2012 Misano Moto3 | Results


2012 Moto3 Championship

Spoiler Alert: 2012 Moto3 results from Misano listed below

In a nail-bighting Moto3 race at the Gran Premio Aperol di San Marino e della Riviera de Rimini, Red Bull KTM Ajo’s Sandro Cortese stormed to a thrilling victory ahead of Luis Salom and Romano Fenati.

Cortese got the holeshot into turn one as drama unfolded at the back of the grid, as Mahindra Racing’s Danny Webb, Elle 2-Ciati’s Kevin Calia, Technomag-CIP-TSR’s Alan Techer and Ambrogio Next Racing’s Giulian Pedone all crashed out. Moto FGR’s Jasper Iwema suffered a similar fate on the next lap as the Dutchman also slid out of the race.

Back on track, Team Italia FMI’s Romano Fenati was valiantly pushing his way up the field, taking the lead off Cortese. The frantic start to the race however continued further afield as IodaRacing Project’s Luigi Morciano, Team Imperiali Racing’s Stefano Valtulini and Pedone’s teammate Alex Márquez also crashed out.

A few laps on and the race had not settled down with Cortese and Fenati swapping the lead frequently up front, pursued by RW Racing GP’s Luis Salom, San Carlo Gresini Moto3’s Niccolò Antonelli and Estrella Galicia 0,0’s Miguel Oliveira. With 13 laps remaining Fenati and Cortese had pulled out a small gap over the pursuing group, with Blusens Avintia’s Maverick Viñales making his way through the pack.

A few laps later the situation changed with Salom and the followers closing right up to the battling duo up front, with Fenati and Cortese looking to be slowing. With three laps left Cortese made his move on Fenati as the Italian was pushed back to fifth by Oliveira’s teammate Alex Rins, Salom and Viñales. The final laps were the usual battling Moto3 affair as Cortese tried to pull away at the front in the five-man fight. Viñales tried with a last stab up the inside to take the lead but ran wide, with Salom and Fenati taking advantage.

It was ultimately Cortese who took the chequered flag in front of Salom and Fenati. His third victory of the season now gives the German a 46 point lead at the top of the championship table over Viñales. Rins finished fourth after aggressively pushing Viñales wide in the last turn, with the Blusens rider finishing fifth. Mapfre Aspar Team Moto3’s Jonas Folger was sixth, ahead of JHK t-shirt Laglisse’s Efrén Vázquez, Antonelli, Oliveira and Red Bull’s Arthur Sissis.

