Motorcycle Types Cruiser O’Hara Wins AMA XR1200 Race at Miller

O’Hara Wins AMA XR1200 Race at Miller

2012-ohara-wins-ama-xr1200-race-at-miller (1)

2012 AMA Pro Vance & Hines XR1200 Series

Bartels’ Harley-Davidson/Scrubblade rider Tyler O’Hara produced a command performance in front of the World Superbike paddock Monday, converting pole position for the eight-lap AMA Pro Vance & Hines XR1200 series race into a dominating flag-to-flag victory at the Big M Weekend at Miller Motorsports Park in Toole, Utah, to earn his second victory of the season.

O’Hara jumped off the front of the field and never looked back, building a 4.260-second lead over KLR Group’s Kyle Wyman at the checkered flag.

O’Hara’s Bartels’ Harley-Davidson/Scrubblade teammate Michael Barnes finished third, more than 12 seconds back.

Tyler O’Hara says: “Ever since we unloaded the bike off the truck it’s been awesome. I rode here a few years ago on the Supermoto track and wanted to be out here [again]. I’m just really comfortable on this track; it’s fast and flowing. I ran really hard tires and was comfortable out there sliding around. I put in a good charge at the beginning and just maintained the lead.”

Outside the top three, Kuryakyn’s Gerry Signorelli charged back through the field after stalling on the start, picking off riders lap by lap to finish a strong fifth behind XP Motorsports’ Michael Corbino and just ahead of Ruthless Racing/Deeley H-D teammates David Estok and Darren James. Josh Chisum, the third member of the Bartels’ H-D/Scrubblade team, finished eighth.

Further back, Nicholas Hansen (Suburban Motors H-D) held off Paul James (Hoban Cycle/Woodstock H-D) to complete the top ten running order.

The next round of the Vance & Hines XR1200 series is June 2-3 at Road America in Elkhart Lake, Wis.

2012 AMA Pro Vance & Hines XR1200: Miller Motorsports Park Results:
1. Tyler O’Hara (Bartels’ H-D/Scrubblade), 8 laps
2. Kyle Wyman (KLR Group/Vesrah), +4.260 seconds
3. Michael Barnes (Bartels’ H-D/Scrubblade), +12.423 seconds
4. Michael Corbino (XP Motorsports/Rossiter’s H-D), +21.966 seconds
5. Gerry Signorelli (Kuryakyn), +24.889 seconds
6. David Estok (Ruthless Racing/Deeley H-D Racing), +25.771 seconds
7. Darren James (Ruthless Racing/Deeley H-D Racing), +26.111 seconds
8. Josh Chisum (Bartels’ H-D/Scrubblade), +38.058 seconds
9. Nicholas Hansen (Suburban Motors H-D), +1:04.313
10. Paul James (Hoban Cycle/Woodstock H-D), +1:04.780
11. Aaron Borello (Air Ground Xpress), +1:10.130
12. Pete Demas (Route One Racing), +1:11.765
13. Richard Barnett (, +2:06.049
14. Shane Narbonne (Suburban Motors H-D), 7 laps, DNF
15. Jeremiah Johnson ( Roc H-D), DNS

2012 AMA Pro Vance & Hines XR1200 Championship Points:
1. O’Hara, 115
2. K. Wyman, 99
3. Barnes, 98
4. Corbino, 61
5. Estok, 56
6. Signorelli, 54
7. D. James, 51
8. Chisum, 49
9. T. Wyman, 47
10. Narbonne, 40

Ron Lieback
Ron Lieback
One of the few moto journalists based on the East Coast, Ron Lieback joined the motorcycle industry as a freelancer in 2007, and is currently Online Editor at Ultimate Motorcycling.

Marquez Tops Aragon MotoGP Friday Practice by 1.1 Seconds

2019 Aragon MotoGP Friday Practice News Repsol Honda's Marc Marquez further proved Friday why he's the clear favorite for this weekend's 14th round of MotoGP...

Ducati Builds 100,000th Multistrada: Confirms V4 MST for 2021

Ducati has reached a milestone after building its 100,000th Multistrada. The Bologna-based manufacturer also confirmed the V4 Multistrada for 2021.

She Rode a Harley: A Memoir of Love and Motorcycles: Rider’s Library Review

She Rode a Harley: A Memoir of Love and Motorcycles Mary Jane Black’s debut book - She Rode a Harley: A Memoir of Love and...

2019 Aragon MotoGP Preview: Leader Marquez to Start 200th Race

Sunday's 23-lap Aragon MotoGP will also be a historic one for Honda's Marc Marquez as the points leader starts his 200th GP race.

The BMW Story: Second Edition by Ian Fallon: Rider’s Library (Review)

In the second edition of The BMW Story shares what Ian Falloon has learned as he tracked the BMW motorcycle line since the book’s first printing in 2003.

2020 Indian Scout Bobber Twenty + Scout 100th Anniversary First Ride Review (10 Fast...

2020 Indian Scout Bobber Twenty and Scout 100th Anniversary First Ride Review Indian Motorcycle has been on a tear lately, and the Minnesota-based company doesn’t...