News 2011 Dakar Motorcycles | Stage 3 Results

2011 Dakar Motorcycles | Stage 3 Results

San Miguel de Tucuman to San Salvador de Jujuy

Again, KTM dominated the field of motorcycles at the 2011 Dakar Rally in Argentina Tuesday for Stage 3, but itthe machine wasn’t piloted by Cyril Despres.

It was reigning title-holder Marc Coma who rode to victory for the 12th time in his Dakar career. But due to his teammate and fellow title-holder Despres taking wins in both Stage 1 and Stage 2, Coma trails the Frenchman overall by 14 seconds.

Marc Coma says: "I’m happy with where I am. I took advantage of a little navigation mistake by Cyril Despres. Of course it’s important to win a special, but my aim is to win the rally."

Following Despres to the line was Paulo Goncalves on the BMW G 450 R, and Olivier Pain on the Yamaha YZ 450 E.

The stages continue to get more challenging and longer, demanding more navigational skills along with increase concentration on the terrain changes. This changes affected Despres in the early part of Stage 3, as he found himself behind Goncalves.

But for Coma, he kept opening up a lead over the field, efficiently winning the 12th stage victory of his Dakar career.

After Stage 3 was completed, Goncalves made up some time; the man from Portugal finished 3:36 seconds behind the Spaniard Coma. Goncalves is now fourth in the general standings.

As for Pain, who had targeted Stage 3 as his potential first victory, his fourth-place finish moves him from 11th to sixth place overall in the overall standings.

Finishing fifth was Despres’ teammate, Ruben Faria; overall, the Portugal KTM rider is 9:38 seconds behind Despres, placing him in third in the overall standing for the 2011 Dakar Rally.

The Dakar riders begin Stage 4 on Wednesday, which will bring them across the Andes via the Paso de Jama at an oxygen-robbing 4800 m altitude before plunging down to Calama in Chile and the notorious Atacama Desert, the world’s driest region.

Having crossed the border from Argentina into Chile the route of the 33rd edition of the rally turns north and riders will head for the northern most tip of Chile, right on the border with Peru.

2011 Dakar Rally Stage 3 Results

1. Marc Coma, Spain, KTM, 4:18.55
2. Cyril Despres, Andorra, KTM at 2:21
3. Paolo Goncalves, Portugal BMW, at 3:36
4. Olivier Pain, France, Yamaha, at 4:34
5. Ruben Faria, Portugal, KTM, at 5.46

2011 Dakar Rally Overall Standings after Stage 3

1. Cyril Despres, Andorra, KTM 09:38:58
2. Marc Coma, Spain, KTM, at 0:14
3. Ruben Faria, Portugal, KTM, at 9:38 (Penalty 00:01.00)
4. Paolo Goncalves, Portugal BMW at 10:43
5. Jose Rodrigues, Brazil, BMW at 16:07

Ron Lieback
Ron Lieback
One of the few moto journalists based on the East Coast, Ron Lieback joined the motorcycle industry as a freelancer in 2007, and is currently Online Editor at Ultimate Motorcycling. He is also the author of "365 to Vision: Modern Writer's Guide (How to Produce More Quality Writing in Less Time).

2021 Triumph Trident 660 First Look: 42 Photos and 13 Fast Facts

With the Triumph Speed Triple and Street Triple getting continually more aggressive, Triumph is making its signature three-cylinder motor configuration approachable again with the...

Lieback’s Lounge: From Injury to 200-Lap Endurance Mini Moto Racing

Heading into July, I put around 7000 miles combined on my Ducati Multistrada and KTM 1190 Adventure R, and about 1000 miles on my...

Full of Hot Air? Exotogg Puts It To Good Use [Cold Weather Riding Vest]

Have you ever been told you’re full of hot air? Well, even if you haven’t, there’s a new product out from the U.K. that...

2021 KTM 350 XC-F Kailub Russell Edition First Look (12 Fast Facts)

KTM continues its tradition of special edition motorcycles to honor championship-winning riders. The good news is that buyers get a chance to own a...

2021 BMW R 18 Classic First Look: Touring Motorcycle (9 Fast Facts)

Hot on the heels of the 2021 BMW R 18 First Edition comes the 2021 BMW R 18 Classic. BMW goes for the touring...

2021 Yamaha YZ250F Review (13 First Ride Fast Facts)

We rode the new, upgraded 2021 Yamaha YZ250F at Glen Helen Raceway for a first ride impression. We were fans of the previous YZ250F, so...