2012 Misano Moto3 Results:

Pos. Points Num. Rider Nation Team Bike Km/h Time/Gap
1. 25 11 Sandro CORTESE GER Red Bull KTM Ajo KTM 144.5 40’22.100
2. 20 39 Luis SALOM SPA RW Racing GP Kalex KTM 144.4 +0.467
3. 16 5 Romano FENATI ITA Team Italia FMI FTR Honda 144.4 +0.937
4. 13 42 Alex RINS SPA Estrella Galicia 0,0 Suter Honda 144.4 +0.974
5. 11 25 Maverick VIÑALES SPA Blusens Avintia FTR Honda 144.4 +1.145
6. 10 94 Jonas FOLGER GER Mapfre Aspar Team Moto3 Kalex KTM 144.4 +1.180
7. 9 7 Efren VAZQUEZ SPA JHK t-shirt Laglisse FTR Honda 144.4 +1.315
8. 8 27 Niccolò ANTONELLI ITA San Carlo Gresini Moto3 FTR Honda 144.2 +3.983
9. 7 44 Miguel OLIVEIRA POR Estrella Galicia 0,0 Suter Honda 144.2 +4.376
10. 6 61 Arthur SISSIS AUS Red Bull KTM Ajo KTM 143.8 +10.872
11. 5 63 Zulfahmi KHAIRUDDIN MAL AirAsia-Sic-Ajo KTM 143.6 +14.499
12. 4 52 Danny KENT GBR Red Bull KTM Ajo KTM 143.6 +14.604
13. 3 55 Hector FAUBEL SPA Mapfre Aspar Team Moto3 Kalex KTM 143.6 +14.880
14. 2 23 Alberto MONCAYO SPA Andalucia JHK t-shirt Laglisse FTR Honda 143.2 +21.011
15. 1 84 Jakub KORNFEIL CZE Redox-Ongetta-Centro Seta FTR Honda 143.2 +21.062
16. 41 Brad BINDER RSA RW Racing GP Kalex KTM 143.2 +21.777
17. 19 Alessandro TONUCCI ITA Team Italia FMI FTR Honda 143.0 +24.493
18. 9 Toni FINSTERBUSCH GER Racing Team Germany Honda 141.0 +59.383
19. 95 Miroslav POPOV CZE Mahindra Racing Mahindra 141.0 +59.685
20. 71 Michael Ruben RINALDI ITA Caretta Technology Honda 141.0 +59.841
21. 3 Luigi MORCIANO ITA Ioda Team Italia Ioda 139.8 +1’19.973
22. 51 Kenta FUJII JPN Technomag-CIP-TSR TSR Honda 139.7 +1’22.961
23. 28 Josep RODRIGUEZ SPA Ongetta-Centro Seta FTR Honda 139.7 +1’23.080
24. 33 Stefano VALTULINI ITA Team Imperiali Racing Honda 130.2 2 Laps
Not Classified
31 Niklas AJO FIN TT Motion Events Racing KTM 140.3 2 Laps
12 Alex MARQUEZ SPA Ambrogio Next Racing Suter Honda 128.6 19 Laps
96 Louis ROSSI FRA Racing Team Germany FTR Honda 126.6 20 Laps
80 Armando PONTONE ITA IodaRacing Project Ioda 118.4 20 Laps
30 Giulian PEDONE SWI Ambrogio Next Racing Suter Honda 107.8 20 Laps
8 Jack MILLER AUS Caretta Technology Honda 135.9 21 Laps
53 Jasper IWEMA NED Moto FGR FGR Honda 129.2 22 Laps
74 Kevin CALIA ITA Elle 2-Ciatti Honda 0 Lap
89 Alan TECHER FRA Technomag-CIP-TSR TSR Honda 0 Lap
99 Danny WEBB GBR Mahindra Racing Mahindra 0 Lap

2012 Moto3 Point Standings:

Pos. Rider Bike Nation Points
1. Sandro CORTESE KTM GER 225
2. Maverick VIÑALES FTR Honda SPA 179
3. Luis SALOM Kalex KTM SPA 169
4. Romano FENATI FTR Honda ITA 120
5. Alex RINS Suter Honda SPA 96
6. Alexis MASBOU Honda FRA 81
8. Danny KENT KTM GBR 70
9. Miguel OLIVEIRA Suter Honda POR 66
10. Niccolò ANTONELLI FTR Honda ITA 63
11. Louis ROSSI FTR Honda FRA 59
12. Efren VAZQUEZ FTR Honda SPA 59
13. Jonas FOLGER Kalex KTM GER 56
14. Jakub KORNFEIL FTR Honda CZE 53
15. Hector FAUBEL Kalex KTM SPA 52
16. Arthur SISSIS KTM AUS 51
17. Alberto MONCAYO FTR Honda SPA 49
18. Alan TECHER TSR Honda FRA 21
19. Niklas AJO KTM FIN 21
20. Alex MARQUEZ Suter Honda SPA 15
21. Jack MILLER Honda AUS 14
22. Alessandro TONUCCI FTR Honda ITA 14
23. Ivan MORENO FTR Honda SPA 10
24. Jasper IWEMA FGR Honda NED 9
25. Luca GRUENWALD Honda GER 8
26. Giulian PEDONE Suter Honda SWI 7
28. Adrian MARTIN FTR Honda SPA 6
29. Brad BINDER Kalex KTM RSA 5
30. Marcel SCHROTTER Mahindra GER 4
31. Kevin HANUS Honda GER 3
32. Isaac VIÑALES FTR Honda SPA 2
33. Kevin CALIA Honda ITA 2
34. John McPHEE KRP Honda GBR 1
35. Michael Ruben RINALDI Honda ITA 1
36. Simone GROTZKYJ Suter Honda ITA 1
Previous article2012 Misano Moto2 | Results
Next article2012 Portimao World Superbike | Results
One of the few moto journalists based on the East Coast, Ron Lieback joined the motorcycle industry as a freelancer in 2007 and is currently Editor at Large at Ultimate Motorcycling. He is also the author of 365 to Vision: Modern Writer's Guide (How to Produce More Quality Writing in Less Time).