Motorcycle Types Adventure / Dual-Sport Ryan Dungey Podiums Texas Supercross

Ryan Dungey Podiums Texas Supercross

Houston Supercross

Ryan Dungey put his Yoshimura-piped Suzuki RM-Z450 back on the box, scoring a second-place podium finish last night during the sixth round of the 2011 AMA / FIM Supercross Championship at Reliant Stadium in Houston, TX.

Dungey had a solid day, tallying the second fastest time in qualifying and piloting his Suzuki motorcycle to a convincing win in his SX heat race.

In the main, Dungey was able to avoid a first turn pile-up as the Florida rider moved to second and later closed on leader Trey Canard (Honda) half-way into the 20-lap Main Event.

The pair ran wheel-to-wheel, but Canard kept the advantage. Dungey’s Rockstar-Makita-sponsored Suzuki was only enough for a close second-place finish, challenging Trey Canard and his Honda CRF450R till the end of the race.

Ryan Dungey (2011 Suzuki RM-Z 450) says: "Overall, we had a real solid day," exclaims the current MX and SX champ. "The bike felt great all day. I really owe a lot to Team Rockstar Makita Suzuki because they worked hard. We need to keep pushing and start winning these races.

"I’m really thankful for the day – coming off of last weekend was a real tough one for the whole team and myself, but this is a step in the right direction and we’ll keep building from here. It will be good to get a good solid week in and show up in San Diego with my RMZ-450 ready to go."

Dungey and the Rockstar Makita Suzuki team’s next event is Saturday, Feb. 19, 2011 at Qualcomm Stadium in San Diego, CA.

You can meet the Rockstar Makita Suzuki team riders and grab an autograph on Friday, Feb. 18 from 6:00 to 7:00 PM at the Escondido Cycle Center, 1415 Montiel Road, Escondido, CA.

2011 Houston Supercross Results
1. Trey Canard – Honda 450
2. Ryan Dungey – Suzuki 450
3. Ryan Villopoto – Kawasaki 450
4. David Millsaps – Honda 450
5. Andrew Short – KTM 350
6. Chad Reed – Honda 450
7. Ken Roczen – KTM 350
8. Brett Metcalfe – Suzuki 450
9. Ivan Tedesco – Kawasaki 450
10. Mike Alessi – KTM 350

2011 Supercross Point Standings
1. Ryan Villopoto – 132
2. James Stewart – 123
3. Trey Canard – 112
4. Chad Reed – 105
5. Ryan Dungey – 101
6. Andrew Short – 80
7. Brett Metcalfe – 80
8. Justin Brayton – 65
9. David Millsaps – 62
10. Kevin Windham – 61

Suzuki Japan was founded in 1909 and incorporated in 1920, it has 120 distributors in 191 countries. Suzuki Motor Corporation (SMC) founded The Motorcycle and ATV Division of American Suzuki Motor Corporation (ASMC) in 1963.

Ron Lieback
Ron Lieback
One of the few moto journalists based on the East Coast, Ron Lieback joined the motorcycle industry as a freelancer in 2007, and is currently Online Editor at Ultimate Motorcycling.

2019 MV Agusta UNICEF F3 800: One-of-a-Kind For Charity

2019 MV Agusta UNICEF F3 800: Charity Build If you blinked, you missed it. MV Agusta built this one-off F3 800 for UNICEF Italia and...

2019 Budds Creek Motocross National Results and Coverage (9 Fast Facts)

2019 Budds Creek Motocross National Results: Tomac’s Perfect Day With one round remaining in the 2019 Lucas Oil AMA Pro Motocross National Championship Series, Eli Tomac...

2019 Vertigo Dougie Lampkin Replica First Look (14 Fast Facts)

2019 Vertigo Dougie Lampkin Replica Trials Motorcycle It is getting to be a regular thing with Vertigo—a boutique Spanish observed trials manufacturer—late in the year...

Motorcycle Workbench Workout: Facing the Trash, Finding Some Treasure

Top 14 Trash and Treasure Items Found on Workbench Admit it - we have a workbench problem. If you have a workbench it is likely...

2020 Honda CRF250R Review: National Track Tested (12 Fast Facts)

2020 Honda CRF250R Review: First Ride at Fox Raceway The 2020 Honda CRF250R is virtually all-new this year, with a host of change. There are significant...

BMW X7 Pick-up Truck First Look: Motorcycle Hauler

BMW X7 Pick-up Truck Concept Vehicle: Fully Functional If you’re tired of suffering the indignity of hauling your BMW motorcycle around in the bed of...