Motorcycle Racing News AMA Supercross/Motocross 2014 AMSOIL Arenacross Heads to Baltimore | Preview

2014 AMSOIL Arenacross Heads to Baltimore | Preview

2014 AMSOIL Arenacross Heads to Baltimore | Preview2014 Baltimore Arenacross Preview

The opening round of AMSOIL Arenacross, featuring Ricky Carmichael’s Road to Supercross, set the tone for what should be an exciting season of competition as three different winners emerged from the four Arenacross Class Main Events.

On the heels of back-to-back runner-up finishes over the weekend, Babbitt’s Monster Energy/AMSOIL Kawasaki presented by Maxxis’ Zach Ames sits atop the championship standings heading into the second round of action this weekend from Baltimore. Two nights of racing inside Baltimore Arena begin Friday, January 10, and conclude Saturday, January 11.

While reigning three-time Arenacross Class Champion Tyler Bowers began the season with an impressive Main Event sweep on opening night in Worcester, Mass., he experienced misfortune aboard his Babbitt’s Monster Energy/AMSOIL Kawasaki during each Main Event on Night Two.

Ames, who challenged his teammate en route to second last Friday, capitalized on Bowers’ hard luck with another second-place performance behind Saturday night winner and Racing Kawasaki rider Michael McDade. Ames’ consistency gives last year’s championship runner-up a slim one-point advantage over McDade heading into Baltimore.

Bowers fell from first to sixth in the points after his finish outside the top 10 on Saturday and sits 15 points behind Ames. As a result, the defending champion will have his work cut out for him to chip away at the deficit. Based on his performance on the first night of the season, Bowers has the speed and aggression to rebound but his rivals have already shown no intimidation from Bowers’ dominance the past three seasons, meaning captivating competition should ensue.

Tyler Bowers says: “The season didn’t necessarily start out like I’d hoped, but I’m ready for the challenge. There was some real aggressive racing out there on Saturday and I got the message. I know what it’s going to take to keep winning and I can’t wait to fight back and earn back all the points I lost.”

The start of the Eastern Regional Arenacross Lites Championship was dramatic as two wild nights of competition produced what looks to be a wide-open battle for the title. Each Main Event last Friday and Saturday night resulted in two different winners and a variety of lap leaders.

In the end, Triangle Cycle Yamaha’s Keith Tucker and Hillview Motorsports Suzuki’s Steve Roman walked away victorious. The combination of a win and a third place effort vaulted Roman into the points lead heading into Baltimore. He carries a two-point lead over Maryland native Tony Archer and his Traders Racing Kawasaki machine. With the hometown crowd surely on his side this weekend, Archer will look to take over top spot.

Last year in Baltimore, Ames and Bowers took the Arenacross Class Main Event wins on Night One, with Bowers capturing the overall. On Night Two, Bowers and McDade grabbed the Main Event wins, with McDade ultimately prevailing for the overall when the bonus point for his win in Head-to-Head Bracket Racing broke a tiebreaker. In the Arenacross Lites Class, Jim Neese and Michael Willard stood atop the podium each night.

Action from Baltimore begins at 7 p.m. ET on both Friday and Saturday night.

The entire AMSOIL Arenacross season will air on FOX Sports 1, including re-airs on FOX Sports 2.

2014 Arenacross Class Points (After Race 2 of 19)

Zach Ames, Prospect, Ohio, Kawasaki – 58

Michael McDade, McDonald, Ohio, Kawasaki – 56

Willy Browning, Pleasantville, Ohio, KTM – 49

Jacob Hayes, Greensboro, N.C., Kawasaki – 45

Robby Marshall, Stow, Mass., KTM – 44

Tyler Bowers, Danville, Ky., Kawasaki – 43

Kelly Smith, Ludington, Mich., KTM – 39

Keith Tucker, Fugacy-Varina, N.C., Yamaha – 33

Colt Nichols, S. Muskogee, Okla., Kawasaki – 33

Gavin Gracyk, Cairo, Ga., KTM – 25

Eastern Regional Arenacross Lites Class Points (After Race 2 of 9)

Steve Roman, Apollo, Pa., Suzuki – 30

Tony Archer, Waldorf, Md., Kawasaki – 28

Fredrik Noren, Sweden, KTM – 27

Jacob Williamson, Swartz Creek, Mich., Yamaha – 22

Keith Tucker, Furgacy-Varina, N.C., Yamaha – 16

Scott Zont, Algonquin, Ill., KTM – 15

Brandon Glenn, Mesquite, Texas, KTM – 14

Michael Lang, Saugerties, N.Y., Honda – 14

Tyler Wozney, Clayton, Del., Kawasaki – 13

Travis Delnicki, Woodstock Valley, Conn., Suzuki – 11

Sunny Drake, Fulton, N.Y., Kawasaki – 11

Logan Pfleiderer, Galion, Ohio, KTM – 11

For additional information, log onto

2020 Suzuki GSX-R750 Buyer’s Guide: Specs & Price

Take Suzuki GSX-R600 supersport chassis and put in a 750cc cheater motor, and you have the 2020 Suzuki GSX-R750. Sure, it doesn't fit in...

The Best of Peter Egan: Book Review (Rider’s Library)

relatable, real. Those qualities have made Peter Egan one of the most widely-read writers of our time. Here's a review of The Best of Peter Egan.

2016-2020 Triumph Thruxton Recall: Side Stand Issues

Triumph Motorcycles America has recalled 3,244 of its 2016-2018 Thruxton, 2016-2019 Thruxton R, and 2020 Thruxton TFC motorcycles due to side-stand issues.

2019-2020 Triumph Speed Twin Recall: Gear Shift Lever Issues

Triumph Motorcycles America has recalled 1,304 of its 2019-2020 Speed Twin motorcycles due to gear shift lever issues. Triumph says the gear shift lever linkage...

2020 Anaheim 2 Supercross Results and Coverage: 3 Races, 3 Winners

Eli Tomac made it three winners in three races on three brands in the 2020 Monster Energy Supercross Championship Series as he overcame a...

2020 Dakar Rally Results: Honda’s Brabec Claims 1st Win for USA (Video)

For the past 18 consecutive years, KTM has dominated the Dakar Rally, winning each event in dominating style. Two legendary names are associated with...