2014 Aragon Moto2 Preview | Rabat Keeps Title Hopes Alive

2014 Aragon Moto2 Preview | Rabat Keeps Title Hopes Alive
Marc VDS Racing's Tito Rabat leading teammate Mika Kallio
2014 Aragon Moto2 Preview | Rabat Keeps Title Hopes Alive
Marc VDS Racing’s Tito Rabat leading teammate Mika Kallio

2014 Aragon Moto2 Preview

As the 2014 Moto2 Championship heads this weekend to Motorland Aragon, Tito Rabat (Marc VDS Racing Team) holds a 22-point lead over teammate Mika Kallio.

Rabat has beaten the Finn to the finish line in the last three races, keeping Kallio trailing in second place. But things can change this weekend.

With round 14 moving to Aragon, fans can expect an all-out effort on Rabat’s part to repeat his winning feat and please the home country crowd. In addition, Rabat is only the third rider in Moto2 history to win three or more consecutive victories, and it’s a sure thing he’d love to make it four in a row.

Kallio has three victories this year and knows he must top the podium soon in order to gain ground on Rabat in the title hunt. Kallio has been a steady contender getting on the podium in each of the last five events, including a the last round out in Misano.

Trailing Kallio in the standings is Maverick Viñales (Paginas Amarillas HP 40), who is the only rider other than Rabat and Kallio with a mathematical possibility of winning the 2014 Moto2 title. He placed fourth at Misano but has been on the podium five times so far in his rookie season and will need to do it again to have a title shot.

Dominique Aegerter (SWI) (Technomag carXpert) is fourth in the standings, after his sixth place finish at Misano. Thomas Luthi (SWI) (Interwetten Paddock Moto2) holds fifth place in the standings going into Aragon.

Kalex is already the Moto2 Constructors’ World Champion of 2014, and although second-placed Suter could equal Kalex’s points tally of 315, the latter would still claim the title by virtue of a greater number of race victories.

2014 Moto2 Point Standings (after 13 of 18 rounds):

Pos. Rider Bike Nation Points
1 Esteve RABAT Kalex SPA 258
2 Mika KALLIO Kalex FIN 236
3 Maverick VIÑALES Kalex SPA 179
4 Dominique AEGERTER Suter SWI 133
5 Thomas LUTHI Suter SWI 103
6 Simone CORSI Kalex ITA 100
7 Johann ZARCO Caterham Suter FRA 88
8 Anthony WEST Speed Up AUS 65
9 Luis SALOM Kalex SPA 63
10 Sandro CORTESE Kalex GER 62
11 Franco MORBIDELLI Kalex ITA 52
12 Marcel SCHROTTER Tech 3 GER 51
13 Jonas FOLGER Kalex GER 48
14 Sam LOWES Speed Up GBR 42
15 Xavier SIMEON Suter BEL 39
16 Alex DE ANGELIS Suter RSM 37
17 Julian SIMON Kalex SPA 36
18 Mattia PASINI Kalex ITA 32
19 Jordi TORRES Suter SPA 32
20 Hafizh SYAHRIN Kalex MAL 29
21 Ricard CARDUS Tech 3 SPA 28
22 Axel PONS Kalex SPA 28
23 Randy KRUMMENACHER Suter SWI 24
24 Takaaki NAKAGAMI Kalex JPN 23
25 Louis ROSSI Kalex FRA 13
26 Lorenzo BALDASSARRI Suter ITA 12
27 Gino REA Suter GBR 5
28 Nicolas TEROL Suter SPA 2