Motorcycle Racing News AMA Supercross/Motocross 2016 Anaheim 2 Supercross Results | Dungey Dominates 450SX Again

2016 Anaheim 2 Supercross Results | Dungey Dominates 450SX Again

Dungey Extends Monster Energy Supercross 450SX Championship Lead

Ryan Dungey - 2016 Supercross - Anaheim 2Red Bull KTM’s Ryan Dungey claimed his second consecutive 450SX win of 2016 at Round 3 of the Monster Energy AMA Supercross season at Angel Stadium in Anaheim.

Dungey started the Main in second place and worked his way past BTO Sports KTM’s Davi Millsaps to take the lead on lap three. From there, defending Supercross champion Dungey rode 17 flawless laps to take the checkered flag, carding his second win of the season and extending his points lead going into Round 4 in Oakland next Saturday.

Monster Energy/360Fly/Chapparal/Yamaha Factory Racing’s Chad Reed put his Yamaha YZ450F in second place for the second week in a row, showing that he is a title contender for 2016. A two-time Monster Energy Supercross champion, Reed came around the first corner in third place and improved his position by one when he passed Millsaps.

From there, Reed never challenged Dungey, and withstood attacks from RCH/Soaring Eagle/Jimmy Johns/Suzuki Factory Racing’s Ken Roczen and Monster Energy Kawasaki’s Eli Tomac to secure his second consecutive 2nd place finish of the season. Reed now sits in 2nd place in the championship standings with 59 points, leapfrogging over Team Honda HRC’s Cole Seely and Rockstar Energy Husqvarna’s Jason Anderson.

2016 Supercross Anaheim 2 Race Report ResultsClaiming the final spot on the podium was Roczen. The German rider had his work cut out for him as he came around the first corner mired in 9th place. Roczen utilized his smooth style to make his way through the field to achieve his first podium performance of the season. He came close to passing Reed late in the race, but an error forced him to abandon that effort and accept 3rd place.

Monster Energy Kawasaki’s Eli Tomac finished the race in 4th place after coming around the first corner in 10th. Tomac was hot on Reed’s rear wheel when he lost the front end coming out of a corner on the final lap, allowing Roczen by. With three 4th place finishes in a row, Tomac sits 5th in the championship with 54 points, a single point behind Seely.

Rounding out the top five was A1 winner Anderson. He struggled with a mediocre start, which left him 12th place in the first turn. The New Mexico native worked his way through the field on his FC 450, reaching 5th place by the time the checkered flag was waved at the end of the 20 lap main event.

Team Honda HRC’s Cole Seely, BTO Sports KTM’s Davi Millsaps, BTO Sports KTM’s Justin Brayton, Red Bull KTM’s Marvin Musquin, and Team Tedder/Monster Energy/Kawasaki Racing Team’s Jake Weimer rounded out the top 10.

It was a difficult night for Team Honda HRC’s Trey Canard, who suffered a bloody hand injury. After tangling in his Heat with two other riders and going down hard in the opening rhythm section, he transferred out of the Semi. In the Main, he collided with Brayton just before the starting line at the end of the second lap. He left the track and was credited with a last place finish.

Also having a tough night was ProAction KTM-sponsored Michael Akaydin. His #918 KTM 450 SX-F was stolen from the tunnel that connects the track to the pit area outside of Angel Stadium. According to Akaydin, it is his only bike. Check out his Twitter feed at @Akaydin918 for more information.

The 450SX field for A2 was decimated by injuries. Off the track at Anaheim 2 included James Stewart, Blake Baggett, Justin Bogle, Dean Wilson (injured in qualifying), Broc Tickle, and Justin Barcia. All but Barcia and Tickle are expected to return for the Oakland round.

Photography by Simon Cudby

2016 Monster Energy AMA Supercross 450SX Results – Round 3 – Anaheim Stadium

1. Ryan Dungey – KTM 450 SX-F Factory Edition

2. Chad Reed – Yamaha YZ450F

3. Ken Roczen – Suzuki RM-Z450

4. Eli Tomac – Kawasaki KX450F

5. Jason Anderson – Husqvarna FC 450

6. Cole Seely – Honda CRF450R

7. Davi Millsaps – KTM 450 SX-F

8. Justin Brayton – KTM 450 SX-F Factory Edition

9. Marvin Musquin – KTM 450 SX-F Factory Edition

10. Jake Weimer – Kawasaki KX450F

11. Wil Hahn – Kawasaki KX450F

12. Christophe Pourcel – Husqvarna FC 450

13. Mike Alessi – Honda CRF450R

14. Weston Peick – Yamaha YZ450F

15. Tommy Hahn – Yamaha YZ450F

16. Vince Friese – Honda CRF450R

17. Nick Schmidt – Suzuki RM-Z450

18. Lawson Bopping – Yamaha YZ450F

19. Dakota Tedder – Kawasaki KX450F

20. Jeff Alessi – Suzuki RM-Z450

21. Phil Nicoletti – Yamaha YZ450F

22. Trey Canard – Honda CRF450R

2016 Monster Energy AMA Supercross 450SX Standings (after 3 of 17 rounds)

1. Ryan Dungey, 72 points (2 wins)

2. Chad Reed, 59

3. Jason Anderson, 57 (1 win)

4. Cole Seely, 55

5. Eli Tomac, 54

6. Ken Roczen, 51

7. Davi Millsaps, 36

8. Justin Brayton, 35

9. Jake Weimer, 33

10. Marvin Musquin, 31

11. Trey Canard, 29

12. Christophe Pourcel, 20

13. Wil Hahn, 18

14. Dean Wilson, 18

15. Broc Tickle, 17

2021 Moto Guzzi V7 Stone 100th Anniversary First Look

Back in December, we gave you a first look at the new 2021 Moto Guzzi V7 lineup. The big news was an increase in...

2022 Triumph Bonneville Bobber First Look (11 Fast Facts)

The 2022 Triumph Bonneville Bobber enjoys a wide range of updates that include functional and aesthetic. The changes are, in part, to meet Euro...

2021 MV Agusta Dragster RR SCS RC First Look (9 Fast Facts)

The 2021 MV Agusta Dragster RR SCS RC is the new flagship of the urban-brawling Dragster lineup. The RC stands for Reparto Corse, and...

2022 Triumph Bonneville T100 First Look (9 Fast Facts)

The Triumph Bonneville T100 gets a more powerful and higher-revving motor for 2022,  along with a lighter chassis and upgraded suspension as the British...

2022 Triumph Street Twin First Look (7 Fast Facts)

The best-selling Triumph Street Twin is back with motor changes to meet Euro 5 standards, upgraded styling, and a classy new variant. Let’s take...

2021 Harley-Davidson Pan America 1250: 150 HP ADV [17 Fast Facts]

Harley-Davidson officially unveiled Monday its all-new adventure touring motorcycles, the 2021 Pan America 1250 and Pan America 1250 Special. The Motor Company released all the...