AMA Pro Flat Track: Henry Wiles Again

Flat Track Results

Monster Energy Kawasaki/Jones Racing rider Henry Wiles earned his second win of the season aboard a Kawasaki KX450F as he led wire-to-wire at the rescheduled AMA Pro Grand National Singles Championship race at the Gas City Short Track in Gas City, Ind.

He started the day with the fastest qualifying lap, won his heat race, and eventually took home his second-consecutive win.

The rescheduling of the race at the Gas City Short Track didn’t phase Wiles and his crew as they carried the momentum from the win in Springfield to the new course in Indiana.

Right from the start Wiles proved he was the one to beat with a qualifying time almost one-tenth faster than the next racer.

In the heat, a bad start put him next to last on the first lap, but Wiles is never one to give up and put in a charge to come from behind to win the 10-lap race.

Henry Wiles says: “I was really debating about where to start in the heat race and I ended up going against my better judgment, taking the bottom line,” said Wiles. “I was so slick and it took me forever to get going. Once I got going, I went into the high line and made pass after pass. I couldnΓÇÖt believe I won after starting almost last.”

Wiles learned from his starting choice in the heat to select what he felt was the perfect starting position for the main event. His decision paid off and he led every lap, even after a red-flag restart.

“I was able to get a good start and keep a good pace,” said Wiles. “While the guys behind me were keeping me honest, I still held enough of a lead to ride my own race and not feel too pressured. My lead wasn’t as big as Springfield, but it did feel good to come across with a little cushion.”

AMA Flat Track Series – Results
Gas City, Ind. Gas City Short Track – June 19, 2010

Singles Results
2. Jared Mees, Honda
3. Joe Kopp, Honda
4. Robert Pearson, Yamaha
5. Jethro Halbert, Yamaha
6. Sammy Halbert, Yamaha
7. Brandon Robinson, Suzuki
8. Kenny Coolbeth Jr., Honda
9. Michael Kirkness, Suzuki
10. Chris Carr, Honda

Singles Championship Standings
2. Joe Kopp, Honda, 77
3. Jared Mees, Honda, 67
4. Jake Johnson, Honda, 61
5. Sammy Halbert, Yamaha, 57
6. Kenny Coolbeth Jr., Honda, 55
7. Johnny Lewis, Honda, 53
8. Jethro Halbert, Yamaha, 43
10. Robert Pearson, Yamaha, 30