2013 Phillip Island Moto2 | Results

Tuenti HP 40's Pol Espargaro at Phillip Island
Tuenti HP 40's Pol Espargaro at Phillip Island
Tuenti HP 40’s Pol Espargaro at Phillip Island

2013 Australian Grand Prix Moto2 Results

Spoiler Alert: 2013 Australian Grand Prix Moto2 results from Phillip Island listed below.

The 2013 Moto2 Championship headed this past weekend down under for the Tissot Australian Grand Prix.

And with only two rounds remaining, Tuenti HP 40’s Pol Espargaro has retaken the Moto2 Championship points lead after a flawless performance Sunday at Phillip Island.

Espargaro’s advantage was helped by the previous points leader’s absence; Marc VDS rider Scott Redding was ruled out after he fractured his wrist Saturday in a qualifying crash.

Joining Espargaro on the Phillip Island podium was Tom Luthi and Jordi Torres, with Tito Rabat sinking to eighth place.

When looking back at the Phillip Island round of the 2013 season, the race is likely to be remembered as a key turning point in the campaign. Redding’s chances took a major blow on Saturday, with the Englishman and long-time championship leader being ruled out of action as he fractured his left wrist. Following an operation on Saturday night, the Marc VDS Racing Team rider was left helpless on the sidelines.

Espargaro started from his fifth pole of the season, joined on the front row by teammate and last weekend’s Sepang winner Tito Rabat who has demonstrated rapidity since practice began on Friday. A reduced race distance saw the riders tackling only 13 laps of the southern Australian venue, with fears over tyres having seen changes to the duration following the qualifying session on Saturday.

It would prove to be a lights to flag victory for Espargaro, his fifth of the season, allowing the Catalan to win at Phillip Island for the second consecutive year; in the process, he snatches back the championship lead for the first time since after the season-opening race in Qatar. In a brilliant day for Espargaro’s championship situation, teammate Rabat finished only eighth after running off the circuit.

Tom Luthi (Interwetten Paddock Moto2 Racing) pushed Espargaro all the way, finishing only half a second behind Espargaro for a fifth rostrum of the season and his second within the space of a week. Jordi Torres was third for Aspar Team Moto2, collecting his first rostrum result since winning the German Grand Prix in July.

The top five was completed by NGM Mobile Racing’s Simone Corsi and former Phillip Island winner Alex de Angelis, who ran second for NGM Mobile Forward Racing in the early stages of the race. Redding’s teammate Mika Kallio was seventh from the aforementioned Rabat, Aspar’s Nico Terol and QMMF Racing’s Anthony West who successfully finished in the top ten in his home event. Reigning Moto3™ World Champion Sandro Cortese finished 11th for Dynavolt Intact GP from Forward’s Ricky Cardus and Tech3’s Danny Kent.

Five riders failed to finish: Julian Simon (Italtrans Racing Team), Johann Zarco (Came IodaRacing Project), Xavier Simeon (Maptaq SAG Zelos Team), Louis Rossi (Tech3) and Alex Mariñelarena (Blusens Avintia), while Tuenti HP 40’s Alex Pons finished 24th after an early-race off. Pons, Italtrans’ Takaaki Nakagami and Maptaq SAG Zelos Team’s Marcel Schrotter were all handed penalties for jumping the start.

With just the Japanese and Valencian rounds of the season remaining, Espargaro leads Redding in the championship by 16 points following a dramatic shaking up of the establishment. Rabat sits third, 36 points behind the leader with a maximum of 50 left on offer. The action will continue at Twin Ring Motegi next weekend.

2013 Phillip Island Moto2 Results:

12540Pol ESPARGAROSPATuenti HP 40Kalex170.720’19.219
22012Thomas LUTHISWIInterwetten Paddock Moto2Suter170.6+0.591
31681Jordi TORRESSPAAspar Team Moto2Suter170.6+0.679
4133Simone CORSIITANGM Mobile RacingSpeed Up170.6+0.893
51115Alex DE ANGELISRSMNGM Mobile Forward RacingSpeed Up170.5+1.111
61077Dominique AEGERTERSWITechnomag carXpertSuter170.3+3.073
7936Mika KALLIOFINMarc VDS Racing TeamKalex170.2+3.234
8880Esteve RABATSPATuenti HP 40Kalex170.2+3.655
9718Nicolas TEROLSPAAspar Team Moto2Suter169.3+10.182
10695Anthony WESTAUSQMMF Racing TeamSpeed Up168.2+18.083
11511Sandro CORTESEGERDynavolt Intact GPKalex168.2+18.317
12488Ricard CARDUSSPANGM Mobile Forward RacingSpeed Up168.0+19.415
13352Danny KENTGBRTech 3Tech 3166.3+32.194
1428Gino REAGBRArgiñano & Gines RacingSpeed Up166.2+32.835
1517Doni Tata PRADITAINAFederal Oil Gresini Moto2Suter165.8+35.588
1654Mattia PASINIITANGM Mobile RacingSpeed Up165.8+36.183
1731Kohta NOZANEJPNJiR Moto2Motobi165.7+36.542
1844Steven ODENDAALRSAArgiñano & Gines RacingSpeed Up165.7+36.913
1925Azlan SHAHMALIDEMITSU Honda Team AsiaMoriwaki165.6+37.099
2097Rafid Topan SUCIPTOINAQMMF Racing TeamSpeed Up165.6+37.426
2123Marcel SCHROTTERGERMaptaq SAG Zelos TeamKalex165.0+41.817
2230Takaaki NAKAGAMIJPNItaltrans Racing TeamKalex165.0+41.933
2334Ezequiel ITURRIOZARGBlusens AvintiaKalex164.3+47.089
2449Axel PONSSPATuenti HP 40Kalex158.9+1’30.731
Not Classified
92Alex MARIÑELARENASPABlusens AvintiaKalex166.36 Laps
96Louis ROSSIFRATech 3Tech 3166.58 Laps
19Xavier SIMEONBELMaptaq SAG Zelos TeamKalex167.39 Laps
5Johann ZARCOFRACame Iodaracing ProjectSuter166.310 Laps
60Julian SIMONSPAItaltrans Racing TeamKalex164.411 Laps

2013 Moto2 Championship Point Standings:

2Scott REDDINGKalexGBR224
3Esteve RABATKalexSPA204
4Mika KALLIOKalexFIN165
5Dominique AEGERTERSuterSWI143
6Takaaki NAKAGAMIKalexJPN138
7Thomas LUTHISuterSWI130
8Johann ZARCOSuterFRA123
9Nicolas TEROLSuterSPA115
10Jordi TORRESSuterSPA106
11Simone CORSISpeed UpITA92
12Xavier SIMEONKalexBEL71
13Julian SIMONKalexSPA63
14Alex DE ANGELISSpeed UpRSM57
15Anthony WESTSpeed UpAUS48
16Mattia PASINISpeed UpITA42
17Marcel SCHROTTERKalexGER29
18Toni ELIASKalexSPA21
20Mike DI MEGLIOMotobiFRA18
21Sandro CORTESEKalexGER18
22Danny KENTTech 3GBR15
23Ricard CARDUSSpeed UpSPA7
24Louis ROSSITech 3FRA4
25Gino REASpeed UpGBR2
26Axel PONSKalexSPA2
28Doni Tata PRADITASuterINA1