good start and had to push really hard from an initial sixth position. By the end of the second heat, Cairoli overtook Pourcel and Nagl and finished fourth, which gave him the final second overall position at Loket FIM Motocross.

After missing the MX1 podium in Lommel due to a mechanical problem in the last lap, Honda World Motocross’ Goncalves obtained his maiden MX1 podium of his career, finishing third ahead of Leok and Nagl. Goncalves finished third in both heats and he admitted that he is ready to be back on the podium in the upcoming GP.

TM Racing Factory’s Leok, who was third last year in Loket, finished 12th in the first FIM Motocross MX1 heat, but he took the holeshot in the second one and led the race during the first ten laps. Desalle overtook the Estonian when there were 13 minutes to go, but Leok kept the second position until the end and finished fourth overall.

Red Bull Teka KTM Factory Racing FIM Motocross MX1’s Nagl, winner of Saturday’s MX1 qualifying race, could not repeat his victory today and had to settle down with an overall fifth position. After obtaining a seventh place in the first heat, Nagl managed to ride fourth most of the second race, but with two laps to go, the German was overtaken by Cairoli and Pourcel and ended seventh.

Strijbos got consistent weekend on his first ride for the Rockstar Energy Suzuki World MX1, obtaining a final sixth position, thanks to his 6-8 result. The seventh overall place was for Boog, who got a really good start in the second race, but could not keep his initial fourth position and ended seventh.

Frossard finished fifth in the first FIM Motocross MX1 heat, but in the second one Cairoli landed on him during the opening lap and he was down to the 25th position. Frossard did all his best and managed to cross the finish line 12th, which gave him a final eighth position.

Ninth was Pourcel, who was able to battle again against Cairoli during the second heat, finishing fifth behind the Italian. Barragán completed the top ten.

For Evgeny Bobryshev it was a weekend to forget; after a fourth position in the first race, he got a DNF in the second one, as he had to pull out after crashing at the start and also later on during the second lap.

Loket FIM Motocross MX1 Race 1 top 10: 1. Antonio Cairoli (ITA, KTM), 40:32.283; 2. Clement Desalle (BEL, Suzuki), +0:05.506; 3. Rui Goncalves (POR, Honda), +0:06.272; 4. Evgeny Bobryshev (RUS, Honda), +0:07.172; 5. Steven Frossard (FRA, Yamaha), +0:08.098; 6. Kevin Strijbos (BEL, Suzuki), +0:11.839; 7. Maximilian Nagl (GER, KTM), +0:13.689; 8. Xavier Boog (FRA, Kawasaki), +0:30.589; 9. Davide Guarneri (ITA, Kawasaki), +0:35.142; 10. Shaun Simpson (GBR, Honda), +0:56.943;

Loket FIM Motocross MX1 Race 2 top 10: 1. Clement Desalle (BEL, Suzuki), 40:06.261; 2. Tanel Leok (EST, TM), +0:03.847; 3. Rui Goncalves (POR, Honda), +0:05.500; 4. Antonio Cairoli (ITA, KTM), +0:07.409; 5. Christophe Pourcel (FRA, Kawasaki), +0:08.391; 6. Maximilian Nagl (GER, KTM), +0:10.341; 7. Xavier Boog (FRA, Kawasaki), +0:19.581; 8. Kevin Strijbos (BEL, Suzuki), +0:21.471; 9. Ken de Dycker (BEL, Honda), +0:48.590; 10. Jonathan Barragan (ESP, Kawasaki), +0:54.398;

FIM Motocross MX1 Overall top 10: 1. Clement Desalle (BEL, Suzuki), 47 points; 2. Antonio Cairoli (ITA, KTM), 43 p.; 3. Rui Goncalves (POR, Honda), 40 p.; 4. Tanel Leok (EST, TM), 31 p.; 5. Maximilian Nagl (GER, KTM), 29 p.; 6. Kevin Strijbos (BEL, Suzuki), 28 p.; 7. Xavier Boog (FRA, Kawasaki), 27 p.; 8. Steven Frossard (FRA, Yamaha), 25 p.; 9. Christophe Pourcel (FRA, Kawasaki), 24 p.; 10. Jonathan Barragan (ESP, Kawasaki), 21 p.;

FIM Motocross MX1 Championship top 10: 1. Antonio Cairoli (ITA, KTM), 509 points; 2. Clement Desalle (BEL, Suzuki), 461 p.; 3. Steven Frossard (FRA, Yamaha), 428 p.; 4. Evgeny Bobryshev (RUS, Honda), 387 p.; 5. Maximilian Nagl (GER, KTM), 378 p.; 6. Rui Goncalves (POR, Honda), 349 p.; 7. David Philippaerts (ITA, Yamaha), 308 p.; 8. Ken de Dycker (BEL, Honda), 268 p.; 9. Xavier Boog (FRA, Kawasaki), 262 p.; 10. Jonathan Barragan (ESP, Kawasaki), 254 p.;

FIM Motocross MX1 Manufacturers: 1. KTM, 534 points; 2. Yamaha, 473 p.; 3. Suzuki, 471 p.; 4. Honda, 435 p.; 5. Kawasaki, 328 p.; 6. TM, 229 p.; 7. Aprilia, 9 p.

Ron Lieback
Ron Lieback
One of the few moto journalists based on the East Coast, Ron Lieback joined the motorcycle industry as a freelancer in 2007, and is currently Online Editor at Ultimate Motorcycling. He is also the author of "365 to Vision: Modern Writer's Guide (How to Produce More Quality Writing in Less Time).

2021 KTM 350 XC-F Kailub Russell Edition First Look (12 Fast Facts)

KTM continues its tradition of special edition motorcycles to honor championship-winning riders. The good news is that buyers get a chance to own a...

2021 BMW R 18 Classic First Look: Touring Motorcycle (9 Fast Facts)

Hot on the heels of the 2021 BMW R 18 First Edition comes the 2021 BMW R 18 Classic. BMW goes for the touring...

2021 Yamaha YZ250F Review (13 First Ride Fast Facts)

We rode the new, upgraded 2021 Yamaha YZ250F at Glen Helen Raceway for a first ride impression. We were fans of the previous YZ250F, so...

2021 Monster Energy Supercross Schedule (Super Tuesdays and more)

The 2021 Monster Energy Supercross schedule is now public. Due to the government responses to the COVID-19 pandemic, the schedule is unlike any seen...

2021 Yamaha MT-09 First Look and All-New (18 Fast Facts)

All-new from the ground-up this year, the 2021 Yamaha MT-09 gets a new motor and chassis, along with a full suite of electronics. Let's...

2020 Yamaha Super Ténéré 1200 ES Adventure-Touring Test

The Yamaha Super Ténéré story begins with the TT500 off-road enduro machine released in 1975, and the XT500 dual-sport model the following year. These...