Elko AMA Hare Scramble: KTM 2nd & 3rd

AMA Hare Scramble

KTM support rider Steward Baylor and FMF/KTM Factory rider Russell Bobbitt were in top form at the opening round of the AMA East National Hare Scramble Championship Series in Elko, Ga., where they finished 2nd and 3rd respectively.

Although the weather was nice on race day, rain from the week prior had soaked parts of the 11 mile course and left large mud holes throughout the trail. Both KTM riders started the 3 hour race within the top five off the line.

Bobbitt quickly moved his way up into the top three with Baylor right behind him. Thaddeus Duvall was the early leader with both KTM riders in tow.

The three top riders battled through each lap of the 8 lap race. Bobbitt led for a majority of the race before making a mistake and handing the lead back to Duvall. Once Bobbitt was in 2nd, he received pressure from Baylor.

The two riders swapped positions multiple times before the finish. At the end of the race, Duvall took the win with Baylor finishing about 20 seconds back and Bobbitt right on the rear wheel of Baylor.

Russell Bobbitt says: "I was excited to come out to this race since I am a local Georgia boy. I’m bummed I couldn’t get the win today, I just made too many mistakes at the end and got a little tired in the last half hour. Overall, I feel this race is good for my conditioning and it’s great to see where I stand amongst top competition."

Bobbitt’s teammates, Cory Buttrick and Charlie Mullins, also joined the competition finishing 7th and 8th respectively. Buttrick raced within the top ten all afternoon until he suffered a few set backs later in the race while Mullins was shooting for a top five finish before an obstacle broke his brake line early in the race and he lost a lap going back to the pits to fix it.

The next meeting for the KTM boys will be the opening round of the AMA National Enduro Series on February 26, 2011 in Salley, SC.

Elko AMA Hare Scramble, Overall Results:
1. Thaddeus Duvall
2. Steward Baylor – KTM
3. Russell Bobbitt – KTM
4. Paul Whibley
5. Mike Lafferty
6. Nate Kanney – KTM
7. Cory Buttrick – KTM
8. Charlie Mullins – KTM
9. Jimmy Jarrett