Motorcycle Types Adventure / Dual-Sport 2012 Ontario AMA EnduroCross | Results

2012 Ontario AMA EnduroCross | Results

2012 AMA Endurocross

When multi-time Geico AMA EnduroCross Champion Taddy Blazusiak of Poland gets a holeshot on his Red Bull KTM, he usually checks out and cruises to yet another victory.

However, at the 2012 Ontario round, Beta’s Cody Webb had other ideas.

Webb was second out of the second turn before momentarily relinquishing the runner-up spot to Monster Energy Kawasaki’s Justin Soule, who was returning to action after dislocating his shoulder at the Sacramento round.

After overtaking Soule, Webb was on a mission to hunt down the seemingly unassailable Blazusiak, who was the fastest qualifier in the afternoon.

With Soule making an error and dropping back to fifth behind Kawasaki’s Gary Sutherlin and Husqvarna rider Kyle Redmond, Webb was putting pressure on Blazusiak. The two riders pushing hard separated themselves from the remainder of the pack, making it a mano y mano battle. Both were flying through The Matrix, a trickly section with logs spaced just perfectly to catch wheels and toss imperfect riders into the hard dirt.

Finally, in the deceptively difficult wood chunks and chips section, Blazusiak made a bobble. Webb closed the gap, then pounced in the rock garden guarding the finish line, taking the lead to the roar of his home state crowd.

Blazusiak stuck with Webb, never allowing Webb an opportunity to open up a lead and take a breather. Eventually, in the same woodpile that cost Blazusiak a position earlier, he found a faster line to return to the front.

While Webb was not done and continued to ride hard, by the time the white flag came out, Blazusiak had a commanding lead on his KTM. A consistent final lap sealed the deal and Blazusiak had another win in the books. Webb took his Beta to a comfortable second, while Soule and his Monster Energy Kawasaki regained the final podium position.


1. Taddy Blazusiak (#111)…KTM

2. Cody Webb (#5)…Beta

3. Justin Soule (#3)…Kawasaki

4. Kyle Redmond (#7)…Husqvarna

5. Taylor Robert (#33)…Kawasaki

6. Colton Haaker (#10)…Kawasaki

7. Mike Brown (#311)…KTM

8. Destry Abbott (#8)…Kawasaki

9. Ryan Rodgers (#21)…Honda

10. Gary Sutherlin (#6)…Kawasaki

11. Jamie Lanza (#99)…Yamaha

Ron Lieback
Ron Lieback
One of the few moto journalists based on the East Coast, Ron Lieback joined the motorcycle industry as a freelancer in 2007, and is currently Online Editor at Ultimate Motorcycling. He is also the author of "365 to Vision: Modern Writer's Guide (How to Produce More Quality Writing in Less Time).

2022 Kawasaki KLR650 First Look (14 Fast Facts)

2018 was a dark year for Kawasaki KLR650 enthusiasts. It was the last year of the much-loved venerable big-bore dual-sport model that debuted in...

2022 Indian FTR Lineup First Look (8 Fast Facts)

It’s barely 2021, yet the 2022 Indian FTR lineup is here, and there are some significant changes to three of the four variants. In...

2021 Kawasaki KLX230R S First Look (8 Fast Facts)

Just a year after the debut of the Kawasaki KLX230R trail bike, we get our first look at the 2021 Kawasaki KLX230R S. While...

2021 Triumph Speed Triple 1200 RS First Look (19 Fast Facts)

Forget what you know about any previous Triumph Speed Triple. The 2021 Triumph Speed Triple 1200 RS is an all-new naked upright sportbike ready...

2021 Harley-Davidson CVO Limited First Look: Updates, Specs, Photos

The 2021 Harley-Davidson CVO Limited arrives with two new paint choices, plus a couple of updates in the dash area. There’s a new LED...

MP Magic 37.5 Tech Merino Wool Socks Review (All-Season Footwear)

I’m very picky when it comes to motorcycle socks. For dirt bikes, it’s easy. I always wear Fly Racing Knee Brace socks, as they...