Portugal 125cc MotoGP: Estoril Preview

MotoGP News

The second to last round of the season, the bwin Grande Premio de Portugal, could see Marc Marquez crowned as the 125cc World Champion, but Nico Terol and Pol Espargaro are still well in the race.

Thanks to his ninth win of the season in Australia last time out, Marquez has placed himself in a position to be able to claim the 2010 125cc World Championship at this weekend’s bwin Grande Premio de Portugal, and if he were to do so the 17 year-old would become the second-youngest World Champion in the 62-year history of GP racing behind one Loris Capirossi.

Marquez is 12 points clear of Nico Terol (Bancaja Aspar) and 17 ahead of Pol Espargar (Tuenti Racing) at the top of the standings with two rounds remaining, and there are a number of scenarios which would hand him the 125cc title at Round 16.

One such outcome would be a 125cc MotoGP victory at Estoril for Marquez with Espargaro failing to place second and Terol no higher than fifth, but with his rivals still holding their own title hopes it is a delicate situation.

Marquez’s experience at Estoril has not seen him score points in either of his two previous races there. Marquez crashed when running in second last year, while Espargaro was the race winner last MotoGP season.

Terol has a best result of third in the 2008 race and suffered the same fate as Marquez last year, all of which adds to the anticipation for the penultimate 125cc MotoGP race of a 2010 campaign that has thrilled throughout.

Bradley Smith (Bancaja Aspar) is still in search of a first win of the season and placed on the podium at Estoril last year, whilst Esteve Rabat (Blusens-STX), Efren Vazquez (Tuenti Racing) and Sandro Cortese (Avant Mitsubishi Ajo) are separated by just five points as they contest fifth position in the standings.

Three wild card entries will also ride with Italians Alessandro Tonucci and Luigi Morciano both competing for Junior MotoGP Racing Team and French youngster Robin Barbosa for H43 Hernandez.

MotoGP 125cc Point Standings

Pos. Rider Bike Nation Points
1. Marc MARQUEZ Derbi SPA 272
2. Nicolas TEROL Aprilia SPA 260
3. Pol ESPARGARO Derbi SPA 255
4. Bradley SMITH Aprilia GBR 182
5. Esteve RABAT Aprilia SPA 137
6. Efren VAZQUEZ Derbi SPA 136
7. Sandro CORTESE Derbi GER 132
8. Tomoyoshi KOYAMA Aprilia JPN 118
9. Randy KRUMMENACHER Aprilia SWI 97
10. Danny WEBB Aprilia GBR 86
11. Johann ZARCO Aprilia FRA 77
12. Jonas FOLGER Aprilia GER 56
13. Alberto MONCAYO Aprilia SPA 55
14. Luis SALOM Aprilia SPA 55
15. Adrian MARTIN Aprilia SPA 35
16. Jasper IWEMA Aprilia NED 34
17. Marcel SCHROTTER Honda GER 23
18. Jakub KORNFEIL Aprilia CZE 22
19. Alexis MASBOU Aprilia FRA 20
20. Simone GROTZKYJ Aprilia ITA 20
21. Sturla FAGERHAUG Aprilia NOR 12
23. Lorenzo SAVADORI Aprilia ITA 5
24. Zulfahmi KHAIRUDDIN Aprilia MAL 3
25. Louis ROSSI Aprilia FRA 2



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.