Motorcycle Types Motocross / Off-Road KTM's Russell Wins Snowshoe GNCC

KTM’s Russell Wins Snowshoe GNCC

KTM's Kaliub Russell at Snowshoe GNCC
KTM’s Kaliub Russell at Snowshoe GNCC

2013 GNCC Series Results from Snowshow, W.V.

For the third consecutive time, Factory FMF/KTM rider Kaliub Russell was victorious in the GNCC series, his latest arriving this past weekend at the Snowshoe Ski Resort in West Virginia.

Joining Russell on the podium was his teammate, Charlie Mullins, who finished 10 seconds back after an intense, three-hour bate, and Honda’s Thad Duvall

Russell and Mullins leaped off to decent starts at the beginning of the race. The two KTM riders battled for the lead until Russell suffered a crash early on in the first lap. He quickly recovered and moved back up to second place before he suffered another tip over that set him back to seventh place.

Kaliub Russell says: “My second crash on the first loop hurt me more than the first as I had to dig my bike out of the woods and lost about 30 seconds. Once I was back on track, it took me a while to get back into a podium position as it was difficult to make passes in the wooded sections and a little sketchy to try and pass everyone in the wide open parts. Eventually, I got it done and found myself back in second position before the halfway point of the race.”

Once in second, he dropped the hammer and turned lap times faster than his teammate Mullins, which allowed him to close the gap and challenge for the lead. With two laps to go he was able to get by Mullins on an uphill ski slope and move into the lead position.

From there he went on to finish the race without any mistakes to claim his third consecutive win. Mullins remained in the hunt and finished only 10 seconds down when the checkered flag flew. Now heading into the summer break the two KTM teammates are tied for the points lead.

In the XC2 Pro Lites class, rookie rider, Grant Baylor, took his third win of the season. Baylor caught and passed Jason Thomas for the lead on the final lap to secure the win and strengthen his points lead.

Next Event: New Berlin, NY – September 7-8, 2013

Overall Results (XC1 Pro and XC2 Pro Lites Combined):

  1.  Kailub Russell – KTM
  2. Charlie Mullins – KTM
  3. Thad Duvall – Honda
  4. Chris Bach – KTM
  5. Grant Baylor – KTM
  6. Jason Thomas – KTM
  7. Shane Hufford – KTM
  8. Paul Whibley – Yamaha
  9. Scott Grills – Kawasaki
  10. Layne Michael – KTM

Overall Point Standings XC1 Pro Class:

  1. Kailub Russell – 230
  2. Charlie Mullins – 230
  3. Chris Bach – 158

Overall Point Standings XC2 Pro Lites Class:

  1. Grant Baylor – 209
  2. Jason Thomas – 190
  3. Andrew Delong – 121


2022 Triumph Bonneville Bobber First Look (11 Fast Facts)

The 2022 Triumph Bonneville Bobber enjoys a wide range of updates that include functional and aesthetic. The changes are, in part, to meet Euro...

2021 MV Agusta Dragster RR SCS RC First Look (9 Fast Facts)

The 2021 MV Agusta Dragster RR SCS RC is the new flagship of the urban-brawling Dragster lineup. The RC stands for Reparto Corse, and...

2022 Triumph Bonneville T100 First Look (9 Fast Facts)

The Triumph Bonneville T100 gets a more powerful and higher-revving motor for 2022,  along with a lighter chassis and upgraded suspension as the British...

2022 Triumph Street Twin First Look (7 Fast Facts)

The best-selling Triumph Street Twin is back with motor changes to meet Euro 5 standards, upgraded styling, and a classy new variant. Let’s take...

2021 Harley-Davidson Pan America 1250: 150 HP ADV [17 Fast Facts]

Harley-Davidson officially unveiled Monday its all-new adventure touring motorcycles, the 2021 Pan America 1250 and Pan America 1250 Special. The Motor Company released all the...

Story of Warner Riley’s 200+ MPH Run Aboard a Sportster 50 Years Ago!

50 years ago Warner Riley began working toward having the World’s Fastest Conventional Motorcycle. With help from S&S Cycle in Wisconsin, topping 200 mph...