Malaysia Moto2: Final Race Results

Sepang Moto2

Toni Elías was crowned the first-ever Moto2 World Champion at Sepang on Sunday after the Spaniard took fourth place in the 14th round of the 2010 campaign.

Roberto Rolfo was also celebrating as he took his first World Championship victory since triumphing in the 250cc class at Jerez in 2004, after a fantastic race that saw both Rolfo and Elías involved in separate battles.

Stepping onto the podium for the first time this season was Alex de Angelis (JiR Moto2) who challenged Rolfo for the win late on, with Andrea Iannone (Fimmco Speed Up) completing the rostrum after a marvellous duel with Gresini Racing’s Elías.

Completing the top five was Alex Debón (Aeroport de Castelló-Ajo), with top-ten results for Karel Abraham (Cardion AB Motoracing), Stefan Bradl (Viessmann Kiefer Racing), Dominique Aegerter (Technomag-CIP), Jules Cluzel (Forward Racing) and Simone Corsi (JiR Moto2).

Pole sitter, Julián Simón, who was the only man who could prevent Elías from confirming the title, finished a distant 21st, after crashing while battling at the front of the race.

Moto2 Sepang Results | Sunday, October 10, 2010

12544Roberto ROLFOITAItaltrans S.T.R.Suter153.741’09.412
22015Alex DE ANGELISRSMJIR Moto2Motobi153.7+0.040
31629Andrea IANNONEITAFimmco Speed UpSpeed Up153.3+5.915
41324Toni ELIASSPAGresini Racing Moto2Moriwaki153.3+6.322
5116Alex DEBONSPAAeroport de Castello – AjoFTR152.9+11.912
61017Karel ABRAHAMCZECardion AB MotoracingFTR152.9+12.458
7965Stefan BRADLGERViessmann Kiefer RacingSuter152.9+12.519
8877Dominique AEGERTERSWITechnomag-CIPSuter152.9+12.589
9716Jules CLUZELFRAForward RacingSuter152.7+15.010
1063Simone CORSIITAJIR Moto2Motobi152.6+16.707
11555Hector FAUBELSPAMarc VDS Racing TeamSuter152.4+20.179
12425Alex BALDOLINIITACaretta Technology Race DeptI.C.P.152.4+20.462
13368Yonny HERNANDEZCOLBlusens-STXBQR-Moto2152.3+21.638
14256Michael RANSEDERAUTVector Kiefer RacingSuter152.3+22.388
15171Claudio CORTIITAForward RacingSuter152.2+24.512
16 14Ratthapark WILAIROTTHAThai Honda PTT Singha SAGBimota152.1+26.366
17 80Axel PONSSPATenerife 40 PonsPons Kalex151.8+30.730
18 9Kenny NOYESUSAJack & Jones by A.BanderasPromoharris151.8+31.080
19 10Fonsi NIETOSPAHoliday Gym G22Moriwaki151.7+32.239
20 53Valentin DEBISEFRAWTR San Marino TeamADV151.6+33.804
21 60Julian SIMONSPAMapfre Aspar TeamSuter151.3+39.448
22 87Mohamad ZAMRI BABAMALPetronas SIC TWMR MalaysiaMoriwaki150.9+46.031
23 5Joan OLIVESPAJack & Jones by A.BanderasPromoharris150.8+47.257
24 8Anthony WESTAUSMZ Racing TeamMZ-RE Honda150.6+50.058
25 28Kazuki WATANABEJPNRacing Team GermanySuter150.6+50.830
26 63Mike DI MEGLIOFRAMapfre Aspar TeamSuter150.5+51.971
27 39Robertino PIETRIVENItaltrans S.T.R.Suter150.1+59.155
28 66Hiromichi KUNIKAWAJPNBimota – M RacingBimota149.0+1’16.759
29 95Mashel AL NAIMIQATBlusens-STXBQR-Moto2147.5+1’43.949
Not Classified
  2Gabor TALMACSIHUNFimmco Speed UpSpeed Up152.46 Laps
  45Scott REDDINGGBRMarc VDS Racing TeamSuter150.46 Laps
  40Sergio GADEASPATenerife 40 PonsPons Kalex149.46 Laps
  35Raffaele DE ROSAITATech 3 RacingTech 3143.49 Laps
  72Yuki TAKAHASHIJPNTech 3 RacingTech 3151.811 Laps
  12Thomas LUTHISWIInterwetten Moriwaki Moto2Moriwaki153.012 Laps
  61Vladimir IVANOVUKRGresini Racing Moto2Moriwaki149.013 Laps
  46Javier FORESSPAMaquinza-SAG TeamBimota147.813 Laps
  70Ferruccio LAMBORGHINIITAMatteoni RacingMoriwaki144.613 Laps
  88Yannick GUERRASPAHoliday Gym G22Moriwaki139.018 Laps