Motorcycle Types Cruiser AMA XR1200 1st Ever Race | Video

AMA XR1200 1st Ever Race | Video

XR1200 Video

Click video to see the highlight clip from the inaugural XR1200 race at Road America June 6, 2010. The Vance & Hines XR1200 Series made its debut in Elkhart Lake, Wisconsin as part of the AMA Pro Racing Superbike Doubleheader.

RMR Bruce Rossmeyer’s Daytona Racing and 2009 Daytona Sportbike Champion Danny Eslick took the checkered flag on Sunday after an exciting race long battle with his RMR teammate and AMA Superbike regular Jake Holden, by a margin of only .054 seconds.

The brand new spec class, which saw the field of ten take the green flag on identically prepped Harley-Davidson XR1200s, has drawn an enthusiastic mix of both veteran and up-and-coming racers.

With performance parity among all the bikes, there were plenty of thrills right from the start, with riders going up to four-wide into the turns.

After an early incident that saw James Gang/Hoban Bros Racing’s Paul James go down on the front straight after colliding with another rider on the second restart, the race was rescheduled to resume later in the day after the Superbike race.

When the race was picked up later in the day, Eslick and Holden broke away from the pack and swapped the lead multiple times all the way to the last lap.

The battle for the third spot on the podium also provided a fierce three-way battle between the young guns of the series including Eric Stump and the Wyman Brothers, Travis Wyman racing for Harv’s Harley-Davdison Racing and Kyle Wyman also on a RMR Bruce Rossmeyer’s Daytona Racing.

Vance & Hines President, Terry Vance, who was on hand at Road America this weekend stated, "I couldn’t be more excited about the new AMA Pro Racing V&H XR1200 class. This weekend’s opening event at Elkhart Lake indicates how great this class will become. Surely, it will be an exciting addition to the AMA schedule in the coming years, showcasing new young talent with exciting close racing. I can’t wait for Mid Ohio, and I believe we will have more than 30 bikes on the grid by the first race next year."


Position Name Interval Team
1 Danny Eslick 10 Laps RMR
2 Jake Holden 0.055 RMR
3 Eric Stump 14.569 Eric Stump
4 Kyle Wyman 14.594 RMR
5 Travis Wyman 18.752 Harvs H-D Racing
6 Shawn Conrad 34.996 Shawn Conrad
7 Joseph Rozynski 55.584 RMR
8 Aaron Frank 01:05.0 Aaron Frank
9 John Ashmead 01:34.0 Brady Schwemmer Racing
10 Paul James 2 Laps James Gang Hoban Bros. Racing

The next round for the XR1200 Series will be at the Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course in Lexington, Ohio from July 16-18. In the coming weeks Vance & Hines will be launching its own microsite for the XR1200 Series to provide more information and content on this exciting and entertaining new racing class.

2021 Indian Springfield Lineup First Look (5 Fast Facts)

There are two motorcycles in the 2021 Indian Springfield lineup, with the standard Springfield focused on longer-distance touring, and the Springfield Dark Horse pulling...

2021 BMW R 18 Review (19 Fast Facts on the First Edition)

Over a year after its concept debut, the 2021 BMW R 18 has made its way to production. Much has been written about its...

2021 Honda CRF450R Review (12 First Ride Fast Facts from Glen Helen)

The 2021 Honda CRF450R is all-new for 2021. The entirely new chassis, bodywork, exhaust, and hydraulic clutch highlight the changes to the CRF450R. Add to...

Arai Spoiler EX2 for the Corsair-X Helmet First Look

The Arai Corsair-X is the Japanese company’s flagship helmet and intended for riders of the highest performance motorcycle. MotoGP racers Maverick Viñales of Monster...

2021 Indian Scout Lineup First Look: Five Models (Photos, Specs + Prices)

Although the five-motorcycle Indian Scout lineup is functionally unchanged for 2021—last year was a major expansion of the line—this year, Indian is offering new...

2020 Ural Weekender SE First Look: Special Edition Sidecar

Just in time for autumn, Ural lets loose with the 2020 Ural Weekender SE. Based on the 2WD Gear Up model, the Weekender SE...