2013 Assen TT Moto3 | Dutch Grand Prix Results

Red Bull KTM Ajo's Luis Salom leads the Assen Moto3 field
Red Bull KTM Ajo's Luis Salom leads the Assen Moto3 field
Red Bull KTM Ajo’s Luis Salom leads the Assen Moto3 field

2013 Assen Moto3 Results

Spoiler Alert: Moto3 Championship results from the Assen TT circuit in the Netherlands listed below

After a hard-fought battle at Saturday’s Iveco TT Assen Moto3 race, Red Bull KTM Ajo’s Luis Salom took the win. This helped him increase his Moto3 points lead by 10 points ahead of Maverick Vinales.

During the final moments of the race, Vinales looked like he would take home the win. But he lost the first position to Salom, and had to settle for second. Taking the final podium position was the Moto3 pilot who led most of the 22-lap race, Alex Rins.

On Friday, Miguel Oliveira became the first-ever Portuguese rider to clinch pole position in any class. He also earned the first Moto3 pole for Mahindra Racing. He would finish the race fourth and involved in a titanic five-rider battle for the lead, with Salom picking up his third consecutive win and fourth of 2013.

Salom started fourth, having lost provisional pole position after running off-track in qualifying. He took second in the early stages of the race before dropping back to fourth position and holding station. His late-race attack – fast becoming a typical strategy of the Mallorcan – would begin in earnest three laps from home, pulling an impressive move on Rins for second.

It looked as though Viñales had the race won thanks to the fight taking place behind, but the Team Calvo rider’s wide line on the exit of Ramshoek was just the invitation Salom needed on the last lap. They would cross the finish line just a tenth of a second apart, with Alex Marquez dropping to fifth as Estrella Galicia 0,0 teammate Rins completed the podium.

Rins headed the field for the majority of the race and by Lap 10 had pulled out a lead of 1.3 seconds, but this was quickly decreased as Salom in particular upped the pace of the chasing group. 19 seconds behind the top five, Jonas Folger was sixth for Mapfre Aspar Team Moto3, with Caretta Technology – RTG’s Jack Miller a further eight seconds in arrears.

Red Bull KTM Ajo’s Arthur Sissis, Ongetta-Rivacold’s Alexis Masbou and Avant Tecno’s Niklas Ajo rounded out the top ten, while both CIP Moto3’s Juanfran Guevara and Ambrogio Racing’s Danny Webb were injured in crashes; the Spaniard was taken to Assen hospital for a CT scan following a first-corner accident, whereas the Englishman fractured his right wrist and was attended to in the Clinica Mobile.

Salom’s feat marks only the second time a rider has won three consecutive races in the Moto3 class.

