Motorcycle Racing News AMA Supercross/Motocross 2013 Budds Creek AMA Motocross | Results

2013 Budds Creek AMA Motocross | Results

2013 AMA Pro Motocross

Spoiler Alert: 2013 AMA Motocross results from Budds Creek in Mechanicsville, Md., listed below

The 2013 AMA Motocross Championship headed Saturday to Mechanicsville, Md., for round five of 12 of the series.

And for the second time this season, the reigning AMA Motocross Champion, Red Bull KTM’s Ryan Dungey, was victorious. With his win two weeks ago at High Point in Pennsylvania, the SX-F 450 rider has taken back-to-back wins.

Joining Dungey on the overall podium at Budds Creek was Monster Energy Kawasaki’s Ryan Villopoto and Muscle Milk Honda’s Trey Canard.

When Budds Creek MX got underway, Yoshimura Suzuki’s James Stewart was posted the fastest lap, but he didn’t get the holeshot. Toyota/JGR/Yamaha’s Justin Brayton and Smartop/MotoConcepts Racing’s Mike Alessi battled for the Motorcycle Superstore Holeshot, but Alessi secured it at the last second.

But the fastest rider was Villopoto, who took the early lead and gapped the field.

Dungey took second on the opening lap, and crept up on Villopoto. But while charging, Dungey experienced a crash, losing time to Villopoto. This allowed Villopoto to take his eighth moto win of 2013 AMA Motocross. Dungey would finish second, followed by Alessi in third.

In the second moto, Alessi again grabbed the holeshot, but quickly lost the lead to Dungey. The KTM rider was untouchable, though Villopoto, who started in the top 10, was able to catch up towards the end to finish second.

Taking third was Lucas Oil/Troy Lee Designs/Honda’s Malcolm Stewart, who took the best finish of his career.

Ryan Dungey (Red Bull KTM SX-F 450 Motocross) says: “With more intensity and more guys out there this year, it keeps you on your feet and you really have to push it.

“I feel like we’ve made good progress with the bike, the last couple of weeks we’ve been doing a lot of testing and it was good to see everything pay off today.”

Blake Baggett returned to his winning ways from 2012 as the defending 250 Class champion secured his first overall victory of the season with a big win at Budds Creek.

GEICO Honda’s Wil Hahn made a valiant return to Lucas Oil Pro Motocross after missing the first four rounds with a wrist injury, grabbing the Motorcycle Superstore Holeshot in Moto 1 of the 250 Class. Hahn was joined by an onslaught of others right away, including FMF/Orange Brigade/KTM’s Joey Savatgy, Monster Energy/Pro Circuit/Kawasaki’s rookie Adam Cianciarulo and Rockstar Energy Racing’s Jason Anderson, MX Sports says.

However, Red Bull KTM’s Marvin Musquin, who has cemented the last two consecutive overall victories in the 250 Class, wasted little time getting out front in Moto 1. Musquin opened a gap on the rest of the field early on, while his teammate Ken Roczen spent the first few laps chasing Anderson and Hahn, as the three battled it out for second place. Defending 250 Class champion Blake Baggett began Moto 1 around the tenth place position where he quickly climbed his way to the front with a few laps to go. Baggett, Musquin and Roczen traded positions throughout the final laps, but it was Baggett who secured the moto win, followed by Musquin and then Roczen, MX Sports says.

In Moto 2 of the 250 Class, Hahn once again came out swinging with the Motorcycle Superstore Holeshot and early lead. Monster Energy/Pro Circuit/Kawasaki’s Darryn Durham put in a season best ride in the second moto, leading the first half of the race. However, after beginning the race outside the top ten, Tomac eventually caught up to Durham and took over the lead late in the race. Tomac maintained his position out front, taking the Moto 2 win and second overall for the day, MX Sports says.

Baggett held on for the second place finish in Moto 2 and his (1-2) moto score was good enough to give the defending champion his first overall win of the season in the 250 Class. Durham maintained the third place position to secure his first career podium finish in Moto 2. Musquin and Roczen both finished outside of the top five for the first time all season, giving them third and fourth place overall, respectively, MX Sports says.

Round 6 of the Lucas Oil Pro Motocross Championship heads to Southwick, Mass., for the Chaplin Kawasaki Moto-X 338 National on Saturday, June 29.

