AMA Supercross: Las Vegas Preview

SX Preview

After an injury-filled season that benched many of the top riders, the 2010 Monster Energy AMA Supercross Championship commences at Sam Boyd Stadium in Las Vegas this weekend.

With James Stewart and Chad Reed out due to injuries for most of the season, this year’s season came down to a battle between the Ryans, Suzuki Makita Suzuki rider Ryan Dungey and Monster Energy Kawasaki rider Ryan Villopoto.

But after breaking his leg during the St. Louis round, Villopoto’s shot at the title was over…and he was the only rider capable of challenging Dungey. During the next race, Round 14 in Seattle, Dungey officially clinched the title. He went on to be the only rookie to earn a championship during a rookie year besides the legendary Jeremy McGrath.

Although Dungey already owns the Number 1 plate, the racing is still intense. Last week in Salt Lake City, the SX field battled through rain, snow, sleet and then rain again. The oldest rider currently competing, GEICO Powersports Honda rider Kevin Windham, went on to win his second consecutive race of the 2010 SX season during the race that was shortened to 15 laps due to conditions.

The 32-year-old would get the holeshot, and swap the lead multiple times on the first lap with Honda Red Bull Racing rider Davi Millsaps before taking first and leading all 15 laps. Millsaps would finish second, and his teammate, Andrew Short of Smithville, Texas, would finish third.

Villopoto’s teammate Chad Reed, who made his return at Round 13 in Houston after being out of action since Round 2 in Phoenix due to an injury, did not race last week. He was celebrating the birth of his baby boy Tate. Nothing has been officially released about him racing in Las Vegas.

During last year’s season closer in Las Vegas, Villopoto took the win before almost 40,000 fans. The first race held in Sam Boyd Stadium was in March of 1990, and Jeff Matiasevich took the win on a Kawasaki.

That same year, McGrath won in the AMA Supercross Lites class. In the annual Dave Coombs Sr. East/West Supercross Lites Shootout, Monster Energy/Pro Circuit Kawasaki rider Christophe Pourcel took the win, earning a Toyota Tundra for his efforts.

Both the Supercross class and Dave Coombs Sr. East/West Supercross Lites Shootout will be televised live on SPEED at 10 p.m. (EST) Saturday, May 8. The CBS AMA SX wrap-up will air at 5 p.m. (EST) Sunday on CBS.

Supercross Championship Standings
1. Ryan Dungey, Belle Plaine, Minn., Suzuki, 338 (2010 Champion)
2. Kevin Windham, Centerville, Miss., Honda, 273
3. Ryan Villopoto, Poulsbo, Wash., Kawasaki, 266
4. Davi Millsaps, Murrieta, Calif., Honda, 253
5. Josh Hill, Carlsbad, Calif., Yamaha, 229
6. Justin Brayton, Murrieta, Calif., Yamaha, 225
7. Nick Wey, Murrieta, Calif., Kawasaki, 186
8. Ivan Tedesco, Murrieta, Calif., Yamaha, 183
9. Tommy Hahn, Alvord, Texas, Suzuki, 174
10. Kyle Chisholm, Valrico, Fla., Yamaha, 163

Western SX Lites Standings
1. Jake Weimer, Rupert, Idaho, Kawasaki, 171 (2010 Champion)
2. Wil Hahn, Decatur, Texas, Honda, 156
3. Trey Canard, Shawnee, Okla., Honda, 153
4. Broc Tickle, Holly, Mich., Yamaha, 140
5. Blake Wharton, Pilot Point, Texas, Honda, 116
6. Josh Hansen, Elbert Colo., Kawasaki, 100
7. Cole Seely, Newbury Park, Calif., Honda, 100
8. Phillip Nicoletti, Bethel, N.Y., KTM 83
9. Max Anstie, Hemet, Calif., Yamaha, 82
10. Ryan Morais, Murrieta, Calif., Suzuki, 76

Eastern SX Lites Standings
1. Christophe Pourcel, Groveland, Fla., Kawasaki, 160 (2010 Champion)
2. Justin Barcia, Ochlocknee, Ga., Honda, 147
3. Brett Metcalfe, Lake Elsinore, Calif., Honda, 133
4. Austin Stroupe, Lincolnton, N.C., Suzuki, 126
5. Blake Baggett, Grand Terrace, Calif., Suzuki, 118
6. Dean Wilson, San Jacinto, Calif., Kawasaki, 105
7. Ryan Sipes, Vine Grove, Ky., Yamaha, 93
8. Kyle Cunningham, Fort Worth, Texas, Honda, 84
9. Martin Davalos, Cairo, Ga., Yamaha, 83
10. Michael Willard, Newark, Ohio, Honda, 66

Past Winners in Las Vegas – AMA Supercross Class
May 2, 2009: Ryan Villopoto
May 3, 2008: Chad Reed
May 5, 2007: James Stewart
May 06, 2006: James Stewart
May 7, 2005: Chad Reed
May 1, 2004: Kevin Windham
May 03, 2003: Chad Reed
May 04, 2002: Ricky Carmichael
May 05, 2001: Ricky Carmichael
May 06, 2000: Jeremy McGrath
May 01, 1999: Jeremy McGrath
May 02, 1998: Jeremy McGrath
May 17, 1997: Doug Henry
June 10, 1995: Jeff Emig
June 11, 1994: Jeremy McGrath
June 12, 1993: Jeff Stanton
April 25, 1992: Jean-Michel Bayle
May 04, 1991: Mike LaRocco
March 17, 1990: Jeff Matiasevich

Past Winners in Las Vegas –AMA Supercross Lites Class
May 2, 2009: Christophe Pourcel
May 3, 2008: Ryan Dungey
May 7, 2007: Ryan Dungey
May, 06, 2006: Andrew Short
May 7, 2005: David Millsaps
May 1, 2004: James Stewart
May 03, 2003: Andrew Short
May 04, 2002: James M Stewart
May 05, 2001: Nathan Ramsey
May 06, 2000: Travis Pastrana
May 01, 1999: Nathan Ramsey
May 02, 1998: Ricky Carmichael
May 17, 1997: Kevin Windham
June 10, 1995: Ryan Hughes
June 11, 1994: Ryan Hughes
June 12, 1993: Damon Huff
April 25, 1992: Jeremy McGrath
May 04, 1991: Jeremy McGrath
March 17, 1990: Jeremy McGrath


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.