Motorcycle Racing News AMA Supercross/Motocross SLC5 Supercross Results and Coverage: Roczen Rebounds

SLC5 Supercross Results and Coverage: Roczen Rebounds

In an unlikely return to form, Ken Roczen rode to a comfortable win at SLC5 at Rice-Eccles Stadium. Roczen, who added shingles to his list of maladies, passed Cooper Webb for the lead on lap 4 (of 29), and that was the last anyone saw of Roczen. Defending Supercross Champion Webb took the runner-up spot over a distant Eli Tomac, who has one hand on the championship trophy.

SLC5 Supercross Results Coverage - Ken Roczen
Ken Roczen

Roczen’s win puts him back into P2 in the series standings, one point ahead of Webb with two rounds remaining. Tomac has a 24-point lead over Roczen. If Tomac wins on Wednesday, he clinches the title. If either Webb or Roczen finishes ahead of Tomac, the 2020 Monster Energy Supercross Championship Series goes down to the final round a week from today. Should none of the three series leaders win, get out your calculator.

SLC5 Supercross Results and Coverage - Cooper Webb
Cooper Webb

SLC5 was something of a snoozer, with all the riders doing all the obstacles. The slight differences stretched the riders out over the race, and you had to go down to P6 to see any sort of battle at the end. Roczen held a three-second lead over Webb for most of the race, and Tomac was over 14 seconds behind Webb at the checkers.

SLC5 Supercross Results Coverage - Ei Tomac
Eli Tomac

Webb grabbed the holeshot, with Webb’s rear-wheel clipping Tomac’s front wheel as they rounded the wide, sweeping first corner. That allowed Webb to get away, while Tomac struggled to keep his Kawasaki upright. Tomac settled into P7 after the first lap, making his way to a podium slot by lap 9. Initially, Tomac looked like he might make a run at Roczen and Webb. Instead, Tomac lost ground and settled for an uncontested P3.

Zach Osborne followed Malcolm Stewart much of the race, with Osborne able to snatch P4 from Stewart on lap 25. From there, Osborne slipped away from Stewart, besting Stewart by nearly three seconds by the end of the race. Osborne has four consecutive top-four finishes in Salt Lake City, and it is Stewart’s second top-five in three races.

Zach Osborne
Zach Osborne (#16)

Martín Dávalos started strong, running in P4 for the first three laps. He went down, however, putting him in last place and only able to work his way up to P19 by the end.

Jason Anderson had a good start, but got off-line in the rhythm section and suffered a spectacular crash. Anderson remounted, only to go down again. He was caught in a multi-bike pile-up on lap 13, with his Husqvarna getting tangled up with Vince Friese’s downed Honda. That was it for the night for Anderson. He finished last and surrendered P4 in the 2020 Monster Energy Supercross Championship standings to Justin Barcia.

The next round is Wednesday, and Webb has won both Wednesday races in the seven-round finale in Salt Lake City. Webb or Roczen must beat Tomac to prevent Tomac from clinching his first 450SX title. Our 2020 Supercross TV Schedule will tell you when to tune if for what could be a historic race.

Photography courtesy of Align Media and Feld Entertainment

2020 Salt Lake City 5 Supercross Results, Rice-Eccles Stadium

  1. Ken Roczen (Honda)
  2. Cooper Webb (KTM)
  3. Eli Tomac (Kawasaki)
  4. Zach Osborne (Husqvarna)
  5. Malcolm Stewart (Honda)
  6. Dean Wilson (Husqvarna)
  7. Blake Baggett (KTM)
  8. Justin Brayton (Honda)
  9. Justin Barcia (Yamaha)
  10. Aaron Plessinger (Yamaha)
  11. Chad Reed (Honda)
  12. Broc Tickle (Suzuki)
  13. Benny Bloss (KTM)
  14. Justin Hill (Honda)
  15. Tyler Bowers (Kawasaki)
  16. Kyle Chisholm (Yamaha)
  17. Vince Friese (Honda)
  18. Adam Enticknap (Suzuki)
  19. Martín Dávalos (KTM)
  20. Ryan Breece (Suzuki)
  21. Mason Kerr (Kawasaki)
  22. Jason Anderson (Husqvarna)