2013 Budds Creek AMA Motocross 450 Class (Moto Finish):

1. Ryan Dungey, Belle Plaine, Minn., KTM (2-1)

2. Ryan Villopoto, Poulsbo, Wash., Kawasaki (1-2)

3. Trey Canard, Oklahoma City, Okla., Honda, (6-4)

4. Malcolm Stewart, Haines City, Fla., Honda (9-3)

5. Justin Barcia, Monroe, N.Y., Honda (4-8)

6. Justin Brayton, Fort Dodge, Iowa, Yamaha (7-7)

7. Broc Tickle, Holly, Mich., Suzuki (10-5)

8. Jake Weimer, Twin Falls, Idaho, Kawasaki (8-10)

9. Phil Nicoletti, Cohocton, N.Y., Yamaha (15-6)

10. Andrew Short, Colorado Springs, Colo., KTM (12-9)

2013 AMA Motocross 450 Class Championship Standings:

1. Ryan Villopoto, Poulsbo, Wash., Kawasaki, 240

2. Ryan Dungey, Belle Plaine, Minn., KTM, 224

3. Justin Barcia, Monroe, N.Y., Honda, 179

4. Trey Canard, Oklahoma City, Okla., Honda, 153

5. Mike Alessi, Victorville, Calif., Suzuki,136

6. James Stewart, Haines City, Fla., Suzuki, 122

7. Tyla Rattray, Durban, South Africa, Kawasaki, 95

8. Ryan Sipes, Elizabethtown, Ky., Suzuki, 95

9. Broc Tickle, Holly, Mich., Suzuki, 94

10. Jake Weimer, Twin Falls, Idaho, Kawasaki, 93

2013 Budds Creek AMA Motocross 250 Class (Moto Finish):

1. Blake Baggett, Grand Terrace, Calif., Kawasaki (1-2)

2. Eli Tomac, Cortez, Colo., Honda (5-1)

3. Marvin Musquin, La Reole, France, KTM (2-7)

4. Ken Roczen, Apolda, Germany, KTM (3-6)

5. Wil Hahn, Decatur, Texas, Honda (6-5)

6. Jason Anderson, Edgewood, N.M., Suzuki (4-11)

7. Darryn Durham, Butler, Pa., Kawasaki (13-3)

8. Kyle Cunningham, Aledo, Texas, Yamaha (7-9)

9. Zach Osborne, Abingdon, Va., Honda (17-4)

10. Justin Hill, Yoncalla, Ore., Kawasaki (10-10)

2013 AMA Motocross 250 Class Championship Standings:

1. Ken Roczen, Apolda, Germany, KTM, 220

2. Eli Tomac, Cortez, Colo., Honda, 211

3. Marvin Musquin, La Reole, France, KTM, 199

4. Blake Baggett, Grand Terrace, Calif., Kawasaki, 188

5. Zach Osborne, Abingdon, Va., Honda, 149

6. Jason Anderson, Edgewood, N.M., Suzuki, 128

7. Jeremy Martin, Millville, Minn., Yamaha, 109

8. Kyle Cunningham, Aledo, Texas, Yamaha, 107

9. Justin Bogle, Cushing, Okla., Honda, 104

10. Cooper Webb, Morehead City, N.C., Yamaha, 99

2021 Moto Guzzi V7 Stone 100th Anniversary First Look

Back in December, we gave you a first look at the new 2021 Moto Guzzi V7 lineup. The big news was an increase in...

2022 Triumph Bonneville Bobber First Look (11 Fast Facts)

The 2022 Triumph Bonneville Bobber enjoys a wide range of updates that include functional and aesthetic. The changes are, in part, to meet Euro...

2021 MV Agusta Dragster RR SCS RC First Look (9 Fast Facts)

The 2021 MV Agusta Dragster RR SCS RC is the new flagship of the urban-brawling Dragster lineup. The RC stands for Reparto Corse, and...

2022 Triumph Bonneville T100 First Look (9 Fast Facts)

The Triumph Bonneville T100 gets a more powerful and higher-revving motor for 2022,  along with a lighter chassis and upgraded suspension as the British...

2022 Triumph Street Twin First Look (7 Fast Facts)

The best-selling Triumph Street Twin is back with motor changes to meet Euro 5 standards, upgraded styling, and a classy new variant. Let’s take...

2021 Harley-Davidson Pan America 1250: 150 HP ADV [17 Fast Facts]

Harley-Davidson officially unveiled Monday its all-new adventure touring motorcycles, the 2021 Pan America 1250 and Pan America 1250 Special. The Motor Company released all the...