Motorcycle Racing News Australia MotoGP: Yamaha Clinches Title

Australia MotoGP: Yamaha Clinches Title

Phillip Island MotoGP

Fiat Yamaha’s newly crowned MotoGP world champion Jorge Lorenzo finished second and teammate Valentino Rossi finished third in the Australian Grand Prix at Phillip Island on Sunday, Oct. 17.

The podium finishes give Fiat Yamaha the MotoGP Team Championship to go with Lorenzo’s rider championship, which was clinched one week ago in Malaysia.

Meanwhile, Yamaha Tech 3’s Ben Spies finished fifth and teammate Colin Edwards finished seventh, with Spies’ hard-fought effort securing him the coveted MotoGP “Rookie of the Year” award.

In the 2010 MotoGP Championship, Lorenzo leads, Rossi is now fourth, Spies is sixth and Edwards is 11th in points with two races to go.

After a particularly rainy MotoGP weekend the weather finally cleared up on Sunday. Lorenzo got a good start on his Yamaha M1 into turn one, losing one place to Marco Simoncelli but quickly passing the Italian back to retake second.

However, Lorenzo was unable to match race winner Casey Stoner’s pace, despite trying his best in the early stages aboard the Yamaha.

Once Lorenzo realized he could not catch the Australian Ducati rider, he settled into an enjoyable race pace to finish second.

However Rossi had a different experience as he dropped to ninth on the first lap, then slowly made his way forward into an exciting last-lap podium battle with rival Nicky Hayden.

Jorge Loreno
says: “We knew Casey would be hard to beat! I really enjoyed riding here and sliding a bit on my M1. It was fun but this was Casey’s race today. However today we won the teams’ title and this shows what a great season it has been for us all, with everyone working at the maximum.”

Valentino Rossi says: “The podium was the maximum for us but it was still a hard fight to get there. This is my 13th podium in 14 years racing at Phillip Island and I am very proud of this record. I am also happy for Yamaha and for us all for winning the teams’ title.”

2010 MotoGP Points (after 16 of 18 rounds)
1. Jorge Lorenzo – Yamaha, 333
2. Dani Pedrosa – Honda, 228
3. Casey Stoner – Ducati, 205
4. Valentino Rossi – Yamaha, 197
5. Andrea Dovizioso – Honda, 179

Ron Lieback
Ron Lieback
One of the few moto journalists based on the East Coast, Ron Lieback joined the motorcycle industry as a freelancer in 2007, and is currently Online Editor at Ultimate Motorcycling.

2020 Triumph Daytona Moto2 765 Limited Edition Second Look (+ 27 Photos)

2020 Triumph Daytona Moto2 765 Limited Edition Second Look: It has been a month since this motorcycle was sneak previewed. Now we get a closer look.

Harley-Davidson Sportster Lineup Cut For 2020

While the Iron 883, Iron 1200, Forty-Eight, and Roadster will be 2020 Harley-Davidson Sportsters, the Forty-Eight Special, Superlow, and Custom are gone.

2019 British GP Preview: No Clear Favorite at Silverstone MotoGP

Honda's Marquez has a comfortable 58-point lead over Ducati's Dovizioso, but there is no clear favorite at Silverstone due to winners there over 5 years.

2020 Harley-Davidson Heritage Classic Restyling Revealed (First Look)

2020 Harley-Davidson Heritage Classic Gets A Makeover Although black has been the go-to color for designers in recent years, the 2020 Harley-Davidson Heritage Classic is...

2020 Harley-Davidson Road Glide Limited First Look (5 Fast Facts)

2020 Harley-Davidson Road Glide Limited First Look: The Motor Company has an impressive new replacement for the Road Glide Ultra touring motorcycle.

2020 Harley-Davidson CVO Lineup First Look (13 Fast Facts)

The 2020 Harley-Davidson CVO lineup consists of the new CVO Tri-Glide, along with updated editions of the CVO Limited tourer and CVO Street Glide bagger.