News World Supersport: Phillip Island Results

World Supersport: Phillip Island Results

World Supersport

Yamaha ParkinGo rider Luca Scassa made it a day to remember this afternoon, enjoying an adrenalin filled battle in the top five for the duration of the World Supersport race.

The Italian World Supersport rookie made good use of the R6’s superior performance to charge through the pack, leading for some laps before dropping back again. He then passed Brok Parkes (Kawasaki Motocard ZX-6R) on the final straight for a photo finish, claiming victory by just 0.009 seconds.

Finishing third was Sam Lowes on the Parkalgar Honda CBR 600 RR.

Scassa’s teammate Chas Davies had a less fortunate afternoon. Having found a perfect setup for the Phillip Island circuit, Davies had been in contention for the podium for the majority of the race, fighting alternate for second and third position until a flat tire forced early retirement on lap 18.

Scassa heads to the next round at Donington in the UK leading the championship with a full 25 points, teammate Davies goes keen to get off the points mark and catch up to his Italian stablemate.

Today’s victory marks the first race for the officially supported Yamaha R6 since it won the World championship in 2009 with Cal Crutchlow. An impressive result for the Yamaha ParkinGO Team considering the collaboration with Yamaha was started just six weeks ago.

2011 World Supersport: Phillip Island Results
1. Luca Scassa (Yamaha ParkinGO Team) Yamaha YZF R6 33’34.739
2. Broc Parkes (Kawasaki Kawasaki ZX-6R 33’34.748
3. Sam Lowes (Parkalgar Honda) Honda CBR600RR 33’34.772
4. David Salom (Kawasaki Kawasaki ZX-6R 33’35.011
5. Robbin Harms (Harms Benjan Racing Team) Honda CBR600RR 33’51.708
6. James Ellison (Bogdanka PTR Honda) Honda CBR600RR 33’58.682
7. Florian Marino (Hannspree Ten Kate Honda) Honda CBR600RR 34’06.527
8. Vittorio Iannuzzo (Lorenzini by Leoni) Kawasaki ZX-6R 34’06.576
9. Alexander Lundh (Cresto Guide Racing Team) Honda CBR600RR 34’06.609
10. Danilo Dell’Omo (Suriano Racing Team) Triumph Daytona 675 34’07.556
11. Ronan Quarmby (Suriano Racing Team) Triumph Daytona 675 34’18.538
12. Ondrej Jezek (SMS Racing) Honda CBR600RR 34’30.855
13. Bastien Chesaux (MACH Racing) Honda CBR600RR 34’34.794
14. Balazs Nemeth (Team Hungary Toth) Honda CBR600RR 34’40.738
15. Imre Toth (Team Hungary Toth) Honda CBR600RR 34’41.057
16. Vladimir Ivanov (Step Racing Team) Honda CBR600RR 34’49.211
17. Marko Jerman (MD Team Jerman) Triumph Daytona 675 34’58.922
18. Chaz Davies (Yamaha ParkinGO Team) Yamaha YZF R6 33’49.402
19. Luca Marconi (Bike Service R.T.) Yamaha YZF R6 33’57.186
20. Roberto Tamburini (Bike Service R.T.) Yamaha YZF R6 34’19.812
RT. Fabien Foret (Hannspree Ten Kate Honda) Honda CBR600RR 24’05.870
RT. Massimo Roccoli (Lorenzini by Leoni) Kawasaki ZX-6R 24’14.506
RT. Miguel Praia (Parkalgar Honda) Honda CBR600RR 16’18.840
RT. Pawel Szkopek (Bogdanka PTR Honda) Honda CBR600RR 16’19.620
RT. Gino Rea (Step Racing Team) Honda CBR600RR 8’07.572
RT. Mitchell Pirotta (KUJA Racing Team) Honda CBR600RR 2’45.190

Ron Lieback
Ron Lieback
One of the few moto journalists based on the East Coast, Ron Lieback joined the motorcycle industry as a freelancer in 2007, and is currently Online Editor at Ultimate Motorcycling.

Ducati Museum Reopens July 4 in Borgo Panigale, Bologna

After an extended closure due to Italian efforts to combat COVID-19, the Ducati Museum in Bologna is opening on July 4. The opening is...

BMW Motorrad WorldSBK Team Returns To Action: Strafing Lausitzring

It seems like ancient history now, but the 2020 FIM Superbike World Championship did get in the Australian Round before the globe shut down...

2020 Lucas Oil Pro Motocross Series Start Postponed To August

The status of the 2020 Lucas Oil Pro Motocross Championship Series suffered another blow, as promoter MX  Sports Pro Racing says that the opening...

TomTom Rider 550 Review: GPS and More for Motorcycles

I have been using the same $99 automobile GPS on my Yamaha Venture and my Honda Spirit 1100 since about 2009. That’s when my...

1965 Ducati 125cc GP Racer Up For Auction: Bonhams’ Summer Sale

We are all familiar with the Ducati Desmosedici V4 powerplant. However, many people do not know that Ducati built an inline-4 motor for the...

Harley-Davidson New Rider Initiatives: Two New Programs

Most motorcycle riders have had friends ask about learning to ride. While some motorcyclists take on the teaching job themselves, it can quickly turn...