MotoGP: Aragon Confirmed for Five

MotoGP Aragon

Last week, the addition of Hungarian Grand Prix to the MotoGP Championship schedule was put on hold for the second year, officials saying Balatonring would not be completed in time for the 14th round due to bank troubles this year.

The FIM confirmed that the 3.3-mile circuit of Motorland Aragon near Alcaniz in Spain would replace the Hungarian GP round for this year, placing four Spanish circuits the GP racing schedule: Motorland Aragon, Jerez, Valencia and Barcelona. Spain host more MotoGP motorcycle races than an other country.

But Tuesday brought more recognition to Aragon after a deal was signed by Motorland and MotoGP rights holder Dorna Sports: the Grand Prix of Aragon is now reserved for the next five years on the MotoGP schedule. Dorna Sports CEO Carmelo Ezpeleta said after the agreement was signed with Motorland, the venue "shows that Spain is a country with the best circuits in the world."

Marcelino Iglesias Quote

"The signing of this contract will bring international recognition for Motorland, and makes clear the fact that we have one of the best circuits in the world. It is an extraordinary development for Aragon and promotes it on a world class stage," said the President of Aragon.

Carmelo Ezpeleta Quote

"The intention of Dorna is to constantly innovate and improve. It's for this reason that when we put in place a reserve circuit we had something new, and which could make a strategic commitment to maintaining the quality of the World Championship."

"The selection of Motorland was for various reasons, one of which was that it was the only circuit that had a standard of quality which could stand in at any moment from April to October, one of the requirements of the World Championship."

"This has led us to sign an agreement for five years, and in the first year there is already the task of organizing a race, which is not a concern because the circuit is led by people with experience in organizing a Grand Prix."

No further details were released about if the Hungarian Balatonring will be completed and added to the schedule next year.  

2010 MotoGP Schedule (Revised)
April 11th - Qatar (Losail)
April 25th - Japan (Motegi)
May 2nd - Spain (Jerez)
May 23rd- France (Le Mans)
June 6th - Italy (Mugello)
June 20th - Great Britain (Silverstone)
June 26th- Netherlands (Assen)
July 4th - Catalunya (Catalunya)
July 18th - Germany (Sachsenring)
July 25th - United States (Laguna Seca)
August 22nd - Czech Republic (Brno)
August 29th - Indianapolis (Indianapolis)
September 5th - San Marino & Riviera di Rimini (Misano)
September 19th - Aragon (Motorland Aragon Circuit)
October 10th - Malaysia (Sepang)
October 17th - Australia (Phillip Island)
October 31st - Portugal (Estoril)
November 7th - Valencia (Ricardo Tormo Valencia)


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.