Moto2 & 125 GP: Brno Friday Report

Moto2 Friday Report:

A fast lap three minutes from the end of the first practice session at Brno for Round 10 of the MotoGP Championship handed Fonsi Nieto top spot on the timesheet on Friday afternoon, as the Spaniard beat home rider Karel Abraham to the top time by a margin of just two-thousandths of a second.

The Cardion ab Motoracing rider had been in prime position for more than half the session with his effort of 2’04.877, but a crash for Abraham at turn 13 with 25 minutes remaining ended his session early. The Czech rider’s time remained fastest until Nieto edged in front on his 18th of 20 laps.

Shoya Tomizawa (Technomag-CIP) experienced a crash early in the session but the Japanese rider was back on his bike and undaunted as he set the third best lap of the hour, placing him a tenth of a second ahead of Gabor Talmacsi (Fimmco Speed Up).

Julián Simón (Mapfre Aspar), Yuki Takahashi (Tech3 Racing), Simone Corsi (JiR Moto2) and Andrea Iannone (Fimmco Speed Up) completed the top eight, with the Championship’s current second-placed rider Thomas Lüthi (Interwetten Moriwaki Racing) in 15th.

The session was controversially sat out by Championship leader Toni Elías (Gresini Racing Moto2). The Spaniard was disqualified from taking part in the practice by Race Direction following his testing infringement by riding at Misano last weekend, and will return to the track for the second practice session on Saturday morning.

125cc Friday Report:

Nico Terol’s return from injury could not have gone much better as the Spaniard set the fastest time in the first practice at Brno with a fast lap of 2’08.010. the Bancaja Aspar rider, who missed the last round at Sachsenring due to the injuries he sustained in a crash at Catalunya, was strong in the practice hour as he improved his time by half-a-second towards the end.

That placed him an impressive 0.507s ahead of team-mate Bradley Smith who with a solid penultimate lap rose to second on the timesheet, ahead of Championship leader Marc Márquez. The Red Bull Ajo Motorsport rider had a crash at the very end which resulted in a dislocation of the left shoulder, however the youngster will ride with the injury tomorrow.

Pol Espargaró (Tuenti Racing), Esteve Rabat (Blusens-STX) and Danny Webb (Andalucia Cajasol) completed the top six, with the British rider avoiding a nasty high side halfway through by managing to control his Aprilia machine admirably before going down gently when he ran off at turn ten.

Randy Krummenacher (Stipa-Molenaar Racing), Sandro Cortese (Avant Mitsubishi Ajo), Efrén Vázquez (Tuenti Racing) and Johann Zarco (WTR San Marino Team) were all inside the top ten.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.