News 2011 Phillip Island Moto2 | Results

2011 Phillip Island Moto2 | Results

2011 Moto2

Alex de Angelis won the Phillip Island Moto2 race for the second year running after a hard fought battle with Stefan Bradl, who regained the Championship lead with second place. The Marc Marquez rode to a brilliant third place finish after starting from the back of the grid.

Following a windy and rainy morning, the Moto2 race in Australia began in sunny conditions on a dry track with Championship leader Márquez (Team CatalunyaCaixa Repsol) starting from the back of the grid after a one-minute qualifying penalty was handed to him following his collision with Ratthapark Wilairot (Thai Honda Singha-SAG) at the end of the Friday’s first free practice session.

De Angelis, who led all three practice sessions and started on pole, took the early lead, with Scott Redding (Marc VDS Racing) assuming it at the end of lap one followed by Pol Espargaró (HP Tuenti Speed Up). Bradl took the lead on lap five, holding it until a final lap showdown with De Angelis which saw the Sammarinese come out on top to take his second victory of the season.

Márquez made up plenty of ground with an extraordinary start that launched the Spanish star to midfield from his 38th position on the grid. The Team CatalunyaCaixa Repsol rider steamed full speed ahead, making up ground until lap 17 where, after passing Claudio Corti (Italtrans Racing) for third, the Italian fought back and the two battled it out to the finish, with the Spaniard making a move on the last lap to put him across the line third.

His third place finished combined with the second place of Bradl rearranged the Championship standings, with the German retaking the lead by three points over Márquez with two races remaining.

Espargaró was fifth after going shoulder to shoulder with Márquez for a lap, with Kenan Sofuoglu (Technomag-CIP) taking sixth followed by Redding in seventh and Andrea Iannone (Speed Master) in eighth. Front row starters Mike di Meglio (Tech 3 Racing) and Yuki Takahashi (Gresini Racing) rounded out the top 10.

2011 Phillip Island Moto2 Results:

Pos. Points Num. Rider Nation Team Bike Km/h Time/Gap
1. 25 15 Alex DE ANGELIS RSM JIR Moto2 Motobi 167.9 39’44.774
2. 20 65 Stefan BRADL GER Viessmann Kiefer Racing Kalex 167.8 +1.358
3. 16 93 Marc MARQUEZ SPA Team CatalunyaCaixa Repsol Suter 167.4 +6.362
4. 13 71 Claudio CORTI ITA Italtrans Racing Team Suter 167.4 +6.475
5. 11 44 Pol ESPARGARO SPA HP Tuenti Speed Up FTR 166.8 +14.815
6. 10 54 Kenan SOFUOGLU TUR Technomag-CIP Suter 166.8 +15.155
7. 9 45 Scott REDDING GBR Marc VDS Racing Team Suter 166.8 +15.261
8. 8 29 Andrea IANNONE ITA Speed Master Suter 166.7 +16.047
9. 7 63 Mike DI MEGLIO FRA Tech 3 Racing Tech 3 166.7 +16.331
10. 6 72 Yuki TAKAHASHI JPN Gresini Racing Moto2 Moriwaki 166.4 +20.337
11. 5 12 Thomas LUTHI SWI Interwetten Paddock Moto2 Suter 166.3 +22.081
12. 4 77 Dominique AEGERTER SWI Technomag-CIP Suter 166.0 +26.248
13. 3 40 Aleix ESPARGARO SPA Pons HP 40 Pons Kalex 165.8 +29.295
14. 2 51 Michele PIRRO ITA Gresini Racing Moto2 Moriwaki 165.8 +30.203
15. 1 3 Simone CORSI ITA Ioda Racing Project FTR 165.7 +30.745
16.   36 Mika KALLIO FIN Marc VDS Racing Team Suter 165.7 +30.776
17.   88 Ricard CARDUS SPA QMMF Racing Team Moriwaki 165.7 +30.784
18.   38 Bradley SMITH GBR Tech 3 Racing Tech 3 164.9 +43.520
19.   80 Axel PONS SPA Pons HP 40 Pons Kalex 164.6 +47.064
20.   35 Raffaele DE ROSA ITA NGM Forward Racing Suter 164.4 +50.357
21.   4 Randy KRUMMENACHER SWI GP Team Switzerland Kiefer Racing Kalex 164.4 +50.364
22.   9 Kenny NOYES USA Avintia-STX FTR 163.4 +1’04.747
23.   6 Joan OLIVE SPA Aeroport de Castello FTR 163.4 +1’04.907
24.   68 Yonny HERNANDEZ COL Blusens-STX FTR 162.4 +1’19.734
25.   20 Ivan MORENO SPA Mapfre Aspar Team Moto2 Suter 160.8 1 Lap
26.   64 Santiago HERNANDEZ COL SAG Team FTR 160.5 1 Lap
27.   56 Blake LEIGH-SMITH AUS BRP Racing FTR 160.4 1 Lap
28.   95 Mashel AL NAIMI QAT QMMF Racing Team Moriwaki 155.4 1 Lap
Not Classified
    39 Robertino PIETRI VEN Italtrans Racing Team Suter 160.2 5 Laps
    53 Valentin DEBISE FRA Speed Up FTR 145.5 6 Laps
    43 Kris McLAREN AUS BRP Racing Suter 161.3 11 Laps
    19 Xavier SIMEON BEL Tech 3 B Tech 3 162.1 13 Laps
    16 Jules CLUZEL FRA NGM Forward Racing Suter 158.0 13 Laps
    76 Max NEUKIRCHNER GER MZ Racing Team MZ-RE Honda 153.5 24 Laps
    75 Mattia PASINI ITA Ioda Racing Project FTR   0 Lap
    18 Jordi TORRES SPA Mapfre Aspar Team Moto2 Suter   0 Lap
    34 Esteve RABAT SPA Blusens-STX FTR   0 Lap
    13 Anthony WEST AUS MZ Racing Team MZ-RE Honda   0 Lap

Ron Lieback
Ron Lieback
One of the few moto journalists based on the East Coast, Ron Lieback joined the motorcycle industry as a freelancer in 2007, and is currently Online Editor at Ultimate Motorcycling. He is also the author of "365 to Vision: Modern Writer's Guide (How to Produce More Quality Writing in Less Time).

2021 MV Agusta Dragster RR SCS RC First Look (9 Fast Facts)

The 2021 MV Agusta Dragster RR SCS RC is the new flagship of the urban-brawling Dragster lineup. The RC stands for Reparto Corse, and...

2022 Triumph Bonneville T100 First Look (9 Fast Facts)

The Triumph Bonneville T100 gets a more powerful and higher-revving motor for 2022,  along with a lighter chassis and upgraded suspension as the British...

2022 Triumph Street Twin First Look (7 Fast Facts)

The best-selling Triumph Street Twin is back with motor changes to meet Euro 5 standards, upgraded styling, and a classy new variant. Let’s take...

2021 Harley-Davidson Pan America 1250: 150 HP ADV [17 Fast Facts]

Harley-Davidson officially unveiled Monday its all-new adventure touring motorcycles, the 2021 Pan America 1250 and Pan America 1250 Special. The Motor Company released all the...

Story of Warner Riley’s 200+ MPH Run Aboard a Sportster 50 Years Ago!

50 years ago Warner Riley began working toward having the World’s Fastest Conventional Motorcycle. With help from S&S Cycle in Wisconsin, topping 200 mph...

Tourmaster Transition Jacket Review: Back to the Start

After getting up to a fifth edition, Tourmaster has started over with the new Transition jacket. Lacking a number—though there is a V6 on...