Malaysia 125 GP: Final Race Results

Sepang 125cc GP

Marc Márquez won from pole position at Sepang on Sunday to take over the leadership of the 125cc Championship by three points.

The Red Bull Ajo Motorsport rider led home a podium that was completed by Pol Espargaró (Tuenti Racing) and Nico Terol (Bancaja Aspar), who Márquez now replaces at the top of the championship standings.

Today’s battle for the race win was fought out exclusively by the three riders at the top of the championship standings, despite a hard charge at midrace distance by their three teammates, Bradley Smith (Bancaja Aspar), Efrén Vázquez (Tuenti Racing) and Sandro Cortese (Avant Mitsubishi Ajo), that briefly saw six riders clear at the front of the race.

Terol, Márquez and Espargaró all led at one point as first position continued to swap hands. With six laps to go Márquez began to turn the screw and opened up a gap of almost a full second over Espargaró, setting a fastest lap of the race in the process.

From there the 17 year-old remained calm and controlled, eventually crossing the finish line 2.341s clear of Espargaró, with Terol just over a second further back.

Vázquez won the battle of the chasing pack for fourth position, with Smith and Cortese within half a second of him.

The top ten was completed by Esteve Rabat (Blusens-STX), Luis Salom (Stipa-Molenaar Racing), Tomoyoshi Koyama (Racing Team Germany) and Randy Krummenacher (Stipa-Molenaar Racing).

Márquez now tops the standings on 247 points, with Terol second on 244 and Espargaró third on 235 with three rounds remaining.

Sepang 125cc GP Results | Sunday, October 10, 2010

Pos. Points Num. Rider Nation Team Bike Km/h Time/Gap
1 25 93 Marc MARQUEZ SPA Red Bull Ajo Motorsport Derbi 148.0 40’29.035
2 20 44 Pol ESPARGARO SPA Tuenti Racing Derbi 147.9 +2.341
3 16 40 Nicolas TEROL SPA Bancaja Aspar Team Aprilia 147.8 +3.656
4 13 7 Efren VAZQUEZ SPA Tuenti Racing Derbi 147.6 +6.780
5 11 38 Bradley SMITH GBR Bancaja Aspar Team Aprilia 147.6 +7.133
6 10 11 Sandro CORTESE GER Avant Mitsubishi Ajo Derbi 147.6 +7.297
7 9 12 Esteve RABAT SPA Blusens-STX Aprilia 146.4 +26.648
8 8 39 Luis SALOM SPA Stipa-Molenaar Racing GP Aprilia 146.2 +29.339
9 7 71 Tomoyoshi KOYAMA JPN Racing Team Germany Aprilia 146.2 +29.339
10 6 35 Randy KRUMMENACHER SWI Stipa-Molenaar Racing GP Aprilia 146.2 +29.365
11 5 14 Johann ZARCO FRA WTR San Marino Team Aprilia 145.8 +36.329
12 4 23 Alberto MONCAYO SPA Andalucia Cajasol Aprilia 145.8 +37.545
13 3 26 Adrian MARTIN SPA Aeroport de Castello – Ajo Aprilia 144.9 +51.262
14 2 84 Jakub KORNFEIL CZE Racing Team Germany Aprilia 144.7 +54.634
15 1 78 Marcel SCHROTTER GER Interwetten Honda 125 Honda 144.7 +54.635
16   63 Zulfahmi KHAIRUDDIN MAL AirAsia – Sepang Int. Circuit Aprilia 144.5 +58.581
17   69 Louis ROSSI FRA CBC Corse Aprilia 143.6 +1’15.218
18   72 Marco RAVAIOLI ITA Lambretta Reparto Corse Lambretta 143.5 +1’15.595
19   96 Tommaso GABRIELLI ITA Ongetta Team Aprilia 141.0 +2’00.178
Not Classified
    99 Danny WEBB GBR Andalucia Cajasol Aprilia 146.1 7 Laps
    52 Danny KENT GBR Lambretta Reparto Corse Lambretta 142.7 7 Laps
    53 Jasper IWEMA NED CBC Corse Aprilia 141.0 11 Laps
    50 Sturla FAGERHAUG NOR AirAsia – Sepang Int. Circuit Aprilia 143.8 12 Laps
    15 Simone GROTZKYJ ITA Fontana Racing Aprilia 143.6 13 Laps
    87 Luca MARCONI ITA Ongetta Team Aprilia 141.3 13 Laps
    32 Lorenzo SAVADORI ITA Matteoni Racing Aprilia 136.3 15 Laps
Previous articleMalaysia MotoGP: Final Race Results
Next articleJorge Lorenzo: MotoGP Champion
One of the few moto journalists based on the East Coast, Ron Lieback joined the motorcycle industry as a freelancer in 2007, and is currently Online Editor at Ultimate Motorcycling. He is also the author of "365 to Vision: Modern Writer's Guide (How to Produce More Quality Writing in Less Time).