2013 Assen Moto3 Results:

1 25 39 Luis SALOM SPA Red Bull KTM Ajo KTM 156.3 38’20.086
2 20 25 Maverick VIÑALES SPA Team Calvo KTM 156.3 +0.122
3 16 42 Alex RINS SPA Estrella Galicia 0,0 KTM 156.3 +0.282
4 13 44 Miguel OLIVEIRA POR Mahindra Racing Mahindra 156.3 +0.378
5 11 12 Alex MARQUEZ SPA Estrella Galicia 0,0 KTM 156.3 +0.416
6 10 94 Jonas FOLGER GER Mapfre Aspar Team Moto3 Kalex KTM 155.0 +19.646
7 9 8 Jack MILLER AUS Caretta Technology – RTG FTR Honda 154.5 +27.688
8 8 61 Arthur SISSIS AUS Red Bull KTM Ajo KTM 154.5 +27.811
9 7 10 Alexis MASBOU FRA Ongetta-Rivacold FTR Honda 154.0 +34.797
10 6 31 Niklas AJO FIN Avant Tecno KTM 154.0 +34.823
11 5 32 Isaac VIÑALES SPA Ongetta-Centro Seta FTR Honda 154.0 +35.130
12 4 7 Efren VAZQUEZ SPA Mahindra Racing Mahindra 154.0 +35.361
13 3 23 Niccolò ANTONELLI ITA GO&FUN Gresini Moto3 FTR Honda 154.0 +35.523
14 2 5 Romano FENATI ITA San Carlo Team Italia FTR Honda 154.0 +35.628
15 1 41 Brad BINDER RSA Ambrogio Racing Suter Honda 153.9 +35.886
16 84 Jakub KORNFEIL CZE Redox RW Racing GP Kalex KTM 153.9 +35.948
17 63 Zulfahmi KHAIRUDDIN MAL Red Bull KTM Ajo KTM 153.9 +36.169
18 89 Alan TECHER FRA CIP Moto3 TSR Honda 153.9 +36.486
19 51 Bryan SCHOUTEN NED Dutch Racing Team FTR Honda 153.9 +36.632
20 77 Lorenzo BALDASSARRI ITA GO&FUN Gresini Moto3 FTR Honda 153.9 +36.747
21 17 John McPHEE GBR Caretta Technology – RTG FTR Honda 153.8 +38.583
22 65 Philipp OETTL GER Tec Interwetten Moto3 Racing Kalex KTM 153.0 +50.764
23 11 Livio LOI BEL Marc VDS Racing Team Kalex KTM 153.0 +50.843
24 9 Toni FINSTERBUSCH GER Kiefer Racing Kalex KTM 153.0 +50.963
25 19 Alessandro TONUCCI ITA La Fonte Tascaracing FTR Honda 152.9 +51.168
26 4 Francesco BAGNAIA ITA San Carlo Team Italia FTR Honda 152.9 +51.285
27 3 Matteo FERRARI ITA Ongetta-Centro Seta FTR Honda 152.9 +51.748
28 57 Eric GRANADO BRA Mapfre Aspar Team Moto3 Kalex KTM 152.4 +58.945
29 22 Ana CARRASCO SPA Team Calvo KTM 151.7 +1’10.891
30 66 Florian ALT GER Kiefer Racing Kalex KTM 150.0 +1’37.593
31 29 Hyuga WATANABE JPN La Fonte Tascaracing FTR Honda 150.0 +1’37.767
Not Classified
53 Jasper IWEMA NED RW Racing GP Kalex KTM 153.1 4 Laps
71 Thomas VAN LEEUWEN NED Racing Team Van Leeuwen Bakker Honda 148.4 5 Laps
99 Danny WEBB GBR Ambrogio Racing Suter Honda 153.2 13 Laps
58 Juanfran GUEVARA SPA CIP Moto3 TSR Honda 0 Lap

2013 Moto3 Championship Point Standings:

Pos. Rider Bike Nation Points
1 Luis SALOM KTM SPA 152
2 Maverick VIÑALES KTM SPA 142
3 Alex RINS KTM SPA 117
4 Jonas FOLGER Kalex KTM GER 73
6 Miguel OLIVEIRA Mahindra POR 56
7 Alexis MASBOU FTR Honda FRA 42
9 Brad BINDER Suter Honda RSA 39
10 Jack MILLER FTR Honda AUS 38
11 Arthur SISSIS KTM AUS 33
12 Niklas AJO KTM FIN 32
13 Efren VAZQUEZ Mahindra SPA 31
14 Jakub KORNFEIL Kalex KTM CZE 27
15 Isaac VIÑALES FTR Honda SPA 22
16 Romano FENATI FTR Honda ITA 20
17 Danny WEBB Suter Honda GBR 15
18 Niccolò ANTONELLI FTR Honda ITA 12
19 John McPHEE FTR Honda GBR 10
20 Eric GRANADO Kalex KTM BRA 7
21 Jasper IWEMA Kalex KTM NED 6
22 Alan TECHER TSR Honda FRA 3
23 Alessandro TONUCCI FTR Honda ITA 2
24 Livio LOI Kalex KTM BEL 1
25 Philipp OETTL Kalex KTM GER 1


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.