2024 Hangtown Motocross Fantasy Picks and Tips [7 Fast Facts]

As Jett Lawrence’s unbeaten streak in the AMA Pro Motocross 450MX class continues, we still have five other riders to select for RMFantasyMX fantasy supercross. The series moves to Northern California for the Hangtown Motocross Classic, so let’s talk about the 2024 Hangtown motocross fantasy picks.

2024 Hangtown Motocross Fantasy Picks and Tips: Jett Lawrence
Jett Lawrence.
  1. Jett Lawrence continues to look unbeatable. If you follow the series at all, you know why he is the pick to win at Hangtown. You can’t argue with 24 consecutive moto wins.
2024 Hangtown Motocross Fantasy Picks and Tips: Hunter Lawrence
Hunter Lawrence.
  1. Hunter Lawrence and Chase Sexton are the riders to beat for the two remaining podium slots. Picking their order is a coin toss. Sexton seems faster, though Hunter was more consistent at the Fox Raceway National at Pala. Hunter’s P2 in his first-ever 450MX race has to impress anyone watching, and you can only expect him to get better. I’m not saying this with any sort of firm conviction, but I have Hunter for P2 and Sexton for P3. Feel free to swap them.
2024 Hangtown Motocross Fantasy Picks and Tips: Chase Sexton
Chase Sexton.
  1. After the top three, you have a lot of choices to fill out the top five. There were six riders within three points of P4 overall at Fox Raceway—Dylan Ferrandis (7-5) and Justin Barcia (6-6) at 32 points, Justin Cooper (5-8) at 31 points, and Jason Anderson (10-4) and Aaron Plessinger (3-12) tied with 30 points. Look at those numbers; you’ll note that none of the six finished in the top five in both motos.
Jason Anderson.
  1. Aaron Plessinger is a strong choice for P4. The Cowboy nailed the first moto and picked up a podium finish when Sexton went down. However, Plessinger could only mount a P12 comeback after he went down in the first corner. Still, Plessinger’s P3 moto beat any finish by the other five riders off the overall podium, so it’s AP for P4.
2024 Hangtown Motocross Fantasy Picks and Tips: Aaron Plessinger
Aaron Plessinger.
  1. With a P4 overall last week, Dylan Ferrandis is a strong top-five choice. With Plessinger getting my P4 nod, that puts Ferrandis in P5. Ferrandis is a former 450MX champion who knows how to maximize his rides. That’s evidenced by his P4 Fox Raceway National finish. While I think Plessinger will be hungrier, Ferrandis will be right there.
  1. The Wild Card at 2024 Hangtown Motocross Classic is P14, and we know that the farther down the list you go, the harder it gets to make a pick. Dean Wilson was P14 last week via 16-11 finishes. Derek Kelley took P14 in Moto 1, and Shane McElrath was P14 in Moto 2. There are three possibilities for you without digging deep. From there, riders within a couple of spots of P14 in either Fox Raceway National 450MX moto include Plessinger (3-12), Freddie Norén (13-11), Marshal Weltin (16-11), Cullin Park (12-15), Christian Craig (15-17), and Romain Pape (20-13). With a round under his belt, I’m looking at Craig for P14 at Prairie City SVRA in Rancho Cordova, California.
Husqvarna's Christian Craig.
Christian Craig.
  1. The 2024 Hangtown Motocross Classic is streamed on Peacock, as is every race in the 2024 SuperMotocross World Championship Series. Race Day Live is streamed on Peacock starting at 10 a.m. local time (PDT). The racing begins at 1 p.m. PDT. If you don’t have Peacock, you can watch the race on CNBC on Sunday at 11 p.m. PDT (2 a.m. EDT on Monday). Given how inexpensive the Peacock package is, there’s no reason to not be a subscriber. Peacock has a deal right now for people who don’t have Premium or Premium Plus plans—$20 for a year of Peacock!

2024 Hangtown Motocross Fantasy Picks

  1. Jett Lawrence
  2. Hunter Lawrence
  3. Chase Sexton
  4. Aaron Plessinger
  5. Dylan Ferrandis

Wild Card P14: Christian Craig

Photography by SMX Pictures and Align Media

2024 AMA Pro Motocross National Championship Series Standings (after 1 of 11 rounds)

  1. Jett Lawrence, Honda, 50 points (1 overall win; 1 overall podium, 1 overall top 5)
  2. Hunter Lawrence, Honda, 42 (1P; 1 T5)
  3. Chase Sexton, KTM, 40 (1P; 1 T5)
  4. Dylan Ferrandis, Honda, 32 (1 T5)
  5. Justin Barcia, GasGas, 32 (1 T5)
  6. Justin Cooper, Yamaha, 31
  7. Jason Anderson, Kawasaki, 30
  8. Aaron Plessinger, KTM, 30
  9. Malcolm Stewart, Husqvarna, 29
  10. Phil Nicoletti, Yamaha, 26
  11. Freddie Norén, Kawasaki, 21
  12. Marshal Weltin, Yamaha, 17
  13. Cullin Park, Honda, 17
  14. Dean Wilson, Honda, 17
  15. Christian Craig, Husqvarna, 12
  16. Romaine Pape, GasGas, 11
  17. Grant Harlan, Yamaha, 9
  18. Shane McElrath, Suzuki, 8
  19. Derek Kelley, KTM, 8
  20. Jerry Robin, Yamaha, 4
  21. Max Miller, Suzuki, 3
  22. Justin Hill, KTM, 3
  23. Scotty Verhaeghe, GasGas, 2
  24. Kyle Chisholm, Suzuki, 1
  25. Jake Masterpool, GasGas, 1