Motorcycle Racing News British Riders Make History at Silverstone

British Riders Make History at Silverstone

World SBK News

British World Superbike riders dominated both races at Silverstone, sweeping to a 1-2-3 in race one and a record first to fifth in the second race. This was the first time that five SBK riders from the UK have filled all top five places.

The absolute record is six riders from one nation (Canada) filling the top six places. As that feat took place at a race boycotted by the regular competitors in 1991, however, it has an unusual status in World SBK history.

Local knowledge was not a truly viable reason for all the local success in England, as the Silverstone circuit was much changed from the last time any of the top British riders raced there.

But a local race is certainly a motivating factor for any rider, especially when competing in front of a partisan and committed home support.

For most of the top UK riders who performed well at Silverstone, podium success was not their only reward.

Double winner Cal Crutchlow jumped up four places to fifth in the overall championship table, double second place rider Jonathan Rea consolidated his third place in the championship.

Leon Camier, so unlucky in previous races, saw a sixth and a third place finish propel him up to eighth in the overall standings.

Leon Haslam, who was only on the podium once, saw his disadvantage to championship leader Max Biaggi cut back a little, as he chases Biaggi all the way in his attempt to win the World Championship.

A very disappointed James Toseland did not get the home win he so desired, but his two solid finishes kept him in sixth place overall.

In fact, the British wave in WSB this year built so high at Silverstone that four of the top six riders in the championship, and five of the top eight, are now UK competitors.

British riders have now won 108 WSB races between them, with only ten more to go to join the top ranked nations in terms of WSB race wins – Australia and the USA – on 118 each. Italy is fourth, with 72 victories so far for. In total, riders from 14 different nations have won at least one WSB race.

Ron Lieback
Ron Lieback
One of the few moto journalists based on the East Coast, Ron Lieback joined the motorcycle industry as a freelancer in 2007, and is currently Online Editor at Ultimate Motorcycling. He is also the author of "365 to Vision: Modern Writer's Guide (How to Produce More Quality Writing in Less Time).

Helmet Use by U.S. Motorcyclists Trends Higher in Past Decade

Could the availability of better helmet options be part of the reason? According to the U. S. Department of Transportation National Highway Traffic Safety Administration...

Editor’s Letter: A Very Merry Christmas When I Became An ‘Authentic Motorcyclist’

At the end, my parents handed me a small package. I opened it up, and it was a little booklet. It had pictures of a motorcycle.

2021 AMA Supercross and Motocross Pro Numbers: List and Analysis

Supercross starts up in January, and it’s time to match the latest crop of riders to the numbers on their motorcycles. The biggest news...

Cardo Packtalk Black and Prototype Headset Review: Racing Intercom

Cardo has been well known for its high-quality helmet-to-helmet communication systems for over a decade. Cardo uses Bluetooth technology in both is Packtalk and...

2021 Husqvarna FC 450 Rockstar Edition First Look (8 Fast Facts)

The triumvirate of 2020 AMA 450MX National Champion Zach Osborne, 2018 AMA Supercross Champion Jason Anderson, and Dean Wilson will all be racing motorcycle...

Shoei RF-1400 First Look: New Motorcycle Helmet

The folks at Shoei made the best of our pandemic situation with their unique launch of the new Shoei RF-1400. They shipped us the...