Motorcycle Racing News Repsol Honda's Bou Wins Mallorca X-Trial

Repsol Honda’s Bou Wins Mallorca X-Trial

FIM X-Trial World Championship

Repsol’s Toni Bou is one step closer to another FIM X-Trial World Championship following yet another dominating performance over the weekend.

The Spaniard took his sixth win this year at Palma Arena in Mallorca, making for a perfect 2012 FIM X-Trial season. Wiht only one round remaining in Milan next weekend, Bou only needs a fifth-place finish or better to secure his sixth consecutive title in the series.

The Repsol Montesa Honda rider was joined on the Mallorca podium by Sherco’s Albert Cabestany and Bou’s teammate, Takahisa Fujinami.

Repsol reports that the zones of the Mallorca Trial Indoor did not offer huge technical difficulties, which why six riders were tied with zero points in the qualifying.

Qualifying was led by Bou, who had been the fastest in the zone. In the semifinal round, only one point separated the three riders who finally took the podium and in the finale, the several times World Champion was able to finish the three zones with no penalty.

Toni Bou (Repsol Montesa Honda) says: "Now I can say that most of the job is done, with five victories and an advantage of 34 points when there are only 40 up for grabs. In Milan we will not change our approach and I will go with my mind set on achieving a new triumph.

"Here, in Palma Arena, the important thing was not a difference of more or less points, but to avoid any mistakes that would have been very difficult to recover due to the zones’ features. Everything went perfectly well."

With 100 points in X-Trial FIM World Championship overall standings, Bou gathered nearly all points up for grabs. The series now travels to Milan next Saturday.

2012 Mallorca FIM X-Trial Championship Results:
1. Toni Bou (Repsol Montesa Honda) 2 points
2. Albert Cabestany (Sherco) 4 points
3. Takahisa Fujinami (Repsol Montesa Honda) 10 points
4. Adam Raga (Gas Gas) 11 points
5. Loris Gubian (Gas Gas) 12 points

2012 FIM X-Trial Championship Points (after six of seven rounds):
1. Toni Bou (Repsol Montesa Honda) 100 points
2. Adam Raga (Gas Gas) 66 points
3. Albert Cabestany (Sherco) 63 points
4. Takahisa Fujinami (Repsol Montesa Honda) 51 points
5. Jeroni Fajardo (Beta) 27 points

Ron Lieback
Ron Lieback
One of the few moto journalists based on the East Coast, Ron Lieback joined the motorcycle industry as a freelancer in 2007, and is currently Online Editor at Ultimate Motorcycling. He is also the author of "365 to Vision: Modern Writer's Guide (How to Produce More Quality Writing in Less Time).

Team RB Freestyle Randie and Birdman Motorcycle Stunt Riders

Hello Rider Readers, It’s Randie Raige of Team RB Freestyle here! Come take an inside look at tandem stunt riding with me. That’s right, two...

2021 Aprilia Tuono V4 Lineup First Look (8 Fast Facts)

The Aprilia Tuono V4 has earned a reputation for being an uncompromisingly high-performance upright sportbike. Note that we didn’t say naked, as it has...

2021 Moto Guzzi V85 TT Lineup First Look: Adventure and Travel

Sporting two touring-oriented ADV motorcycles, the 2021 Moto Guzzi V85 TT lineup returns with some motor and electronics package updates, and a bit more....

2021 American Flat Track Schedule: 17 AFT Rounds Planned

The 2021 American Flat Track schedule has been revealed, and it features 17 rounds running from March to October, and coast-to-coast. There are four...

2021 Aprilia RSV4 and RSV4 Factory First Look (11 Fast Facts)

There are quite a few updates to the 2021 Aprilia RSV4 and RSV4 Factory. None of them are revolutionary. However, taken together, they add...

Honda CRF110F EFI Long-Term Test: 11-Year-Old Tested

When we got a hold of the 2019 Honda CRF110F, we were reluctant to give it back. Test rider Ben Karsian was cutting his...