AMA Motocross: Steel City Results


The 2010 AMA Motocross Champion Ryan Dungey’s nine-race winning streak came to an end at Steel City Saturday after Honda Red Bull Racing rider Kevin Windham took the overall win at the FMF Steel City National at Steel City Raceway.

The 450-rider from Centerville, Miss., tasted victory in Moto1, and finished second in Moto 2 behind the champion Rockstar Makita Suzuki rider Dungey.

Kevin Windham says: “I hurt right now. It’s awesome though. I didn’t know what to expect coming into this weekend but it’s great to get back on top. Each time I’m able to get (a win) it makes it that much more special. I really don’t know if I’m ever going to have this opportunity again.”

Windham was followed to the podium in Moto 1 by Geico Powersports Honda’s Brett Metcalfe, of Australia, and in Moto2 the 32-year-old came in second behind Dungey. The premier-title holder Dungey had a DNF in moto 1, but came back strong in moto2 to take the win.

Dungey now has a 137-point lead over Geico Powersports Honda rider Brett Metcalfe, and leads the 450-class with 469 laps led.

According to Allisports:

After a tough outing last weekend ended his four-race winning streak, Canard bounced back in dominant fashion at Steel City. With strong starts in both motos, he worked his way into the lead and withstood extensive pressure from championship rival Christophe Pourcel, of France, in each moto to sweep the day and close in on the championship lead.

“Since RedBud everything has just gone really well for me,” said Canard. “I just need to keep riding to the best of my ability. To look into all the ‘ifs’ and ‘maybes’ for next weekend and the championship doesn’t do anything to help me so I’m just going to approach it just like I have every other race.”

Pourcel posted a runner-up finish aboard his Monster Energy/Pro Circuit/Kawasaki (2-2) while his teammate and winner from last week Tyla Rattray, of South Africa, rounded out the podium in third (3-4).

Pourcel’s advantage over Canard sits at just seven points heading into the season finale. Canard holds the best average finish in the class at 4.8 and has also led the most laps with 106.

The Women’s Motocross Championship continued its championship with Round 7 of the eight-race season. Current series points leader Jessica Patterson, of Tallahassee, Fla., captured her sixth overall win for DNA Shred Stix/Star Racing Yamaha (2-1) while Honda Red Bull Racing’s Ashley Fiolek, of St. Augustine, Fla., finished second (1-2) with MotoConcepts Yamaha’s Mariana Balbi, of Brazil, in third (3-4).

The 2010 Lucas Oil AMA Pro Motocross Championship concludes next weekend with the 12th and final round of the season and the inaugural Pala Motocross National from Pala Raceway in Pala, Calif., on Saturday, Sept. 11.

AMA Motocross Results:

AMA Motocross Steel City 450 Class (Moto Finish)

  1. Kevin Windham, Centreville, Miss., Honda (1-2)
  2. Brett Metcalfe, Australia, Honda (2-3)
  3. Justin Brayton, Fort Dodge, Iowa, Yamaha (5-4)
  4. Andrew Short, Smithville, Texas, Honda (4-5)
  5. Mike Alessi, Victorville, Calif., KTM (7-7)
  6. Ryan Dungey, Belle Plaine, Minn., Suzuki (40-1)
  7. Nick Paluzzi, Riverside, Calif., Yamaha (10-8)
  8. Kyle Chisholm, Valrico, Fla., Yamaha (14-6)
  9. Robert Kiniry, Syracuse, N.Y., Suzuki (9-11)
  10. Ben Townley, New Zealand, Honda (3-37)

450 Class Championship Standings

  1. Ryan Dungey, Belle Plaine, Minn., Suzuki, 493
  2. Brett Metcalfe, Australia, Honda, 356
  3. Andrew Short, Smithville, Texas, Honda, 351
  4. Mike Alessi, Victorville, Calif., KTM, 301
  5. Ben Townley, New Zealand, Honda, 291
  6. Josh Grant, Riverside, Calif., Yamaha, 260
  7. Kyle Chisholm, Valrico, Fla., Yamaha, 238
  8. Ryan Sipes, Vine Grove, Ky., Yamaha, 211
  9. Chad Reed, Australia, Kawasaki, 204
  10. Nick Wey, Dewitt, Mich., Kawasaki, 201
  11. Kyle Regal, Kemp, Texas, Honda, 201

AMA Motocross Steel City 250 Class (Moto Finish)

  1. Trey Canard, Shawnee, Okla., Honda (1-1)
  2. Christophe Pourcel, France, Kawasaki (2-2)
  3. Tyla Rattray, South Africa, Kawasaki (3-4)
  4. Eli Tomac, Cortez, Colo., Honda (4-5)
  5. Broc Tickle, Holly, Mich., Yamaha (7-8)
  6. Justin Barcia, Ochlocknee, Ga., Honda (10-6)
  7. Blake Wharton, Pilot Point, Texas, Honda (9-7)
  8. Wil Hahn, Decatur, Texas, Honda (5-11)
  9. Dean Wilson, Scotland, Kawasaki (17-3)
  10. Darryn Durham, Butler, Pa., Honda (8-10)

250 Class Championship Standings

  1. Christophe Pourcel, France, Kawasaki, 443
  2. Trey Canard, Shawnee, Okla., Honda, 436
  3. Tyla Rattray, South Africa, Kawasaki, 402
  4. Dean Wilson, Scotland, Kawasaki, 387
  5. Justin Barcia, Ochlocknee, Ga., Honda, 317
  6. Eli Tomac, Cortez, Colo., Honda, 296
  7. Blake Wharton, Pilot Point, Texas, Honda, 285
  8. Broc Tickle, Holly, Mich., Yamaha, 259
  9. Martin Davalos, Ecuador, Yamaha, 229
  10. Jake Weimer, Rupert, Idaho, Kawasaki, 195

AMA Motocross WMX Class (Moto Finish)

  1. Jessica Patterson, Tallahassee, Fla., Yamaha (2-1)
  2. Ashley Fiolek, St. Augustine, Fla., Honda (1-2)
  3. Mariana Balbi, Brazil, Yamaha (3-4)
  4. Alexah Pearson, Rocklin, Calif., Yamaha (7-3)
  5. Sara Price, Canyon Lake, Calif., Kawasaki (5-5)
  6. Tarah Gieger, Winter Gardens, Fla., Honda (4-7)
  7. Vicki Golden, El Cajon, Calif., Yamaha (9-6)
  8. Sherri Cruse, Bakersfield, Calif., Suzuki (6-9)
  9. Jacqueline Strong, Sedona, Ariz., Yamaha (8-10)
  10. Sarah Whitmore, Cheboygan, Mich., KTM (11-11)

WMX Class Championship Standings  (After 7 of 8 Rounds)

  1. Jessica Patterson, Tallahassee, Fla., Yamaha, 335
  2. Ashley Fiolek, St. Augustine, Fla., Honda, 313
  3. Tarah Gieger, Winter Gardens, Fla., Honda, 261
  4. Vicki Golden, El Cajon, Calif., Yamaha, 217
  5. Sara Price, Canyon Lake, Calif., Kawasaki, 212
  6. Mariana Balbi, Brazil, Yamaha, 207
  7. Sarah Whitmore, Cheboygan, Mich., KTM, 196
  8. Alexah Pearson, Rocklin, Calif., Yamaha, 172
  9. Tatum Sik, Temecula, Calif., Yamaha, 152
  10. Jacqueline Strong, Sedona, Ariz., Yamaha, 136