Indianapolis SX: Red Bull Factory KTM Report

AMA Supercross

Red Bull/KTM Factory Team rider Mike Alessi earned 10th overall at the tenth round of the AMA Supercross Series at the Lucas Oil Stadium in Indianapolis.

Alessi and his KTM Supercross teammate Andrew Short were both placed in heat one. Off the start both riders were in the top ten. Short worked his way up to 5th place to earn a great gate pick in the main event while Alessi took the final transfer spot with a 9th place finish.

The main event did not go so well for Short. He had a bad jump off the line and came around the first corner near the back of the Supercross pack. A few turns later he suffered a mechanical problem and was unable to finish the race. His teammate, Alessi, carried on rounding the first lap in 15th position.

He moved up two positions on the next lap to take over 13th place. He continued to maintain his pace as the Supercross race progressed and by the halfway point had picked up two more positions. With only two laps to go he was able to capitalize on a mistake by another rider and picked up 10th overall for the night.

Mike Alessi (KTM Factory KTM) says: "I am happy to finish inside the top ten tonight. This course was definitely challenging and I felt like everyone had a couple close calls tonight as we tried to pick up the speed on the course. I am excited about my consistency to finish inside the top ten but would like to move my focus toward the top five for the second half of this season."

Next Event: Jacksonville, FL – March 19, 2011

Overall Indy Results, AMA Supercross Class –
1) Ryan Villopoto
2) James Stewart
3) Chad Reed
4) Ryan Dungey
5) Justin Brayton
6) Trey Canard
7) Kevin Windham
8) Nick Wey
9) Cole Seely
10) Mike Alessi – KTM
11) David Millsaps
12) Matt Boni
13) Michael Byrne
14) Fabien Izoird
15) Matthew Goreke
16) Tye Simmonds – KTM
17) Bobby Kiniry
18) Chris Blose
19) Ivan Tedesco
20) Andrew Short – KTM

Overall Point Standings, Supercross Class –
1) Ryan Villopoto – 221
2) James Stewart – 195
3) Chad Reed – 192
4) Ryan Dungey – 183
5) Trey Canard – 169
6) Andrew Short – 129
7) Justin Brayton – 121
8) David Millsaps – 114
9) Brett Metcalfe – 107
10) Kevin Windham – 103