FIM Freestyle Motocross NIGHT of the JUMPS Heads to Munich

FIM Freestyle Motocross NIGHT of the JUMPS Heads to Munich
FIM Freestyle Motocross NIGHT of the JUMPS Heads to Munich
FIM Freestyle Motocross NIGHT of the JUMPS Heads to Munich

2013 FIM Freestyle MX Championship NIGHT of the JUMPS

April 27 is a red-letter day for all lovers of extreme sports. The Olympiahalle in Munich is about to play host to NIGHT of the JUMPs for the third time, but this will be the first occasion on which the Bavarian fans have witnessed a European Championship fixture.

And the field of riders for the third round of the Freestyle MX European Championship could not be more star-studded.

Topping the bill is 2010 Motocross World Champion Libor Podmol (CZE). He is joined by Brice Izzo (FRA) and Jose Miralles (ESP), two former runners-up in the FIM Freestyle MX World Championship. Spanish rider Dany Torres, who won the X-Fighters in 2011, will be contesting the European title for the first time and is looking to notch up a maiden victory in the NIGHT of the JUMPs series with his Oxecutioner Flip and Paris Hilton Backflip.

But David Rinaldo will have different ideas: he leads the 2013 European Championship standings and has already won two World Championship competitions this season.

Hannes Ackermann also has big ambitions. The best of the current crop of German FMX riders occupies fourth spot in the championship table and has been practicing his Tsunami Backflip in the hope of securing a podium in front of his home crowd. Hannes’ 15-year-old brother Luc will be measuring himself against the world elite in the MAXXIS Race & Style and the ROCKWELL Best Whip contests. The third German flying the flag is Kai Haase; the Berliner is not only aiming to qualify for the freestyle final but is also a good bet for the Race & Style sideshow.

Standing in for the injured reigning world champion Remi Bizouard is fellow Frenchman Maxime Gregoire, and there is every chance that he could be performing The Volt. Expect a blast from the past as Englishman Chris Brock makes a NIGHT of the JUMPs comeback.

After an astonishing seven year’s absence, he will be hoping to rekindle some of the former magic and wing his way into the final. The rider line-up is completed by Maikel Melero from Spain and Russian favorite Aleksey Koleshnikov, both of whom will be venturing into the European Championship fray for the first time this season.

So the Munich fans can look forward to a spectacular international contest, with various trick premieres and new riders. Another star attraction on the bill is Emma McFerran.

The Australian, who is one of only two women active on the world FMX scene, aims to become the first female to pull off an FMX backflip on Bavarian soil. Following the resounding success of the Mountain Bike Show last year, the aerial acrobats have been invited back as part of the support programme. Newcomer Antti Rissanen from Finland, will be contributing to the stunning repertoire of the troupe. If you miss this spectacle in Munich, you will only have yourself to blame.

NIGHT of the JUMPs in Olympiahalle, Munich / Germany Field of riders:

  • Libor Podmol (CZE)
  • David Rinaldo (FRA)
  • Dany Torres (ESP)
Brice Izzo (FRA)
  • Hannes Ackermann (GER)
  • Jose Miralles (ESP)
  • Kai Haase (GER)
  • Maikel Melero (ESP)
  • Maxime Gregoire (FRA)
  • Chris Brock (ENG)
  • Aleksey Koleshnikov (RUS)
  • + Luc Ackermann (GER) in Race & Style and Best Whip
  • + Emma McFerran (AUS)

Freestyle MX European Championships Ranking (after 2nd contest):
1. David Rinaldo            FRA    FFM        Yamaha    40 Points
2. Brice Izzo            FRA    FFM        Yamaha    34 Points
3. Libor Podmol            CZE    ACCR        Yamaha    30 Points
4. Hannes Ackermann        GER    DMSB        KTM        30 Points
5. Petr Pilat            CZE    ACCR        KTM        24 Points
6. Jose Miralles            ESP    RFME        KTM        22 Points
7. Martin Koren            CZE    ACCR        KTM        17 Points
8. Massimo Bianconcini        ITA    PZM        KTM        17 Points
9. Thomas Wirnsberger        AUT    OSK        Suzuki     13 Points
10. Maxime Gregoire        FRA    FFM        Yamaha      7 Points
11. Remi Bizouard        FRA    FFM        Honda          6 Points
12. Fred Wasner            FRA    FFM        Yamaha      5 Points


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.