2020 Monster Energy AMA Supercross Championship Series Standings (after 15 of 17 rounds)

  1. Eli Tomac (Kawasaki), 343 points (7 wins; 11 podiums)
  2. Ken Roczen (Honda), 319 (4 wins; 10 podiums)
  3. Cooper Webb (KTM), 318 (3 wins; 12 podiums)
  4. Justin Barcia (Yamaha), 255 (1 win; 3 podiums)
  5. Jason Anderson (Husqvarna), 246 (4 podiums)
  6. Malcolm Stewart (Honda), 217
  7. Dean Wilson (Husqvarna), 208
  8. Zach Osborne (Husqvarna), 205 (2 podiums)
  9. Justin Brayton (Honda), 199
  10. Justin Hill (Honda), 188
  11. Aaron Plessinger (Yamaha), 186
  12. Blake Baggett (KTM), 180 (1 podium)
  13. Martín Dávalos (KTM), 157
  14. Vince Friese (Honda), 141
  15. Adam Cianciarulo (Kawasaki), 129 (2 podiums)
  16. Chad Reed (Honda/KTM), 92
  17. Benny Bloss (Yamaha/KTM), 87
  18. Tyler Bowers (Kawasaki), 85
  19. Kyle Chisholm (Yamaha), 76
  20. Kyle Cunningham (Suzuki), 48
  21. Ryan Breece (Suzuki), 37
  22. Broc Tickle (Suzuki), 35
  23. Alex Ray (Kawasaki), 30
  24. Justin Bogle (KTM), 24
  25. Adam Enticknap (Suzuki), 21
  26. Chris Blose (Honda), 18
  27. Daniel Herrlein (KTM), 8
  28. Ryan Sipes (KTM), 7
  29. James Weeks (Yamaha), 7
  30. Henry Miller (KTM), 6
  31. Carlen Gardner (Honda), 6
  32. Jimmy Decotis (Suzuki), 4
  33. Freddie Norén (Suzuki), 4
  34. Ronnie Stewart (Husqvarna), 3
  35. Jason Clermont (Kawasaki), 3
  36. Cade Autenrieth (Honda), 3
  37. Mason Kerr (Kawasaki), 2
  38. Jerry Robin (Honda), 1
  39. Logan Karnow (Kawasaki), 1
  40. Josh Cartwright (Kawasaki), 1

Don Williams
Don Williams
With 45 years of riding experience, Don Williams is a fan of all kinds of motorcycles. He enjoys sport bikes, cruisers, dirt bikes, touring bikes, adventure bikes, dual sport bikes, and rideable customs. Ask Don what his favorite bike is and he will tell you, "Whatever bike I'm on."

2020 Harley-Davidson Electra Glide Standard Review: Stripped-Down

The 2020 Harley-Davidson Electra Glide Standard serves several purposes. Its stripped-down nature makes it an ideal starting point for a custom build, as it...

Cardo Freecom 4+ Review: Motorcycle Bluetooth Communication

This is the story of Neil and the three Bluetooth communication devices. Once upon a time, I spent a ton of money on a...

2021 Yamaha YZ Lineup First Look: The Dirty Dozen Racers

Yamaha brings 12 YZ models for racing in 2021, running from the neophyte-ready YZ65 to the new supercross-platform YZ450F Monster Energy Yamaha Racing Edition....

2021 Beta 300 RX First Look: Limited-Edition Motocross Motorcycle

Beta, the boutique Italian motorcycle manufacturer known for its enduro, dual-sport, and observed trials motorcycles, is making a move into the American motocross market...

Pirelli Sport Demon Street Tires: Long-Term Review Begins

The Metzeler Lasertec tires that arrived as standard equipment on my 2015 Triumph T214 Bonneville had served me well. But, with 7,012 miles on...

Voxan Wattman Land Speed Record Electric Motorcycle First Look

Almost totally unknown in the United States, Voxan Motors was founded in 1995 in France by Jacques Gardette. Voxan began life building a variety...